England (3) 16 / All Blacks (17) 26 (Final score)
England hosted the All Blacks at Twickenham, London at 16:30 SA Time on Saturday 6 November 2010. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The Match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1 & M-Net on TV in SA.
In a hard match, and not all going the All Black way, they toughed out a win with England giving it their all in the last 10 minutes and the All Blacks under immense pressure.
The All Blacks scored 2 tries against 1.
Final score All Blacks 26 / 16.
England: 3 Penalties & 1 Conversion Toby Flood, 1 Try Dylan Hartley
All Blacks: 2 Conversions & 4 Penalties Dan Carter, 1 Try Hosea Gear, 1 Try Kieran Read
England: 15 Ben Foden, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Mike Tindall, 12 Shontayne Hape, 11 Mark Cueto, 10 Toby Flood, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Nick Easter, 7 Lewis Moody (captain), 6 Tom Croft, 5 Tom Palmer, 4 Courtney Lawes, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Steve Thompson, 1 Andrew Sheridan.
Replacements: 16 Dylan Hartley, 17 David Wilson, 18 Dave Attwood, 19 Hendrie Fourie, 20 Danny Care, 21 Charlie Hodgson, 22 Delon Armitage.
New Zealand: 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Josevata Rokocoko, 13 Sonny Bill Williams, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 Hikawera Elliot, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Anthony Boric, 19 Liam Messam, 20 Andy Ellis, 21 Stephen Donald, 22 Isaia Toeava.
Date: Saturday 6 November
Venue: Twickenham, London
Kick-off: 16.30 SA Time (14.30 GMT)
Expected weather: Sunny intervals with a minimum of 6°C and high of 11°C with light rain possibly later
Referee: Romain Poite
Assistant referees: Stuart Dickinson (Australia), David Changleng (Scotland)
TMO: Giulio De Santis (Italy)
Carter fluffs a 22m drop out…. scrum on the 22
Good Pommie scrums…. makes me worried for later….
Wales (6) 16 / Wallabies (7)25 (Final Score)
Wales: Penalties: Stephen Jones(3), Try : Richie Rees, Conversion : S Jones
Wallabies: Tries : David Pocock, Curtley Beale , Ben Alexander , Conversions : James O’Connor(2) Penalty : O’Conner(2)
England attack hard… knocks, NZ defensive scum 10m out
Another knock by England, 10m out… another scrum for NZ under pressure
NZ kicks it up and England tries to run it against NZ again….
Time is up… NZ win by 10 points
ABs win by 10. I have them by 10 on Bru.. 😀 Don’t often get it right.
Well Done All Blacks.
Well done to your team Rugby Princess.
Tks Pumes … Cud not understand a lot of the refs decisions – am I alone ? He let a lot of off the ball play go on, not just the elbow to Richies head. DC had a good game considering it was only his 2nd since his surgery. Best ABs practice hanging on to the ball in the tackle this week !
I picked Abs by 19 – which wud be about right if that Pom try from the forward pass in addition to having one foot in touch had not been allowed.
I see the Wobblies won too 😀 Now your boys turn to hold up their end tomorrow ! 😀
Wud like to interview the Pom defence coach who said yesterday that England wud show the ABs how to play a “proper test” today 😆
Northern Hemisphere forward play is strong boys and gals…..
The Aussies dont scrum, the 3 backrow players just engage , they dont bind and push at all
103@ superBul:
Poms scrums were good against the All Blacks
Kon jy darem pick vir die Bokke se game , as jy nie kan nie moet jy net jou prediction mail voor die wedstryd begin, hulle help graag.
Can someone tell me what the AB scrum was being penalised for at nearly every engagement ? I was watching online cos it is not on TV & the picture was not great (so much for 3D !).
Martin Johnson
Not picked yet 0.0 0.0 0.00 0.00
Kwagga
Not picked yet 0.0 0.0 0.00 0.00
carol
105@ superBul:
Ja jong, kon darem pick vir die Bokke game….
Flippen vergeet van die ander 2… te besig gewees met dinge, werkies rondom die huis… game threads.. ensovoorts… flok.
Sou 2 wenne gehad het, maar my margins sou taamlik uit gewees het
@ Rugby_Princess:
Hi RP i did not watch your game at all, was banished to the other test by GBS, so i wont be able to say whether the refs are starting to go for the BIG trees 😆
106@ Rugby_Princess:
Pommie scrums were strong…. French referee was a funny little oke, but I think he was desperately trying to be fair…. acceptable under the circumstances.
