“Ek sal op die veld vir Suid-Afrika sterf.”

These are the words bemoaned by Frans Steyn after a storm had broken loose due to the leg injury to the player and his availability to the Peter de Villiers Bok team.

A very angry Steyn on Friday from Paris in France dismissed the allegations by Peter De Villiers that he Steyn might not have the “heart” to play and die for his country, the versatile-canon boot said he has the desire to play for his country and will do anything in his power to make this possible.

I have the heart to play for the Boks and will die on the field for my country he reiterated, for sure I want to play for SA in next year’s World Cup tournament.

In an exclusive interview Steyn said he feels he is needlessly as someone that is difficult, and Sport24 today can divulge that:

Steyn had earlier this year without the clearance of his French club Racing Metro, and at his own cost travelled to South Africa to play for the Boks against Wales
Steyn since the Welsh test has never had any discussions with the Bok coach Peter De Villiers:

During a meeting with Steyn on the 28th of May, Peter De Villiers assured Steyn that he; himself would travel to France and sought out all the issues with Racing Metro, which till now the Bok coach has not done.

Head selector Peter Jooste, called Steyn last Thursday to inform him that he will only be in the Boks plans for the end of year tour to Britain and Ireland, big was the shock when Steyn heard last Sunday he was included in the Springbok group for the remaining Tri-Nations matches.
According to Sport24’s sources Steyn was included at the very last minute due to the senior players in the squad demanding his inclusion.
SARU did not according to the (IRR) International Rugby Board regulations comply in requesting release from Racing Metro for Frans Steyn in time, a request of this nature must be made 14 days in advance.

SARU did not notify the French Rugby Federation as they should have and only did so this past Wednesday.
Steyn would however not have been able to play Saturday against the All Blacks due injury, said he had no choice but to wait on his clubs permission to do so and travel to South Africa.

I have not been released by Racing Metro as yet, I cannot just walk out as I have a contract to adhere to, and I don’t have a Bok contract.

According to Steyn he is being branded as someone that does not want to play for the Boks and that his loyalty towards is questioned, this is not true he said.
“If it was only up to me, nothing would stop or keep me from playing for the Springbok team” I will live and die for the pride of the Bok-jersey and have the heart and desire and all that is needed to play for the Boks.

“All that know me, knows that I give my all for the team I play for. I want people to look back and say: Frans Steyn was a great player.”

Steyn said his return to South Africa against Wales nearly put him in big trouble with his club Racing Metro. I had thought the necessary requests from SARU for me to be released to play for the Boks had been done, just to find out this was not the case

On my return to France Pierre ( Berbizier, Racing Metro coach) informed me that they would not stand in my way to play for my country, but in future things should be done the correct way, and that the right protocols should be followed.

“Peter during the urgent meeting on 28th May gave me the assurance that he would travel to France to sought out the problems, till now he has not been there and he and I have not spoken since the Wales match.”

After the Wales test I had heard that the Europe based players were not up to standard and that the tempo of play was much faster in the Southern Hemisphere than it was up North.

Racing Metro pays my salary and treats me well, I do not have a Bok contract and now I must hear I do not have the heart to play for the Springboks.
Despite all this, I would be on the first flight to South Africa the minute I have clearance to play for my country, “I did call Peter De Villiers this past week and left a message on his mobile phone to assure him I am desperate to play for the Boks.”

In closing his plea to the Bok coach he again assured his loyalty to Springbok rugby.

I want to play for my country if I am good enough and I will do all in my power to play for South Africa.  “I DO HAVE THE DESIRE TO PLAY AND DIE ON THE FIELD FOR SOUTH AFRICA.”

Information in the article thanks to the Rapport and Rudolf lake

36 Responses to ‘I will die on the field for SA’

eish how long will saru and selectors and of course pdiv keep stuffing this kid around

@ sharky_forever:
    Sharky my mate your team the SHARKS stuffed this guy around , that is why he is over there. And the way he ran away after the money does not sit well with me. Sorry i feel nothing for his so called die for his country story. Frankly i dont believe him. That is Superbuls view of the kid.

