The Blue Bulls Rugby Union believe the growing storm surrounding their signing of Springbok winger Bjorn Basson is an “internal matter” in the Cheetahs franchise and has nothing to do with them.
Brendon Nel
Reports on Tuesday morning suggested there is growing unhappiness in the Cheetah region as the Super 14 franchise contributes 60 percent of Basson’s salary but allegedly wasn’t consulted about his move to the Blue Bulls.
Basson signed a two year contract to join the Blue Bulls as from November 1 this year, as the defending Absa Currie Cup and Vodacom Super 14 champions look to increase their depth in their squad on the wing.
The leading try scorer in the Currie Cup this year, Basson’s departure will hurt the Cheetahs franchise ahead of next year’s Super rugby competition, especially with another speedster Lionel Mapoe currently in a contractual dispute with the Free State Rugby Union.
But the Blue Bulls Rugby Union’s High Performance manager Ian Schwartz dismissed the complaints saying his union had followed the guidelines as laid down by the South African Rugby Union.
“We have taken note of it but it is an internal issue in the Cheetahs Super rugby region and is between Griquas and the Free State. We have followed the right procedures and we are happy that everything is fine in the way we have contracted him,” Schwartz said. On Tuesday Cheetahs president Harold Verster indicated his union were soliciting legal advice on the matter.
“In light of what has happened, the Cheetahs’ executive committee gave approval for us to seek legal advice on the matter,” said Verster. “As soon as we have received the necessary recommendations there will be a special directors meeting where the findings, and the consequences thereof, will be discussed,” said Verster.
“Bjorn is one of the Cheetahs’ top players. We are making every attempt to keep our star players in the region. We have to protect our interests,” said Verster.
There has been speculation that the real fight is over who gets the transfer fee paid by the Blue Bulls – said to be in the region of R1-million – which both Griquas and the Cheetahs, who are not strong financially, desperately need.
They’re all smoking zol by the sound of it.
Seriously we must be the laughing stock of the rugby world. The only way we will win anything significant in future is when the opposition die laughing at us.
F++k even the rhino poachers (alleged) are more efficient than our rugby administrators, greatest natural players in the world, greatest fans by a LOOOOOOOOOOOOOONG way but let down by the goons running the game in SA.
Merge SARU with SAFA and ASA – 2 cheeks of the same arse.
The Free State Cheetahs have come under fire for their exorbitant ‘transfer fee’ in the ongoing tug-of-war over the services of Sevens Springbok Lionel Mapoe.
rugby365.com can reveal that the Cheetahs asked an astonishing R1.5-million to release Mapoe to the Sharks, which is R500,000 more than what the Blue Bulls paid to obtain the services of a 15-man Springbok, Bjorn Basson, from Griquas.
It was also confirmed that Mapoe has been prevented by the Cheetahs from joining up with Paul Treu’s Sevens squad at the Commonwealth Games later this month.
The protracted saga will enter the next legal phase – when the Free State Rugby Union and Mapoe go head-to-head in the High Court in Bloemfontein on Thursday.
Piet Heymans, the Chief Executive Officer of the South African Rugby Players Association, on Wednesday expressed his “disappointment” that the officials of the two outfits, Cheetahs and Sharks, have not been able to agree on a transfer fee for the services of Mapoe.
“We are concerned, that if reports are correct, that a transfer fee of R1.5-million is demanded by the Free State,” Heymans told rugby365.com, adding: “This is well above the current market value when it comes to transfer fees.”
Heymans confirmed that the Sharks offered Free State an “above market related” transfer fee to secure the services of Mapoe.
“Taking into account what the Blue Bulls paid in a transfer fee for Bjorn Basson of Griquas, based on his current Griquas contract and his playing experience, and what the Free State is demanding, it is difficult to understand how the Free State calculated this transfer fee,” Heymans said.
He added that SARPA are concerned that Mapoe’s career will suffer, because he is now being denied the opportunity to play.
Although not taking sides in the saga, Heymans added that it appears “it is no more an issue about Lionel, but more about hardening attitudes from the Free State towards the Sharks and wanting to prove a point”.
He also asked how can a transfer fee of R1.5-million be asked if the player is only earning R100,000 per year?
Heymans added that he hopes the matter can be resolved in the interest of Mapoe when it is heard in the High Court in Bloemfontein on Thursday.
