New Zealand: 221 / 8 after their 50 overs

South Africa: 172   after 43.1 overs

New Zealand won by 49 runs

New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat first.

Mirpur – Steady, rather than spectacular.

That is what South African captain Graeme Smith expects from his team when they come up against New Zealand in their World Cup quarter-final on Friday.

“Up until now each one of the guys has contributed very well and seen that the pieces of the jigsaw fit perfectly,” Smith said on Thursday.
“It’s important that we keep on being as calculated and calm as we were in the group matches. Nobody has to do anything flashy now.”

Smith believes the fight for a place in the semi-finals would already have started around the selectors’ table – long before the South Africans walk onto the field at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium.

With the Pakistani spinners having wreaked havoc in the first quarter-final against the West Indies on the same pitch, the selectors are likely to debate the make-up of the team until Friday morning.

South Africa may decide to use all three spinners after Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal and Mohammad Hafeez took eight of the Windies’ wickets in the islanders’ disastrous innings of 112.

In such an event there will be space for only six specialist batsmen, with AB de Villiers set to be used as a wicketkeeper.

De Villiers, who is South Africa’s leading run-scorer at the tournament, handed the gloves to Morné van Wyk early in the tournament after exacerbating a back injury.

If the Proteas management do not want to risk him, Van Wyk will keep his place and one of Robin Peterson, Imran Tahir and Johan Botha will carry drinks.

Botha is the likely victim. While the vice-captain has hardly put a foot wrong, he has only been able to take two wickets against the 14 of Peterson and 12 of Tahir.

“It’s never easy to pick a team, but it can become a nightmare when everybody plays so well. But it’s a good position to be in because we know that every player will do his bit,” said Smith.

“Imran is a major asset for us and undoubtedly our most attacking spinner. And, even though Robbie has been part of the team for a very long time, the confidence we placed in him has done wonders for him over the last six months.”

Smith believes that the two can play an important role against a New Zealand batting line-up that at times in the tournament has looked extremely suspect against spin bowling.

“Their ability to take wickets in the middle of opponents’ innings’ has been one of our strengths to date,” he said.

“We’re not used to spinners playing such an important part in South Africa and that is why it’s fantastic that they can come here and show what they can do.”

The Kiwis have been boosted with the news that captain Daniel Vettori will be fit for the game.

“We have not had a great tournament, but any game against South Africa is a big one for us,” said Vettori.

“If each one of the batsmen in our top five can do their bit, and we are disciplined with the ball and in the field, we will have a good chance.”

150 Responses to Cricket World Cup – South Africa vs New Zealand

would gladly lose on SB as long as the sharks win

😆 omdat ons kan??? hehehee dagse piet broer , gaan dit goed?

@ sharky_forever:61 – Well I was going with Saders but my heart just could not, not even on bru…hahaha.

Just hoping we don’t get thrashed. But hope we pick up a point that would be good. We win this I tell ya T. I won’t care if we win any after. Will be the best day ever.

Lekka brudda’ gannit ok met jou?
    Was gister hier op in NW Saudi amper tot by Irakse grens, plek met naam van Mammamoertoe of soiets, ek se jou, as hier nie olie was nie het hierdie ouens gevrek van die honger, hierdie woestyn is so baar hier is nie eens sand nie, net kalkklippe, ernstig! Dan besef ek weer hoe mooi die Kalahari en die Namib is.

Hello all,

If SA can not get this score i would call it the mother of all chokes.

I better watch out what i say , last time when i was sure we would beat England we lost badly.

@ sharky_forever:58 – I went with 2 for Sharks on bru. Like I said went with my heart.

Damn angry they made the team fly economy T. Not good that. We will be bloody tired. Players have travelled long from NZ. Then they are the ones playing not the management that buy them economy seats. Damn they deserved to go business class. We have to think after this game they straight on a flight home, now how the heck can they be rested in those bloody seats after a rugby game? THEY SHOULD have had our players in business class. NO question.

My only answer is they trying to save money or could not get them booked in business class.

@ superBul:65 – Howzit Super. I agree and if we don’t get this score we don’t deserve to go through. WE should though so just hoping.

true@ Puma:

@ sharky_forever:68 – See Rebels beat the Canes. That is one I never thought. Had Canes on bru too. Rebels are becoming like the French….hahaha. Never know which team turns up..lol. They so out of it one week and totally up for it the next.

Never watched the game just read the score.

Yep, not good, these boys make millions for their union. Economy class for even my medium frame is hell after six hours or so, impossible for me to sleep in, and I don’t even have to play the next day!

@ Pietman:70 – Piet, Exactly. Now the players have flown 18 hours back from NZ only got back on Saturday night. Then 5 days later on aonther flight, that after training all week, they put them on a economy flight????????? I am so angry about that. How can they be rested flying like that? Then straight after the Twickers game they on a flight that night back to Durbs? They will be too buggered for the next weeks game as well.

Should have had them on business class with out question.

@ Pietman:70 – Piet, Hope you keeping well boeta. You sure will be looking forward to your few weeks back home.

Okay have to go out. Will catch up later.

Cheers everyone.

who says they were not in businessclass??

btw bro i had rebels on SB , we were only 4 that went with them 😆

Amla gone?

75@ Pietman:
    Looks like it… I was busy with clients

SA 50 / 1 after 10 overs

SA 60 / 1 after 13 overs

Hello gbs hows it going? I saw you called it quite right a lot earlier on when you said NZ would get about 220. Reading that we need double Nelson to win and the manner of Amla’s dismissal made me nervous, although I guess if you’re good enough then luck or lack of it shouldn’t play a part. Would like to see Smith and Kallis push on a bit quicker now, remembering how it started well against England and then the guys got bogged down chasing what should have been a gettable score.

Biff out for 28

SA 69 / 2 in the 15th over

Ag nee man wat nou!

79@ Bullscot:
    Was a lucky guess…. hehehe

Our middle order MUST now stand firm!

AB de Villiers in now with Kallis

81@ Bullscot:
    Biff het ene geslice…. uitgevang.

@ grootblousmile83:
    Yeah just had a quick read of the commentary sounds like its a wicket thrown away to a ball that should have been dispatched. Oh well I owe I owe so its back to work I go, cheers for now man.
    Go Proteas!

Southee to de Villiers, FOUR, sensational shot from AB, short of length ball heading for middle, AB crashes that through cover after getting a half-step forward, the ball races for four, AB enjoys that and holds the follow through for the cameras

Kallis gets forward and looks to drive through the off, but he gets an inside-edge towards mid-on, Kallis was coasting for a single but there is a direct hit from Vettori, third umpire is called for and replays show Kallis is home in time

Southee to Kallis, OUT, jinxed Kallis there, he’s gone!
    JH Kallis c Oram b Southee 47 (75b 3×4 0x6) SR: 62.66

NL McCullum to Duminy, OUT
    JP Duminy b NL McCullum 3 (12b 0x4 0x6) SR: 25.00

Hope these 2class mates can show their class , things turning on its head. Sheet , is it one of those suffering days for a SA cricket fan. Moer

ABde Villier run out

Total 16 users including 0 member, 16 guests, 0 bot online