Springboks (16) 22 / All Blacks (14) 29 (Final Score)
The Springboks hosted the All Blacks in their last Tri-Nations match against one another of 2010 at FNB Stadium, Johannesburg at 17:05 SA Time. This was the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was bradcast live on SuperSport 1, SuperSport HD and M-Net.
The All Blacks won, scoring 2 quick tries in the last 3 minutes, to break the Bokke hearts and those of their supporters.
It must be said though that the Springboks showed moments of brilliance during the game though, with the Hougaard experiment working well and Juan Smith and Flip van der Merwe doing their part brilliantly too.
Jean de Vlliers shone at inside centre and Morne Steyn’s boot was as effective as ever.
… but well done Blacks, you came, you saw, you absorbed a shipload of pressure … and you won!
Springboks: 5 Penalties & 1 Conversion Morne Steyn, 1 Try Schalk Burger
All Blacks: 4 Penalties & 1 Conversion Daniel Carter, 1 Try Tony Woodcock, 1 Try Richie McCaw, 1 Try Israel Dagg
South Africa: 15 Gio Aplon, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 François Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Francois Louw, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Butch James, 22 Wynand Olivier.
New Zealand: 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Joe Rokocoko, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Tom Donnelly, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Ben Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 Corey Flynn, 17 John Afoa, 18 Samuel Whitelock, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Israel Dagg.
Date: Saturday 21 August
Kick-off: 17.00 (15.00 GMT)
Venue: FNB Stadium, Johannesburg – near Soweto
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant referees: Alain Rolland (Ireland), Simon McDowell (Ireland)
@ Puma:good luck to the Sharkies
@ bos_otter:
Waar kyk jy vandag die Bossie
I cant wait come on
England 233 & 222
Pakistan 308 & 148/6 (41.4 ov)
Pakistan won by 4 wickets
Live Streaming:
DSTV Subcribers can follow the match via live streaming right here.
International viewers can follow the match on our sister website http://www.rugbyzone.com.
Helloooooooooooooooooo
A number of Castles strong, but the body is still ticking…. heheehe
Man, you guys should see where I sit…… farking hell……… PERRRRRRRRRRRRRFECCCCCCTTT!
I just worked through a wonderful buffet lunch, thanks SARU and the GLRU… that was amazing!
Yeah but he did a poor comparison between JS & Mealamu. Called Mealamu a fatty, what a cheek. Just look at Mealamu’s work rate around the field on both offense & defense, he is a real asset, a 4th backrower. Love to have him on my team any day.
Hee, Haw, getting ready for the big game, it’s going to be a cracker. I’m going to try to stay on RT during the game but will run the risk of breaking my PC due to excitement. 🙂
@ Treehugger:
Mealamu going to eat his lunch today 🙂
Come out boys and girls were are you all hiding?
I read somewhere that a 1955 British Lions match had a crowd of over 90,000. I assume it was at Ellis Park, but they did not cite the actual crowd size.
@ JimT:
Hi JimT
Hope this game could be played with 15 player a side all the time.
Do you want to see where I sit???
Helloooooooooooooooooooooo
Go on, we are green with envy GBS. You must be a VIP. 🙂
43@ JimT:
VIP indeed!!
Heeeeeeeeeeeeee haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
Thanks for giving me the right match info, i checked it up on Springbok stats site
6 August 1955
Ellispark, Johannesburg
South Africa
Britain
Captain: Stephen Fry Referee: Ralph Burmeister (South Africa)
Coach: Danie Craven Attendance: 95000
Yep, I agree with that. Don’t need any excuses today. Let the best team play & win. Can’t imagine what the atmosphere must be like at the stadium.
Jy eet suip en drink wat kry jou assistent?
That was a great BI team. The overall series was tied 2-2 as I recall. All welsh front row, Cliff Morgan, Dickie Jeeps, Tony O’Reilly – what a team. Pity we in the UK never saw the matches but just read about them. O’Reilly was only 18 when he toured, celebrated his 19th in Kruger Park while on tour.
47@ superBul:
Ek mail vir jou ‘n bier…. hang aan
sterkte bokke veral my huidige gunsteling juan smith maak die blacks se beentjies pap
Ahoy!
Here I sit, check the view…
ek is nie so cheap nie, minstens John Smit se wedstryd trui, geteken
AAgh flok hulle jou weer die seat in die sewerage duct gegee
Tyd dat ek as fotograaf saamgaan, wat blur die ding so, Of maak hulle vuur in konkas
VRYSTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT! and Bokke! [I hope}
yes hoe gaan dit.
Heineken? Check!
Biltong? Check!
Famous Grouse? Check!
Soda? Check!
Steak? Check!
Red Wine? Check!
Ok, I am ready for both games.
GBS Did you hear there is traffic problems again
Flok, we even each received our own pair of “Field Ears” from SARU… so we’ll hear exactly what the ref says…… I hope.
There’s some kak music on it now…..
Total 169 users including 0 member, 169 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,341,482 Page Impressions