Lions (23) 40 / Griquas (15) 29 (Final Score)
The Xerox Lions hosted the GWK Griquas at Coca-Cola Park, Johannesburg at 15:00 SA Time. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The game was broadcast live on SuperSport 1 on DSTV in SA.
The Lions and Griquas both scored 4 tries each but the boot of Elton Jantjies proved to be the difference in the scores, Lions winning by 40 / 29.
Lions: 4 Penalties & 4 Conversions Elton Jantjies, 1 Try Zac Strauss, 2 Tries Jaco Taute, Jannie Boshoff
Griquas: 2 Conversions & 1 Penalty Naas Olivier, 1 Try Rocco Jansen, 1 Try Jean Botha, 1 Try Bjorn Basson, 1 Try & 1 Conversion Rudi Vogt
Xerox Lions
GWK Griquas
11 September at 15:00 |
- Team: 15. Jaco Taute, 14. Jannie Boshoff, 13. Waylon Murray, 12. Doppies la Grange, 11. Michael Killian, 10. Elton Thomas Jantjies, 9. Jano Vermaak, 8. Warren Roger Whiteley, 7. Joshua Zac Strauss, 6. Derick Minnie, 5. Franco van der Merwe (Captain), 4. Johan (Joe) Snyman, 3. Ross Geldenhuys, 2. Martin Bezuidenhout, 1. JC Janse van Rensburg
- Replacements: 16. Edgar Marutlulle, 17. Wayne Swart, 18. David Bulbring, 19. Renaldo Bothma, 20. JP Joubert, 21. Burton Francis, 22. Marius Delport
- Team: 15. Riaan Viljoen, 14. Rocco Reginald Jansen, 13. Wilmaure Louw, 12. Barry Geel, 11. Bjorn Basson, 10. Naas Olivier (Captain), 9. Marnus Hugo, 8. Davon Raubenheimer, 7. Justin Downey, 6. Johan van Deventer, 5. Cecil-John Kemp, 4. Luvuyiso Lusaseni, 3. Jean Botha, 2. Simon Westraadt, 1. Steph Roberts
- Replacements: 16. Ryno Barnes, 17. Jacobus Petrus Adriaanse, 18. Edwin Westley Hewitt, 19. Danie Burger Schoeman, 20. Sarel Pretorius, 21. Jean Hermanus Stemmet, 22. Rudi Vogt
Referee: Jaco Peyper (SARRA)
Assistant referees: Q Immelman (AR 1), M de Villiers (AR 2)
TMO: JC Fortuin
I see the Warriors have just won at a canter after the wee wobble Boucher came in and finished it off, you must have been impressed to see his batting if you were watching.
@ Bullscot:149 – Not sure about it Bullscot. Maybe about him, that would not surprise me, but maybe he can help out some of the youngsters here.
Will feel strange to see him playing for the Dolphins….hahaha.
Bonus point try from Lions.
Try Jannie Boshoff, under the sticks
Bonus point
Lions 40 / 22
There’s my 18-point margin again.
Well this one seems to be in the bag for the Lions, well done, can’t wait till the end really should be resting now. Will have a look at all the results later. Go Bulls!
Either the Bulls or Cheetahs will trail the Lions on the log after 10 matches. 😯
156@ Snoek:
Unless the loser in that game gets 2 Log Points…
What a shame to see Elton Janjties coming off with a injury it looks like. He is such a great player. A future Bok I think for after 2011.
Possibly yes, but i see a tight game with few tries.
159@ Snoek:
They could draw as well and both be above the Lions
@ Snoek:159 – Snoek, When are we going to play Lions? If Jantjies is not too serious with that injury and back for the Sharks game, think Sharks will have to play at their best against the Lions. Going to be tough at Ellis Park.
We have some tough games coming up. Cheetahs, Lions and WP
Kwas now hard on attack… penalty Kwas, 5m out
Bjorn bundled out
That would be a good score………
6 min left, my margin still looking good
hello maikies….lyk my die lions doen goed…..ek het regtig gedink die Griekies gaan hulle klop, maar lyk my dinge lyk nou sommer baie beter in die Leeu-kamp
Kwas on attack again, about 7m out… scrum for Lions
@ Puma @ 161:
We play them in 2 weeks time. Next week will be our most important game. If we can get 4 points against the Cheetahs in Dbn and 5 against the leopards, we will be on 50 log points, which should be enough for a first place.
Free Kick Lions, relieving kick, Kwas takes the lineout quickly
Kwas lineout 10m out…
Try Rudi Vogt… bonus point for Kwas…. and they ruin my Bru margin…. eishhhhh
Geluk aan die Leeus met’n goeie wen.
Lions 40 / 29
@ Snoek:168 – Snoek, We need to beat the Cheetahs next week. We do that think we should be okay. Hoping. Cause think it will be tough to beat Lions at Ellis Park and WP at Newlands. So it is a must win against the Cheetahs next week for us.
Lineout for Lions…. 30 seconds to go…
@ grootblousmile:171 😆
Come Lions, score again, for my Bru
Eishhhhhhh, lost forward over the line….
Lions win by 40 / 29
11-point margin
Well done Lions, second on the log.
WELL DONE LIONS. Another good win.
Good to see more Lion supporters at Ellis Park too. Things are looking good for Lions. Pleased for them and their supporters.
Total 198 users including 0 member, 198 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,448,678 Page Impressions