The Sharks have been boosted by the return of flyhalf Patrick Lambie at training ahead of this weekend’s Super Rugby clash against the Hurricanes.

Sharks coach John Plumtree has said that he expects to have Lambie back but Jean Deysel and Alistair Hargreaves will miss the match.

Hooker Bismarck du Plessis may also miss the match as he is still suffering the after-effects of a sore shoulder from the Lions game.

“We’re not far from full-strength,” said Plumtree on the Sharks site of his injury list ahead of the Hurricanes clash.

The big concern for the Sharks this week is maintaining the focus that the Sharks had before they had the bye last week.

“Generally the sides who suffer after their byes haven’t come back mentally into their rugby programmes quick enough, so we have to get straight back into it and forget about what we got up to during the break,” said Plumtree.

Looking ahead to Saturday’s match against the Hurricanes, Plumtree reflected on the Hurricanes match aganst the Cheetahs where the lead changed hands well over 10 times in the high-scoring game (97 points in total).

“It was one of those strange encounters, as one side would score, the other would hit back. ”

“I think both teams would have been a bit alarmed at some of their defence. ”

“From a Hurricanes’ perspective, they just wanted to win, they didn’t mind how they achieved it and I’m sure they will be pleased with the result.”

“Their luck has turned a bit, and we must be on top of our game if we want to beat them.

“When you play the Hurricanes, you can’t take them lightly, even if you feel you’re getting on top of them on the scoreboard because of all the attacking players they have; there are plenty of threats, plenty for us to be concerned about.”

16 Responses to Lambie boost for Sharks

Good news for the Sharks. They should rest Bismark as they should easily klap the Hurricanes.

Sharks did really miss Lambie… and now we see why Jacques-Louis Potgieter was never really considered as first choice with the Sharks and before that at the Bulls.

Welcome back Pat. Sharks has missed him huge.

Think with Bissie’s shoulder not 100%. Plum would be wise to go with John this week at hooker and give Bissie a rest. Make sure Bissie is ready for the Stormers game.

J-LP should have stayed in Bloem. He played very well for the Cheetahs!

That would be the smart move, and keep Snor happy.

I read on Sharksworld that Smit and Bismark had a punch up while on tour last year. Any truth?

@ Loosehead:5 – Yeah that too, but we can’t take a chance with Bissie if his shoulder is not right. Also he has played every game this far. I would rest him and make sure he is 100% for the Stormers game. Also hope Pat’s finger is totally over that op. Can’t wait to have him back with the Sharks.

3@ Puma:
    Well, if Bissie’s shoulder is not 100%, that should be a given… I mean Snorrie has begged that John Smit play hooker, because that is where he will solely be used in the World Cup.

The Canes, like any Super Rugby Team is not to be scoffed at though…. the Chiefs who are equally low down on the Logs, beat the Sharks about a month ago.

In this competition, if a team is a couple of percentage points off their usual best, they get moerred….

@ grootblousmile:8 – I know that boet. Sharks won’t take any chances. We can’t play Bissie if he has a shoulder niggle. Otherwise it could turn out to be even worse. Rather rest him and have him for the rest of the tourney and for the wc than play him with a injury and it causes it to be a major injury.

John is very capable at hooker. A good scrummager at hooker too. We MAY just win some of our lineouts as well. Though we will miss Bissie in the Loose.

The sad thing is that Snor changed Smit to prop.

@ Loosehead:6 – No, who said that? Never heard of it at all. Don’t believe everything you read on blogland. Some of it is just rubbish mate.

Think some like to stir, that don’t like John. My feeling. Those bloggers I never take serious.

@ Loosehead:10 – Yes, it was PdV that changed Smit to th. Made him put on weight for that postion too, which was bad advice. Now says he won’t select him unless he plays hooker? Crikey some can change their minds to suit themselves…hehe. Just have to laugh at it.

@ Loosehead:4 – At the time doubt JLP or even the Sharks knew that Lambie would turn out to be our best fh we have had since Lem. JLP at the time felt he would be our first choice fh. Now with Lambie playing so well he is our first choice fh. Rightly so. But in this tourney you need 2 players in every position. Depth is needed in such a long tourney. JLP will get a chance again to start I have no doubt. Still another 8 games to go. But pleased we have Lambie back, he has been missed for sure.

Okay out of here for now. Back a bit later.

9@ Puma:
    You know that I admire John Smit for what he’s done at the Bokke, pre 2010…. and at the Sharks throughout the years… and let’s not take anything away from him for that… BUT…

I really believe John Smit has stuck around for a year and a half too long now, the clever Aussies or most of the European teams would have had an inspirational guy like John involved on the coaching side of the National side more than a year ago already.

Is John the best loosehead at the Sharks, or for the Bokke? No, Beast is… and there’s Gurthro & Coenie to boot at the Bokke.
    Is John the best hooker at the Sharks, or for the Bokke? No, a thousand times NOOOO, Bissie is the best hooker there, if not in the entire world!
    Is John the best tighthead at the Sharks, or for the Bokke? No, Jannie Dup is…

I do not believe in the John Smit Bok-captain hype anymore either, because your captain should still be able to make the starting line-up, and John battles with that, we can’t get around that anymore.

In the same line of thinking, Victor and Bakkies and possibly Fourie du Preez… have reached end of line, and we are persisting with them, to our own detriment.

The Puppet Master!

One can lament the fact that the Snormonster changed John into a prop…. or one can celebrate the fact that the same move gave Bissie the opportunity to become the world’s premier hooker…

Total 382 users including 0 member, 382 guests, 0 bot online