Rebels (9) 25 / Brumbies (16) 24 (Final Score)
The Melbourne Rebels hosted the Brumbies at AAMI Park, Melbourne at 10:40 SA Time (19:40 AEDT). This was the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1 & CSN on TV in SA.
The Rebels bounced back from a horrible start in Week 1 to rack up their first ever win. They will still be concerned that they had very little possession though and the Brumbies will be kicking themselves for not converting so many chances in the Rebels 22m area into solid points.
Rebels: 6 Penalties & 1 Conversion Danny Cipriani, 1 Try Stirling Mortlock
Brumbies: 3 Penalties & 1 Conversion & 1 Drop Goal Matt Giteau, 1 Try Pat McCabe, 1 Try Henry Speight
Rebels: 15 Mark Gerrard, 14 Lachlan Mitchell, 13 Stirling Mortlock (captain), 12 Julian Huxley, 11 Cooper Vuna, 10 Danny Cipriani, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Gareth Delve, 7 Michael Lipman, 6 Jarrod Saffy, 5 Kevin O’Neill, 4 Adam Byrnes, 3 Greg Somerville, 2 Ged Robinson, 1 Nic Henderson.
Replacements: 16 Heath Tessman, 17 Laurie Weeks, 18 Alister Campbell, 19 Tom Chamberlain, 20 Richard Kingi, 21 Afusipa Taumoepeau, 22 Luke Rooney.
Brumbies: 15 Pat McCabe, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Robbie Coleman, 11 Francis Fainifo, 10 Matt Giteau (captain),9 Josh Valentine, 8 Ita Vaea, 7 Julian Salvi, 6 Mitch Chapman, 5 Mark Chisholm, 4 Ben Hand, 3 Dan Palmer, 2 Steve Moore, 1 Ben Alexander.
Replacements: 16 Huia Edmonds, 17 Salesi Ma’afu, 18 Peter Kimlin, 19 Colby Faingaa, 20 Patrick Phibbs, 21 Matt Toomua, 22 Andrew Smith.
Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)
Assistant referees: James Leckie (Australia), Stephen Hill (Australia)
110@ Pietman:
Sover ek bewus is, is Cuzzy in SA
Jeepers who would have thought Rebels win this. That is my bru buggered totally.
Missed this whole damn game, had to take a call from Chile. Tried to follow the game here on RT though.
lol bro like i said was always gonna be close
still a bit of a shock though 😆
ZERO from 2 for me on Bru…. gits, gits, gits!
First upset of the day, who’s next to be spooked, Lions/Stormers or Bulls/Cheetahs?
@ sharky_forever:120 – 😆 For sure. Think we all had Brumbies. Did anyone have Rebels? Well that was a sure surprise result.
what are you doing on the phone , negotiating with Ralepele 😀
My hel, Kwagga, lank laas gesien, klink die ou het ook n klong ryker geword? Goed om hom hier te sien.
GO LIONS…Hehehehe. Have em on my bru. 2 picks down the tube for me this morning.
@ superBul:127 – hehehe.
128@ Pietman:
Ja, hy het ‘n mooi seuntjie ryker geword net na Nuwejaar.
Ashley were you drunk or do you really know your rugby, see you picked them by 3
@ sharky_forever:123 – Well you had em last week…lol.
We play em so hoping they don’t pull a win from us. Think Tahs caught em off guard, my feeling. Also thought they would play far better today, but really never thought they would win. Just shows don’t take any team for granted in this tourney.
@ superBul:132 – Jeepers, Ash just hit the jackpot…..hahahahaha.
Se hom ek se geluk man, nog n Bulletjie in wording, verseker!!!
Two other default picks gave the following players in SBru a win point, scrumsaam and yoda
135@ Pietman:
Die man is so trots…. en die klongetjie wassie eers by die hospitaal uit nie, toe dra hy al ‘n Bloubul hempie….. hehehe
1.50%of all players in SuperBru correctly predicted
a Rebels win
Remember…. 17:00 today it is Vodacom Cup game between the Free State Cheetahs vs Valke on TV…. and live here on R-T.
After that, of course, the Cheetahs vs Bulls game in Blingfontein at 19:10… also on TV…. and Live here on R-T.
WOW!!!!! Lekka man GBS, thx bruvva, gaan lekker wees!!!!
Okay I am off. Back for the Bulls/Cheetahs game.
Cheers everyone.
dagse pietman , long time no chat…
SUPER @ 132
lucky bru!! just look at my position on superbru 😆
pietman @ 135 & gbs @ 137
lol
and now guys … i’m out
its weeeeeeeeekend!!
yeeeeeeeeeehaaaaa!!
die brunbies het nou net mooi kak aangejaag :angry: damn roo bangers
Going to schedule the Vodacom Cup game thread now to appear at about 15:00 and the Cheetahs / Bulls Super Rugby game thread to appear at 16:45….
Then I’ll work a bit… see you later.
@ Ashley:
i cant see that far from my position at the bottom. 😆
jy het reeds jouself geantwoord , hy was stukkend gesuip 😆
i think everyone has gone to sleep
en kiwi’s kry slae in die krieket
Total 229 users including 0 member, 229 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,298,320 Page Impressions