Springboks (13) 39 / Wallabies (31) 41 (Final Score)
The Springboks hosted the Wallabies at Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein at 17:00 SA Time in their last Tri-Nations and Mandela Cup encounter of 2010. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1, M-Net, SuperSport HD in SA.
Australia first squandered a 25-point lead, to clinch the game on full time with a successful long distance penalty by Kurtley Beale. Final score Wallabies 41 / 39.
Springboks: 6 Penalties & 3 Conversions Morné Steyn, 1 Try Jaque Fourie, 1 Try Gurthro Steenkamp, 1 Try Jean de Villiers
Wallabies: 1 Penalty & 4 Conversions Matt Giteau, 1 Try & 1 Penalty Kurtley Beale, 1 Try & 1 Conversion James O’Connor, 1 Try Stephen Moore, 1 Try Rocky Elsom, 1 Try Drew Mitchell
South Africa: 15 François Steyn, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 François Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Gio Aplon.
Australia: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 James O’Connor, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom (captain), 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Mark Chisholm, 3 Salesi Ma’afu, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Benin Robinson.
Replacements: 16 Saia Fainga’a, 17 James Slipper, 18 Dean Mumm, 19 Richard Brown, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Berrick Barnes, 22 Anthony Fainga’a.
Date: Saturday, September 4
Kick-off: 17.00 SA Time (15.00 GMT)
Venue: Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein
Expected weather conditions: Clear with a high of 28°C, dropping to 2°C and a westerly of 25 km/dropping to 3 km/h – perfect weather for rugby, as one would expect in Bloemfontein in spring.
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Assistant referees: Nigel Owens (Wales), Simon McDowell (Ireland)
TMO: Johann Meuwesen (South Africa)
Baie meer “urgency” in die tweede helfte.
thanx
Sent my family to a concert at Carnival City, without me….. hehehe
Aplon should have started this game and we may have been leading by some bit now. Eish!! Habs is in terrible form right now.
my nerves is mooi farking stukkend vannaand hoor!!
gutro is n yster
c the diff. Since habana went off
Penalty Bokke…. can Morne slot this long one?
@ bos_otter:395 – 😀 Mine too and I still have Sharks/Bulls game after this. No nerves will be left after tonight .. hehehe.
GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO BOKKEEEEEEEEEEE
Pale toe!
pres steyn to take the lead for the bokke
Danie Rossouw crocked…. Flip getting ready to come on
wallabies firstly hit the tryline, then they automatically hit the wall.
Bokke 33 / 31
Time for Flip and Chilli
@ Puma: I know mate….jeez….I’m going to die at a young age because of all this I think 🙂 Good luck with your team btw 🙂
ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh that guy punch Darnie Rossue in the nuts :pain:
Bokke lead… can we believe it!!
Genl. Steyn
Nice to have a reliable goal kicker.
Common bokke…we need 3 more tries !!
Morne with that kick I take my hat off to you. Well done.
Boks in the lead now. Damn never ever thought we could come back.
Now keep focused and don’t let it slip again.
Yes!!!!!!!!!
OKayyyyyyyy, here we go Old Griqua, game on bru 🙂
And no Fosters tonite mate….
@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
Your team has made a lot of tackles, exhausting stuff i hear.
Cooper moes nie daar weggekom het nie.
@ bos_otter:406 – Bossie, I am not too young but think I must have a STRONG heart….hehehe.
Yes….Chillie soon on….don’t like Kankowski though
Kanko getting ready to come on, hope it’s for Spies….
Penalty Bokke, Matfield taken out badly in the air
JS played his heart out let Chillie now do his bit
Hang on in there you Boks….!!
Bit tight….!!!
Total 154 users including 0 member, 154 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,454,072 Page Impressions