Hurricanes (6) 9 / Highlanders (11) 14 (Final Score)
The Hurricanes hosted the Highlanders at the Westpac Stadium, Wellington in the FIRST Super Rugby game of the year at 19:35 NZ Time (08:35 SA Time) on Friday 18 February 2011. This was the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1, CSN & SHD on TV in SA.
If this is the quality and game attendance we can expect from Super rugby, then I’m afraid that Super Rugby is doomed!
There was a plethera of penalties, too many missed kicks at goal to mention, a yellow and then a red card for Ma’a Nonu…. and some of the worst handling ever.
This was not good rugby, siss on you Hurricanes… it’s a home loss against a team who made many errors, but just less than the Hurricanes.
Basically the Highlanders ground out a gritty win in an ugly match.
Hurricanes: 3 Penalties Aaron Cruden
Highlanders: 2 Penalties & 1 Try Lima Sopoaga, 1 Penalty Robbie Robinson
Hurricanes: 15 Cory Jane, 14 Julian Savea, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Tyson Keats, 8 Victor Vito, 7 Jack Lam, 6 Mark Reddish, 5 Jason Eaton, 4 James Broadhurst, 3 Michael Bent, 2 Andrew Hore (captain), 1 John Schwalger.
Replacements: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Neemia Tialata, 18 Faifili Levave, 19 Serge Lilo, 20 Chris Eaton, 21 Daniel Kirkpatrick, 22 Andre Taylor.
Highlanders: 15 Ben Smith, 14 James Paterson, 13 Kendrick Lynn, 12 Shaun Treeby, 11 Kade Poki, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Nasi Manu, 7 Alando Soakai, 6 Adam Thomson, 5 Josh Bekhuis, 4 Jarrad Hoeata, 3 David Te Moana, 2 Jason Rutledge, 1 Jamie Mackintosh (captain).
Replacements: 16 Brayden Mitchell, 17 Bronson Murray, 18 Joe Tuineau, 19 John Hardie, 20 Aaron Smith, 21 Robbie Robinson, 22 Siale Piutau.
Referee: Stuart Dickinson
Assistant referees: Garratt Williamson, Glen Jackson
TMO: Mike Fraser
It’s a game of penalties….
Landers land one through a different kicker
Landers 14 / 9
@ Snoek:
the first card was for the team, he was the last guy infringing. That contributed in making the next red. There was a lot of theatrics by Cowen. Hope not. We dont want rugby too soft.
Gooten dagen aan al die rugga mense……
I’ve taken some content off the site to make load time better…. is the site faster now for you guys?
…. and the penalties continue….
Scrappiest game I’ve seen in a long time
62 Thanks
Highlander took a age to form the lineout and then throw it in skew. I have a feeling this ref is biased. Will study the post match reports. Off course it does not matter.
Fark, the Canes don’t want this one… terrible
Game over and the Landers win!
0 out of 1 not a good start for my superbru….
daars my superbru sommer dadelik in sy m*er in!!!!! hehehehe
Hoop die Waratahs wen
GBS do you feel more uneasy about tomorrows game now?
Good result from a SA perspective.
@ Tripples:
moenie worry nie niemand in ons pool het n dooie duit uit die game gekry nie, almal het Cannes gepick
@ Snoek:
Agree, only one try, like GBS said a poor game. But guts and glory to Highlanders
Flok, dit was nou ‘n kak game!
Over to the Rebels / Tahs thread
Total 62 users including 0 member, 62 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,328,820 Page Impressions