What a great game of rugby. Credit to the players for staging such a fantastic spectacle.
In the end, a rather disappointing result if you are a Springbok supporter. A heart-broken loss is the word that has been thrown around in the newspapers. I’ll concur with that and with that in mind I believe it is important to dissect what went wrong as that is the only way to learn from your mistakes and to move forward. The Springbok team would undoubtedly do their own dissection but for us Springbok supporters dissection and discussion of the match helps to brings closure.
I believe we showed massive improvement at the breakdowns (as compared to our previous two games against the All Blacks) for 90% of the time. However, the 10% of the time that we were not up to it -at the breakdowns- actually cost us the match.
For me there was six reasons why we lost the match.
Fitness
The primary reason why we lost is fitness or more exactly a lack of fitness. Most of the other errors/reasons –for the loss- that I list below stemmed from our inability to keep up with the pace of the game. The Springboks were clearly just not fit enough to keep up; they ran out of puff and started making silly errors that essentially handed the match to New Zealand –not that the AB didn’t play well.
The coaches and fitness trainer should take the blame here. We were unable to control the pace of the game because we couldn’t keep possession partly due to the aggressiveness of the New Zealand defense but mostly because our team lack precision at the breakdowns at fast tempo. Why? Probably because they don’t train at a past pace and because of lack of attention on detail in training.
Unnecessary substitutions
Most of the substituting I believe was done because the players was exhausted but there were a few very dumb and unnecessary substitutions that indicate a total inability by the coaching staff to read what is happening on the field.
I see in the media that John Smit blame himself –after missing the tackle on Nonu- for the loss. I think the coaching staff member(s) who called for the substitutions of Hougaard and Juan Smit should take the blame. In fact I think he or they should feel so guilty about these bad calls that they should hand in their resignation papers with immediate effect. Both Hougaard and Juan Smit were instrumental in our improved performances at the breakdowns and they were clearly not tired when being subded.
Juan Smit was for me man of the match and was the man that kept us on the front foot at the breakdowns. The moment he went off our improved performance at the breakdowns started to change for the worse.
Hougaard was instrumental on defense. He was the man who policed Carter and ruined all attempts by Carter and Nonu to set play up in the midfield. His speed allowed him to get to these players and because he played of the base of the scrum/rucks he came from the side and could counter the block runner scissors move that New Zealand use to make line breaks.
The block runner scissors move is where the ball carrier start running on a 45 degree angle just before contact –drawing the defender sideways- and then hands the ball back to a supporting player coming straight through or angling in the opposite direction. They used this quite a lot on the blindside but this is also how Carter tend to put either Smit or Nonu in space in the midfield. Hougaard was fast enough to get to the ball receiver and strong enough in the tackle to not only stop the receiver but also to slow the ball down. When Hougaard went off New Zealand started to break through our defensive line on a number of occasions with this manoeuvre.
PdV’s inability to see the role that Juan and Hougaard played at the breakdown and in the defensive structures is absolutely shocking. The subbing of Hougaard and Juan Smit is without a doubt the main reason why we couldn’t slow the game down and why our defensive broke down in the last 5 minutes of the match.
We lost crucial turnovers in the last 10 minutes
We lost a few crucial turnovers which allowed New Zealand to keep us under pressure -speeding the game up- and preventing us from controlling the tempo. Nonu’s break which lead to Dagg’s try came after one such a turnover. We had the ball went into contact and were literally blown of the ball by the New Zealanders. The ball went wide at speed and Nonu slipped past Smith ran an extra 10 meters or so –without Hougaard to get to him- before sending the ball to Dagg who ran through for the try.
The interesting fact about this turnover is that McCaw actually played the ball with his hand on the ground. Now they would probably have won the ball anyway -as they were blowing over us- but the speed at which the ball came out on their side -which was the reason why they scored- was due to the fact that McCaw scraped the ball backwards with this right hand while on his knees.
Fitness is one reason why these turnovers happened but the other reason was the absence of both Hougaard and Juan Smit.
Simple concentration errors
There was quite a few but at least two were crucial in context of the outcome of the match. The one was the scrum right in front of the New Zealand goal post when we were still leading. This was an ideal drop kick position but we got penalized before we ball was actually put into the scrum.