“We are hopeful for a speedy resolution in order to get him [Mapoe] back onto the playing flied as soon as possible,” the SARPA boss told rugby365.com.
Mapoe’s contractual dispute with the Cheetahs has been dragging on for six months.
Despite losing an arbitration case two month ago, he has not returned to Bloemfontein and continued training with the Sharks in Durban.
The Cheetahs hope to obtain a court interdict to compel Mapoe to return to Bloemfontein and see out the remainder of his contract, which runs till 2011.
They are also considering suing for damages.
By Jan de Koning
Well the only hope in hell the cheetahs have is there was a clause in their contract with griquas. This clause should spell it out that they have first option to buy. I doubt this is the case and he is contracted to the Griquas only.
The valke is a part of the bulls setup, but they cannot prescribe what happens with their players, if they feel the need to they should compensate the valke for the well being of the players.
the cheetahs wanted the easy “cheap” way. I mean they didn’t even play him in the S14, only when mapoe and nokwe was injured did he get a look in. And Griquas had to pay for this.
Bread-Butter-Both-sides. I think not.
@ Snoek:
1.5bar is pathetic.
The cheaters could have started a whole new business model if they handled the transfers correctly.
I mean the Bulls had no problem in paying griquas 1bar for basson.
They could actually make money, but now no one will approach them because of their stubbornness.
Harold Verster wen ‘n poepdrol van die jaar toekenning.
I differ with only one thing, I think the Bulls do have a moral obligation to intervene, but certainly not a legal one.
With Basson there didnt Cheetahs end 2nd last in the S14…perhaps they are trying to stem the flood and see this as their chance to make it difficult for players to leave. Earlier someone asked why did Cheetahs not contract him directly…well its simple, Griquas were the union prepared to take a chance on a young untested guy in the first place and that contract is now in place. Its all getting a bit ridiculous and just shows how inept SARU is.
It reflects a greater malaise in our society.
Security Industry burgeoning due to incompetence of police.
ESCOM problems being solved by outside consultants and previously affirmatively retired engineers.
Education standards dropping due to the ineptness of the teachers, so insted of improving the teachers they make the subjects easier (how stupid is that)
So eventually we end up with a country being run by consultants.
Thank God we have good rugby players at least we hold our own in the world….how good would we be if it was a level playing field.
35@ 4man:
Why would the Bulls have a MORAL OBLIGATION to interfere in a domestic tiff between 2 other Unions, specially as they are not party to the inner workings and contracts between Griquas and their Super Rugby Franchise (Cheetahs Super Rugby Franchise)?
It’s like saying Rugby-Talk needs to interfere between you and your Travel Company and the dealings you have between your own stuff… or saying 4man has a moral obligation to interfere with grootblousmile’s personal business dealings.
SARU, as parent body to the Griquas, Free State Cheetahs and the SA Super Rugby Franchises might have an obligation to interject…. seeing is there is discord in their sub-ordinate ranks… much like a Mother Company might intervene in the battles between Filial Companies under their bigger umbrella.
There is a difference between involving or interfering as you see it, with a player’s situation you bought and don’t want to lose, and interfering in something you are not involved at all.
37@ biltongbek:
How are the Bulls involved in Agreements between Griquas and the Cheetahs Super Rugby Franchise? They are not a part of or party to those agreements.
The Bulls scope is between Griquas and themselves and the player bought from Griquas…. no more.
#30 grootblousmile
ons maak reeds so!
OK, I see we are not going to agree here.
The Bulls are not involved with the lovers tiff between Cheetahs and Griquas, i agree with you there.
They are however interested in buying Bjorn Basson. That is their involvement. If they now stand to lose Bjorn, they have two choices.
1. Don’t do anything, but stand to lose the player if the Chhetahs can prove their case.
2. Get around a table and see if they can mediate a situation with both parties and perhaps be able to find common ground and retain the player.
This is merely a suggestion, and in no way obligatory.
If my travel company did a rugby tour and the clients were screwed, I would expect you to say something.
Rugby in our country is one level up from ordinary business in that the Unions and players are supposed to be ambassadors at all times.