OK, let’s migrate to the Ireland / Bokke thread
Ek was braaf met my en Peter se Bokke 😆 en het hulle gepick met 11, die ander twee was ek mooi naby. Aus met 10 gepick en NZ met 6. Ek het nogal gedink die Engelse gaan NZ laat sweet.
@ Rugby_Princess:101 – RP, could not understand the ref much either. Not just his reffing but his English was very poor.
Carter did well for being out for so long. Tell you what had this game been in NZ with a SH ref NZ would have won by plenty more.
ABs were in control all the way. Knew they would win but just by how much. I got it spot on for a change. Had ABs by 10. Had Wallabies by 12 so only off by 3. Not good at these prediction games but getting a bit better.
Now for our Boks they need to win then all 3 SH teams have beaten the NH teams tonight. I am a bit nervous about the Boks though, not sure if we will win. Just keeping the fingers crossed and hoping like crazy.
Wow … you msut have been VERY naughty to be sent to the Convicts game 😆
I did hear McCaw trying to speak to the ref about “rolling” but he got no response & picture was so poor I could not see. That first English try was scored by a player who started a good two metres in front of the kicker 🙁 Oohh well, c’est la vie – wud only truly matter if it affected the outcome of the game – although it wud have helped my SuperBru enormously ! 😀
ABs did ok – not great, they really need to work out the rust.
Well done Boks !!
All SH teams remained dominant – what more cud a girl ask 😀
@ Rugby_Princess:
Hahaha no it was just a joke from me , we had the 2 games on at the same time so i was only asked to cover the other one.
Maybe a good thing also if one reads the comments on rugby 365 by the bloggers about the game, i might have stepped on NZ toes too. You see you guys are not playing nice , you always run away from your other play mates(SA and AUS), so we need all the help to break your runaway train. 😆
I think rugby365 is England based, not sure, so this views might be biased, read some like this.
On a different matter: What i would like to know is whether Mealamu gets cited and punished to the same extent that Bakkies was for his headbutt? Kevin (as he is know to his mum) blatantly lined up Moody in the exact same fashion as Bakkies did to Cowan. I doubt anything will come of this but it does grate me and understandably so. . dp
I actually did wonder about teh cshoulder charge myself at teh time.
What?? a KIWI acting like a thug? Impossible!! didn’t you know that AB’s come from a long line of angels, that would NEVER do illegal stuff? Yeah right!
Dirtiest side in the world….. mike b
So it seems that i missed a action packed game. But anyway we have a nice 3-0 for the SH. Great stuff.
Another response
@dp
Dude… I agree. If Kevin does not get the same sort of ban that Bakkies got for his head butt in NZ (and Hartley does not get the same for his bug squash approach to Mcaw’s head), then something is seriously wrong, and there is simply no consistency!
And Hape (along with all English that back him)… You’re on pot and talking rubbish… Please man!? A penalty try (by simple definition) gets awarded ONLY if there would have been 100% certainty (there are 99 whole numbers between 0 and 100 by the way) that a try WOULD DEFINITELY have been scored… I agree that it was not a tackle and should have been a penalty that might then POSSIBLY have lead to a try, but who says he would not have been tackled out of the field had Toeava tackled legally? Read your law-books please? The key is 100% certainty.. Same law book by the way where one would read that the white line is out… Since there are those still out of touch with reality and still encumbered by the stupid belief that Cueto scored a try in the WC2007 final, but obviously still don’t know how to open a book!?. coppertop
OK now i can talk about the NZ game, just watched a replay. All i can say is the All Blacks are a class act and they were pushed right at the end. Do i see a bit of the shine going off them though?
Giving a penalty try for the so called shoulder charge , no ways. That was a dam near perfect tackle, the one wings dream about.
As I was watching streaming on the internet it was a bit stop & go so I missed seeing Kev misbehaving, but I see he was cited. If he is found guilty I am sure he will be punished – although perhaps not to the same degree as Bakkies because I don’t think Kev has ever visited the judiciary before.
I heard that him having a go at Moody was a result of Moody making incendiary remarks about Kev’s family – which nearly ended in an all in brawl given that children in Kev’s family have died in accidents not long ago. Not an excuse I agree, but a clearly a VERY sensitive topic for Kev & Moody’s insult designed to target just that.
I would like to point out to Mike B of Rugby365 that Kevie’s mother calls him Keven not Kevin 😉
As a point of order – Was Hartley cited for throwing an elbow into RMs unprotected head while Riches arms where pinned in a ruck ? Or does wearing a jesey the same colour as the ref make one exempt ?
Total 220 users including 0 member, 220 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,331,176 Page Impressions