New Zealand started running from that position and McCaw’s try came shortly thereafter. I am not sure who did what to give away the penalty but that was and unforgivable blunder that eventually cost us the match.
The second big blunder was the line kick that Steyn made against the right hand sideline. All he needed to do was to kick the ball out but he kicked the ball all the way over the dead-line and play was brought back to our 10 meter line with the possession then being handed to New Zealand. An absolute unnecessary and stupid mistake which kept us under pressure.
These are the type of mistakes that you just don’t make at test level.
Not using our opportunities
At the start of the second half a Carter kick was charged down and we were meters from the goal line. McCaw got his hands on the ball and slowed the ball down just long enough for the New Zealand defense to regroup. Reason why McCaw got his hands on the ball was because we were not rucking forcefully enough; just standing over the ball.
I’ve got a feeling McCaw came in from the side and not through the gate but would like to look at the replay again. Anyway this was a scoring opportunity that we didn’t take.
Referee blunders
There was a forward pass in the movement that lead to McCaw’s try. It boggles my mind how this could have been missed by both the linesmen and the referee.
Lastly I have my doubts over McCaw’s try. It was simply too close to call but that was not something the players could do anything about.
Fitness, inability to use and keep the ball as well as ridiculous substitutions being the main reasons why we lost.
The fingers has to point at the coaching staff.
I’m gutted over this loss. When we played attacking rugby, we won…as soon as the guys started kicking awat in the 2nd half, things went tits up. Replacing Juan and Hougie, was not a smart move. Ricky is just not up to the task…when is PDV going to realise this?
Good thing is, I recon Hougie secured his place in the Bok squad after last night…the bloke did brilliantly…lots of talent.
Appart from a couple of incidents, I thought the ref was quite good.
Oh…forgot to say…grats on your win NZ….you really deserved this win.
bos_otter wrote:
I would agree with that; by far the best referee display in the four test the boks played so far in the tri-nations. AB upted their anti after the critism from Dwyer and probably the video that went round which did make it easier for the ref.
Why did We go back into our shell in the 2nd half. We should play more attacking Rugby i agree.
The fingers has to point at Morne Steyn. With a better kicking game and not giving Away so much possession We shouldv won.
Wezwp wrote:
I think we ran out of steam. We just couldn’t keep up. If Naas played we would’ve won this test. Morne has been dissapointing, for me, so far this tri-mations.
The ref was fair in my book.
Gbs for the first time i must give it to the blue bulls in discovering such a gem of a player in F Hougaard. Is he from the Western Cape ? . De jong was excellent and so was Gio.
Hougard, de Jongh and Gio was indeed excellent. Gio keeps on impressing me.
How could we use tired as an excuse these players play at altitude week in and week out. They god damn professionals. We kept it to tight in the 2nd half while the all blacks were running at us. They play just as much rugby as us.
Folks, I spoke to Francois Hougaard after the game and after the press conferences. He said he was suffering serious cramp and felt he was getting to the ball slower than he should… Snorrie confirmed during the presser that that was the reason for subbing Francois.
Juan Smith suffered a slight injury late in the 1st half, according to Snorrie, therefore the reason for subbing Juan Smith so early.
Flip van der Merwe was also suffering cramps, therefore the sub by Danie.
These 3 key players PLUS JP Pietersen was huge yesterday.
Why Jannie Dup was subbed, I don’t know.
Anyway, I’m off to my late dad, GBS Maksimus’s grave and then a family function….. speak MUCH later.
Bokke were stacks better than the 3 previious Tri-Nations Tests at the breakdowns… specially in the 1st half.
Snorrie also said that his instructions to the loosies were to play more direct and towards the ball.
It still doesn’t take the heart break of 4 losses in a row gbs. They shouldv played for the draw and not kamikaze rugby in the last minute.
@weswp om te draw is soos om jou sussie te vry nee wat gaan vir die wen of crash and burn maar nooit nooit draw nie
A draw against the all blacks is like winning the world cup in my book buddy.