Bulls are a senior union and should be one of the unions that ensures things run smoothly…the Sharks too have this responsibility and they ahve failed dismally in the Mapoe case and have in fact been pushing the envelope for some time. SOP for agents should be written down by SARU, which they are incapable of doing, so even more it is up to the senior unions to see that SA rugbys house is in order.
That is my supposition…of course it is just my opinion and you have known for some time that is my feeling.
Sorry I took long to reply…i was busy with some work and also writing on the rest of the blog.
39@ bloubulblog.co.za:
Nee, ek bedoel om hier jou NICKNAME te verander na “Laagvat Lingenfelder”, sodat die blogger “bloubulblog.co.za” as’t ware verdwyn… en “BluusBlog” soortgelyk te verander na “Doelskop de Klerk”…. hier op R-T
40@ biltongbek:
Correction… the Bulls are not interested in buying Basson… the HAVE ALREADY BOUGHT him.
And there is simply no way the Cheetahs can prevent that EXCEPT if they can prove they have a contract with Basson themselves…. which is NOT THE CASE.
Are you 100% sure they have no case?
I’ve got a good name for Bakkies “laatvat Louis” or “Kopstamp Kobus”
Now dont get cross with me jsut because your team isn’t going to make the semi’s 😉
44@ biltongbek:
The Cheetahs Super Rugby Franchise do have a case…. against Griquas (dependent on their internal agreement).
The Cheetahs Super Rugby Franchise can only have a case against the Bulls too if the Cheetahs Super Rugby Franchise has a valid contract between themselves and Basson or if Basson in his Player Contract with Griquas BOUND HIMSELF to Cheetahs Super Rugby Franchise exclusivity in some way.
Mens kan aanspreeklikheid opdoen op grond van kontrak of delik, dis al.
41@ 4man:
Mmmmm, kindly do not screw the female tour members Sammajoor, your wife might object….. hehehe
… and if you do… wear a condom….. hahaha
Never mind their rugby playing husbands!
I meant the euphemism screw as in to “cheat”…you young ou’s always go off on the wrong track
My intenerary.
26th jo burg
27th to 7th Durban
7th to 15th Jo burg and some days in the bush, probably NW.
15th to 23rd Joburg and Karoo fly out on 23rd to Heathrow.
26th Maastricht, why dont you come there for a beer 😉
Jokes aside sometime in the period 7th to 15th a few mates will get together for a few beers and another date for a meal, I’ll circulate the dates and venue.
sorry some spelling errors
48@ 4man:
Looks good for between 7th to 15th October…
@ 4man:
in that 7th to the 14th you must come over to Hoedspruit, will take you to those 2 places you can use for you Unlimited Tours
@ 4man:
Good afternoon gents
@ 4man you must enjoy your trip and be good….. if that is possible 😀
@ Muurbal:
Middag squashie.
middag bullie….. hahaha
hoe gaan dit?
With GBS here, Bulls should stay the hell out of this, it will only complicate matters.
Matter needs to be resolved between Griquas and Cheetahs, and SA Rugby as the owner of Super rugby needs to facilitate.
Howzit Super.
How much is it going to cost me?
Where we are going in the NW my mate runs the security for the whole game reserve, so we stay with him in the lodge, I just buy (or shoot) some meat for the braai and the beers I will pay for.
But I want to see these other places. I sent Ross an e-mail but havent had a reply. I wanted to check if our arrangement will stay in place.
@ Muurbal:
Dankie maat, ek sal dit geniet…ek gedra myself deesdae, so daars nie probleme nie en na 35 jaar getroud ek weet my meisie slaap met n “baseball bat” onder die bed en sy bly laat wakker…so ek is maar stil.
@ 4man:56 – 4man, Have a good trip to SA tomorrow. Enjoy your holiday. Weather is awesome at the moment. No rain for a very long time now. Well proper rain so everywhere is very dry. Hope the rain stays away for your trip over to SA.
Okay that is me out of here now. Catch up later or tomorrow.
thanks Puma.
I am in Durban for 10 days, let me have your phone no and I will give u a call, GBS will give you my e-mail. I have to get a new SIM card for SA my phone was stolen when my daughter took it over earlier this year.
BTW, does the crayfish season carry on til Oct this year, do you know?
I leave on Saturday…I hope it isnt Fri today other wise I am in the sh!t!!
Total 166 users including 0 member, 166 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,458,537 Page Impressions