Wallabies (17) 30 / Springboks (3) 13 (Final Score)

The Wallabies hosted the Springboks in Brisbane, Australia at 12:00 SA Time. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSpor 1 on DSTV in SA.

The Wallabies, like feared, had a plethera of possession and break-down ball to work with in the 1st half, ran intelligently and recycled the ball well.

This earned them penalty after penalty and they built up a hefty lead as a result from kicks at goal.

In the 2nd half, when Dewald Potgieter replaced Ryan Kankowski, things evened up a bit, enabling the Springboks to score 2 tries but the Wallabies fought and defended well to maintain a lead and run out winners by a 17-point margin.

The final score was Wallabies 30 / 13. 

Wallabies: 5 Penalties Matt Giteau, 1 Penalty & 1 Conversion James O’Connor, 1 Try Drew Mitchell, 1 Try Will Genia

Springboks: 1 Penalty Morné Steyn, 1 Try Jaque Fourie, 1 Try Gurthro Steenkamp

The teams:

Australia: 15 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 14 James O’Connor, 13 Rob Horne, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Richard Brown, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom (captain), 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Salesi Ma’afu, 2 Saia Fainga’a, 1 Benin Robinson.
Replacements: 16 Stephen Moore, 17 James Slipper, 18 Rob Simmons, 19 Ben McCalman, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Berrick Barnes, 22 Kurtley Beale.

South Africa: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wynand Oliver, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Ryan Kankowski, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 BJ Botha, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Dewald Potgieter, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Butch James, 22 Juan de Jongh.

Date: Saturday, July 24
Kick-off: 20.00 (10.00 GMT; 12.00 SA time)
Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Expected weather conditions: Partly cloudy with a 30% chance of rain, a high of 20°C, dropping to 9°C and a southeaster of 18 km/h
Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Keith Brown (New Zealand), Vinny Munro (New Zealand)
TMO: Matt Goddard (Australia)
Assessor: Steve Hilditch (Ireland)

Recent results:
2009: Australia won 21-6 at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
2009: South Africa won 32-25 at Subiaco Oval, Perth
2009: South Africa won 29-17 at Newlands
2008: South Africa won 53-8 at Ellis Park, Johannesburg
2008: Australia won 27-15 at Kings Park Stadium, Durban
2008: Australia won 16-9 at Subiaco Oval, Perth
2007: Australia won 25-17 at Stadium Australia, Sydney
2007: South Africa won 22-19 at Newlands
2006: South Africa won 24-16 at Ellis Park, Johannesburg
2006: Australia won 20-18 at Stadium Australia, Sydney
2006: Australia won 49-0 at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

228 Responses to Wallabies vs Springboks – Game Thread

Yeah,I think if we start well we’ll have a chance..

Van die senior spelers skuld ons ‘n groot game.

Snoek wrote:

Van die senior spelers skuld ons ‘n groot game.

Ek dink hulle mag dalk net vir ons een gee. Ek hoop ook Super Cooper verander in Super Blooper in. Ek wag nog vir iemand om hom ordentlik te lak as hy so dans.

G’day Snoek, Rugbybal, Ashley and my old mate Puma and everyone else, on this day when our two sides meet in battle on the playing field. I wish the boks good luck, no serious injuries – and give Aplon the ball and let’s watch him take off!!
    Cool evening in Sydney; braai (BBQ) pumping out the goodies. You know, there’s a Saffa butcher in a Sydney suburb called St Ives (soon to be renamed Johannesburg, I think) who makes the best boerewors. I’ve got it cooking on the plate right now and intend washing it down with a glass of Hunter Valley red – died and gone to rugby heaven!!!!
    Go the Wallabies!!!!!!!!!!!

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:

Good luck to your team, not to much though. 😉

g’day griquas
    and
    may your team lose today 😀

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
    Sounds great. You have a very deceiving nick btw. My apologies, I thought you were a South African living in Aus. Anyway, yeah, it will be interesting to see Aplon and also Super Cooper in action.

Hi Oldie,hope its a good game but hope your beloved Aus get hammered 🙂

winston @ 38
    well said!!

Ashley wrote:

winston @ 38
    well said!!

Hey Ashley, just for the record, I was very anti PDV, because he said that if he ever get the job he wil make Luke his captain, but I am converted and now also a PDV defender.

So wat drink ons?

No worries mates, let’s hope for a great match. I hold you all in high regard, but will be looking for a Wallas win!!

Snoek wrote:

So wat drink ons?

Taiwan draft + no preservatives (only lasts for 15 days) = no headache tomorrow. En jy?

Lets all hope the referee is half decent today as well so we dont bitch about him after the game 🙂

Sorry, multitasking here…

Had someone come and pressure test my cooling system on one car, also busy doing Symantec Norton Antivirus 2010 installation for somebody….

Bit of divided attention here….

@ Winston:
    Agreed, no excuses for either side, just a fair match.

We are drinking everything Snoek,anything we can get our hands on 🙂

@ Winston:
    second that

@ rugbybal:

Miller Draft, maar net omdat dit nog so vroeg is. Gaan later ‘n lekker bottel rooiwyn oopmaak.

rugbybal @ 40
    pdv defender … well ive never thought of myself in that way
    anyway, when jw was coach ive been one of his biggest critics
    learned my lesson … and now i’m just more hesitant to critisize

Brandy half coke 🙂

Eish, blogging with some serious drinkers here, with GBS being the captain.

Pocock worries me. Hope we get some decent ball to play with.

Winston wrote:

Brandy half coke

There nothing like a strong drink, just a weak person

looks like boys vs men…lets hope the boys don’t teach the men another leason today. I’m still feeling confidant that the Boks will take this one….go BOKKE!!!!!!

Lots of boe’s for the boks in Australia!

Snoek wrote:

Lots of boe’s for the boks in Australia!

Well stuff them

52@ Snoek:
    Wrong perception, I don’t drink much or often, just I believe when you do anything, do it well!

Hehehehe

Went to a Food and Wine tasting do last night…. some good wines last night from Hidden Valley and Alkmaar Boutique Estate…

In fact did not drink much, but had a great time and I always seem to be last to leave a good party, being such a social animal!

En die Aussie hardloop dat die rook trek.

Shame Aus hasn’t won a 3N for 9 years

Total 83 users including 0 member, 83 guests, 0 bot online