Running at such a early stage in his life, no sorry he will have to kick a winning WC kick from his own 22 to make me support him again 😀 . Words are cheap , deeds count. He did leave too early that was not so bright son. Die oom like jou nie.

dont agree with you at all super

if this guy played for the bulls you would have spoken differently about him

yes dick muir stuffed him around at the sharks

that was not the reason he lft , yes he went for money
    you want to tell me you will say no to 22.375 million??

please dont try tell me you will mate , there is no ways ion hell

then read the article in full , saru and the coach and head of selectors fucked up

he paid to play fore the boks from his own ;pocket

oh he does not want to play for the boks you say

sorry boet but not for one sec do i think you are right or being fair

and how can he kick that kick you desire if he does not get chosen? if he is lied about all the time , ??? come now if they treated spies like this would you still say the same??

oh and dont come with spies didnt go for money

noone has gotten the size offer steyn has , it is still today the biggest offer in rugby union

@ sharky_forever:
    Sharky i can tell you my view would have stayed the same even if he was a Blue Bull. Go back and you will see i felt the same about Victor and John Smit.

The money , yes i would have taken it too, but i wont complain if they treat me like a outcast. I would know i dropped them for money and wont expect any love.

Peter was very busy in June until now, so i dont see when he could have gone toplead for Steyn at a club.

But like i said that is my view now, the only time i really had to change my view before was my view of Percy Montgomery. He won me over.

Why argue with you about Steyn?

I believe anyway that he does not offer us anything we dont have right here. If we want a big boot go for Riaan Viljoen or Hennie Daniller. Want flair and braveheart taking of up and unders go for Zane and Gio and Conrad Jantjies want great talent go for Lambie. Steyn is not playing fullback in Europe so he is not up to par with any South African fullback. need a center NO.

super so because is is paid accordingly he should be an outcast??

even if podiv didnt go , email on time from saru is all it would have taken

heres a fact , you dont like the player and dont want to call him up super have the balls to admit it in public no problem , thats his choice as coach or the selectors

but dont then cpme with the BS they he does not have the heart to play for SA

i got no problem with we dont select over seas based players

then butch and all other players should not be selceted that play over seas

again my friend thats not steyns fault , if you dont want to choose him leave him alone and move on , its that simple

nowhere has steyn demanded to be selected

Well, I rate Frans Steyn and personally think he made a mistake to move to France, the good thing he is young and can learn from this, I think his contract expires in 2012, so if he is serious he’ll come back then, if he is not serious he won’t be back.

So let’s believe him for now, and see what happens.

With all the controversy surrounding PDV, I am not really going to believe much he says.

Sharky,you are wasting your time with Super discussing this one with Frans.. He does not rate him and his blue blinkers stop him from seeing the facts.. Anybody who thinks Daniller and Viljoen are in the same class as Steyn is seriously deluded.. As much I respect Super’s opinions this is something myself and Puma have always strongly disagreed about with him. Frans is a genius and he is a massive loss to the Boks. When he comes back eventually I will be proved right,watch this space.

@ Winston:
    Winnston you right no use to argue with me on this point. But do me a favor and take a balanced view of his good things he did and stupid things he did , list them against each other and convince me.Also help me out and tell me exactly how many games he played at no 15.

I know one thing for sure he cost you the Super14 title in 2007.

Super,the guy is 23 years old,when he was 19 he was winning World Cups,when I was 19 I was getting drunk at Varsity,yes he has made mistakes,but thats a given when he was thrown in the deep end at such a young age,Carter,Wilko and Quade Cooper also did many silly things and came right but the selectors refused to let him settle and kept pushing him from pillar to post. But lets agree to disagree on this,I know we agree on alot of things but we’ll never see eye to eye on this. With regards to the Super 14 they were silly to take Butch and Percy off and he was forced to take the final conversion,but again according to you that was Frans’s fault..

Steyn is a brilliant player. Anyone who can’t see that must be blind as a bat. The boks miss him at fullback. He has no equal at fullback in SA.

@ rugbybal:
    Blind ME, ag come on tell me the list of things that he did to be in that brilliant category.

He was brought in by Jake and was given 15 chances before he did something remotely special. Be fair to the other players now getting their chances.

@superbul

Would you mind listing the “special things” bulls players such as Kirschner, WO and Spies have done in a bok jersey?

Can’t think of any myself.

People must start getting to grips with the fact that rugby is a professional sport – pity its run by amateurs and a lot of supporters retain the same amateur mindset.

The kid is good, very good. Special things? I’d start with the 3 monster kicks against the AB’s – no other player in the world was capable of that.

@ Pam Anderson:

Pam, his reasoning is that he made mistakes along the way, but mention wont be made of all the games that he single handedly won for us..

@ Pam Anderson:
    Gahahahaha i wont fight for Spies at the moment, but surely you cant use him i this argument.

Wynand played well in the S14, he certainly does not under Dick Muir, you decide who is at fault.

Kirscner did nothing wrong and was our best player against the rampant All Blacks, dropping him now wont help him or SA.

Face the fact and come and tell me how many times did golden boy play full back, come tell me. I simply dont see him as a full back.