This makes it harder because Peter believes in Januarie. Any other coach would have instructed Hougaart to play through the pain, even half a Houggie is better than Enrico.
What the hell is wrong with our fitness that we cramp up so bad.
GBS you should have told Dick Muir what is the right thing to do.Jeez how thick skulled can a man be, if you take the struggling wins against Italy and the one against France’s 2nd team away he lost 17 games. OK let me put it this way 20 played , lost 17 great record MrMuir, get a sword please.
@ grootblousmile:ek verstaan…replace ouenes as hulle seerkry, maar replace hulle met iemand wat weet wat hy doen.
Mclook
Goeie artikel. Die ref en touch judge (Roland?) het ‘n paar kak calls gemaak maar dit het ons nie die game gekos nie.
Vir my was fiksheid die groot ding. Ons het weer die game by die break downs verloor, en die ouens het goed gelyk vir die eerste 30 minute of so maar toe het die monentum begin gedraai.
Is fiksheid rerig ‘n priority in ‘n player driven span? Hier moet die afrigters pa staan. Ek het laas nag in die middel van die nag wakker geword en kon nie slaap nie, so die bliksem in was ek. Ek is baie lus en vlieg SA toe en gaan donder Piet Snor & Dick Muir. Ek was jare laas so moerig soos gister!
En ja, Flip, Hougie, Gio & Juan (dJ) het baie, baie goed gelyk. En dit was lekker om Juan Smith terug te sien – Yster.
@SuperBul 16
Plumtree has moaned that when his Boks join the Sharks their fitness levels is sub standard. After yesterday I believe him.
T think we are moving back to the dark days of Strueli & Harry Viljoen. This whole coaching staff needs to F-off. And we can all blame Dick Muir but who appointed him – Piet Snor. And who appointed him – SARU!
@ LondonBul:
after Saturday my patience with Peter is up so you are right if he must go let him go , the sooner the better. He must have heard by now that the whole country wants DM and GG out , like in far OUT.
ons gaan so aan oor ons kak subs maar het iemand al gekyk na die invloed wat weepu gehad het, met sy chips en grubberskoppe het hy ons backs elke slag in die kakkas gehad, hy het nogals n helse aandeel in die blacks se comeback gehad
@ grootblousmile:11 – Gbs, I was sooooooooooo angry when they took off Juan and Hougaard. Now I understand why. Juan made such a difference to the team yesterday. Hope he is fine for next week.
I thought Hougaard was superb yesterday. He should have started all the Tri-Nations games while FdP is getting over his op. Ricky should not even be on the bench. Sorry he is not up to it.
@ Wezwp:10 – Some of the players don’t live up in the highveld. Plenty live at sea level. We should have been up at altitude two or 3 weeks back to train there. But our Boks have been playing far too much rugby and needed the rest.
ABs handled the altitude better cause the arrived early. I always say go early if you have to play up in the highveld. NOT the day before. I know some think different, but I feel different about that. Get there early and get the altitude condition before the match.
@ superBul:16 – Super cramping comes from not the right diet. After a long game but more so coming to the end of a game if you don’t have enough Potassium in your body you will cramp. That is why Tennis players always eat a bit of a banana during the game. Banana had plenty potassium. Maybe the should eat a few in the break……..hehehehe. Load up on the Potassium.
Also if your muscles are tight they can cramp. Then think they players must do their stretching exercise before they head out to play. Probably need more Potassium 😀
Change that to read. A banana has plenty potassium.
Mclook,
I felt the same, sooooooooooooooooo angry when they took off Juan and Hougaard yesterday. They both made a massive difference to our game.
Now read that gbs, says that Hougaard had cramps and Juan had a slight niggle. So maybe why. Hope they both fit and ready for next week we need them.
I feel if Juan never came off and Hougaard we may have just sneaked in with a win yesterday. Losing Juan so early I just had a feeling the ABs would come back at us.
@ Puma: from now on you will be called “potassium boy” 🙂 gie gie gie
guys…who got man of the match?
@ bos_otter: 😆
@ bos_otter:28 – Bos, I think it was Burger.
Yes it was Schalk Burger
Total 168 users including 0 member, 168 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,340,156 Page Impressions