Superbul as far as Kirchner is concerned I have to strongly diasgree with you.

He himself admitted he misses too many tackles, during the match against australia, his up and unders and the chasing of them was extremely poor.

IMO if you are goingt to put the up and under up, you need to be able to chase successfully and either gather the ball, or at least make the tackle, and on a couple of occassions he missed both.

As for his decision making ability, at one point in the Wallaby match, he caught the ball, had a springbok player on his inside, but chose to beat O’Connor on his own, we lost the ball and minutes later the Aussies scored.

another example of his decision making was when he ran around the aussie back line had two supporters to pass for a sure try, got whiteline fever, kept the ball, held on to it after the tackle and got penalised.

sorry but he is simply not good enough.

@ biltongbek:
    Jy maak my nou de moer in :Lol: daar noem jy dit self biltongbek wrote:

when he ran around the aussie back line

he does create a lot , just give him a decent chance in the Boks team with a decent coach. Now come tell me do you think that Dick Muir is good?

More meneer superbul. Nee wat, ek het juis vanoggend op een van die ander threads gese warom kan ons nie ontslae raak van dick and Gary Gold nie.

Dick het mos nou bewys deur na die Lions toe te gaan gedurende die Super 14, hy kan nie defensive organisation spel nie, vergeet van beplan.

Net so terloops, enige ou met genoeg spoed en spasie behoort nou en dan “om te kan hardloop”

Veral as daar n’ overlap was.

🙂

superBul wrote:

@ rugbybal:
    Blind ME, ag come on tell me the list of things that he did to be in that brilliant category.
    He was brought in by Jake and was given 15 chances before he did something remotely special. Be fair to the other players now getting their chances.

Talking about you, nevaaaa, what gives you that idea? :):):)
    He is still the best fullback the boks hae had since the world cup. FS only got a regular starting fullback position under Snorrie. Mind you FS is can be usefull at centre too like he was at the world cup. He is a good player to have in your squad especially coming world cup time.

Please don’t pull a RP on me. I didn’t mean it as an insult, it was jokingly done, next time I’ll put a smiley with

Fransie, it’s all good to say you’ll die on the field for SA… but then you need to put your agent firmly in place and look for a way back to SA.

You should make it clear to Racing Metro as well that your National interests are of the utmost importance.

Unfortunately one cannot have one’s bread buttered both ways… get with the program, chap!

depends if you are having a snackwhitch or eggy bread, and those are French aren’t they?

24@ biltongbek:
    Fork, hoe honger is ek nie nou vir lekker French Toast met heuning oor nie…..

Man, dit is maklik om jou fokus te skuif.

Ek wed jou as ek nou se koue bier, is jy sak en pak na jou bar toe vir n’ bier.

26@ biltongbek:
    Neeeeeeeeee, my fokus is nou op Squash…. gaan netnou speel.

Dis lekker ook as mens ‘n Kommissaris van Ede kan kry om sommer na jou kantoor te kom om ‘n verklaring te Beëdig… niks nodig om te ry nie, die berg kom na Mohammed toe in plaas van andersom…

Ek bedoel nou, my squash vrind bring sommer sy stempels saam ens…

Anyway, laat ek gaan aantrek vir die squash….

Wel as jy nou ook gaan loop dan is daar nou net ek oor.

Ek sal maar afterk, toeplak en huis toe gaan.

Frans Steyn is another Brent Russel. He is too good for his own good. You can put him anywhere in the team from 10-15, and he will do an adequate job. For me he would be brilliant for the Bokke at 12, but as has been said, no chance of that. At 15 he is solid under the high ball, a great defender, strong if not always creative ball carrier, and best of all, he has that cannon boot. As the opposition you dare not give penalties away up to 60m from your line, because you have 3 points against you, if Steyn is on song, and he can also score drop goals from his own 10m line.

Yes he makes mistakes, but its like driving a German car after you have driven a Japanese car. You still drive well, but the finer details like remembering that indicator and wiper switches have been swopped around tend make you look a bit silly when you turn a corner and instead of indicating, you have your wipers cleaning a dry window. Steyn needs to be told where his coaches need him, and then play him there. That is the only way he will learn the nuances of his position. So if its fullback, then play him there, do not play him at fullback at national level, and at center at club level. Even PDV can pick up the phone and chat to club or province, and make a request as to where he wants his player to play.

What is Frans’s form like now? Those who tout for him will say he’s class and it will shine through… so why did it not shine through against Wales?

Fransie needs to play in OUR competitions, so we can judge him fairly, I believe.

Total 276 users including 0 member, 276 guests, 0 bot online