Argentina 0-4 Germany, Paraguay 0-1 Spain

Netherlands 2 – 0 Brazil, Uruguay 1 – 1 Ghana

Uruguay won penalty shootout 4-2

Superbu Updated

The last two quarter-finals of the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™ could hardly have been more diametrically opposed, with Germany’s comfortable 4-0 victory over Argentina contrasting with Spain’s nervy 1-0 reverse of Paraguay. The two triumphant sides will now meet at Durban Stadium on Wednesday in a rematch of the UEFA EURO 2008 final, which the Iberians won.

Die Nationalelf will be hopeful of reversing that result this time around, after shining again against La Albiceleste at Green Point Stadium in Cape Town. Joachim Low must have studied videos of Inter Milan’s 3-2 aggregate win over Barcelona in last season’s UEFA Champions League semi-finals, because his defenders never stopped harrying Lionel Messi and barely allowed the diminutive genius a touch of the ball. Without their tricky No10 running the show, Argentina’s probing came to little and they left themselves cruelly exposed to German counter-attacks.

Low’s men gave another stunning demonstration of attacking football and by the end of it Miroslav Klose had scored twice, putting him level with compatriot Gerd Muller as the second-most prolific player in FIFA World Cup history on 14 goals. He now needs just one more strike to move alongside Brazil’s Ronaldo at the top of the all-time scoring chart.

Attentions switched to Johannesburg’s Ellis Park Stadium in the evening for a tense encounter between Spain and a valiant Paraguay team that gave the European champions plenty of problems.Los Guaraníes had shipped only one goal all tournament prior to this quarter-final and they held firm until the 83rd minute, when La Roja finally opened the doors to their first FIFA World Cup last-four berth since 1950. The irrepressible David Villa made the difference once again to edge ahead in the race for the adidas Golden Boot on five strikes.

It could all have been so different, though, had Paraguay’s Oscar Cardozo buried his penalty in the 59th minute. As it was, his attempt was saved by Iker Casillas and Spain won a spot-kick almost immediately at the other end, only for goalkeeper Justo Villar to deny Xabi Alonso. It was the first time since Argentina’s 6-3 win over Mexico in 1930 that both teams managed to miss a penalty in the same FIFA World Cup game.

Some interesting numbers

Fridays  Quarter final Results

Netherlands vs Brazil:

Netherlands 2 / 1 Final score

Goals by:

• D Robinho for Brazil at 9 minutes 21 seconds
  • Unfortunate own goal by D Felipe Melo of Brazil for Netherlands at 52 minutes, 25 seconds
  • W Sneijder for Netherlands at 67 minutes 27 seconds

Uruguay vs Ghana:

Uruguay 1/1,  won penalty shootout 4-2

Semi-finals

06 July Uruguay v Holland 20:30 Green Point Stadium

07 July Germany vs Spain 20:30 Moses Mabhida Stadium

10 July Loser SF1 v Loser SF2 20:30 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium

Final
11 July Winner SF1 v Winner SF2 20:30 Soccer City

33 Responses to SWC: Quarter Final Matches

Got to go drop my son of at the ex-witch, so I wont be able to update the 1st match further…

Go Brazil!

GO ORANGE .. GO ORANGE .. GOOOOOOOOO HOLLAND

GO HOLLAND .. GO HOLLAND

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO HOLLANDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD

Well done Netherlands on a famous victory.

And I wear my orange sweater proudly!!!

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS WELL DONE HOLLAND.

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO ORANGE GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO ORANGE
    For the semi final. How I wish it was in Durbs.

Felt like I was watching it in Amsterdam. Went crazy in my house when Holland beat Brazil.

Feel totally awesome. What a great feeling.

@ Boerboel:
    4 – Yip, Boerboel, I too was wearing my orange jersey the whole day. Also everyone that came to watch at my house had to wear orange….hehehehe. Damn felt like I was watching my own country playing. Felt sooooooooooooooooo great to see Holland win it.

Ouma, yes it is great, for me it is like the Bokke just won the All Blacks!

Goodness! Puma, not Ouma!! Sorry Puma!

Hup Holland 🙂

Daar kak nog ‘n grote….

……and now there’s only 7.

Big upset this afternoon,thats what nice about football,alot more teams can win the Cup unlike rugby or cricket..

wys jou net oranje is maar die kleur van giant killers nederland vrystaat ……ek wil my self hier uit laat en se dit gaan ‘n dutchmen duitser final wees

@ smallies72:
    I LIKE THE WAY YOU THINK, GO germany

GO GHANA…………….GO GHANA.

Ghana in the lead at halftime.

@ superBul:12 – Super, If that happens (Holland and Germany in the final) hope The Oranje klap Germany good and solid in the final.

GO Holland.

@ Boerboel:7 – Boerboel, no problem.

hey old chap it will be like Bulls vs Sharks all over, my team is Germany , right from the start. So come on Germany give me joy. 😆

@ superBul:16 – Super, 😀 Bring it on….hehehehe. The Oranje going to klap em Germans if it is a German/Holland final. Will be like world war 3 boeta, em Dutch HATE the Germans.

I lived there so have always supported Holland in the soccer. This world cup being held in Africa of course I supported Bafana and Ghana too. Now the out it is just Holland for me all the way. Hope they beat the CHEATING URUGUAY in the Semi. That should have been a Ghana win and also Uruguay cheated against Bafana too.

SO….. GO ORANJE … GO ORANJE … GO HOLLAND … GO HOLLAND. Viva Holland……hehehehe.

Super, the Dutch are brilliant fun. I enjoy them a lot. Loved living in their country too. Have such great memories of my time there. Met with plenty of their supporters while they played here in Durbs. They are a awesome people.

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO HOLLANDDDDDDDDDDDDD.

@ Boerboel:
    rofl

Gooooooooooooo Rugby!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fokkie Sokker…. en fokkie ouens wattie Bulle issie!

Germany 1 /0 against Argentina at the moment, 59th minute

Fear us Germans 😀 4- ziltch

Superbul, dankie vir die lekker bos trip vandag, was great.

Geeeeeeeezzzzzz, another South American Team, and 2nd favourite bites the dust.

What will happen between Paraguay and Spain????

Predictions-Winners:Quarters, Semis & Finals
    Fri 2 Jul 2010, 07:25 10 comment(s) Email articleReport Abuse
    We’re now entering the finals, hurray, hurray! Who will it take it to another day? Which teams will go further and which will drop off? We’re all drawn to the Light, to the flame, like a moth.

First of all before I do our finals predictions, let me say this. Any team that has come to this point to play in the finals, hats off to you. You have come far, been through many trials, many practice sessions, injuries etc.. It has taken a lot just to get to this point, so much more than any of us (non participants) will ever know. We do appreciate your good efforts and all the hard work you have put into getting to this point. “Hats off to all of you”, even the ones who have gone home (already) earlier. You too have trained and put in strong devotion and endless hours to even enter these World Cup games. Each and every one of you are winners in the Creator’s perception; good work, all of you. Congratulations for all your positive efforts in these World Cup games. You’ve given us quite a lovely show.

Okay, without further ado, the predictions please. Do understand, that with all predictions, things can change (see the nature of predictions post of the past here & free will factor). I do feel rather strongly that these teams will go on and outperform the rest in these last stages.

Soul Whisperer’s Predictions, Finals stages:

Quarter Finals:

First we have Netherlands vs. Brazil- I see Brazil will lose some focus (and have nerves) at some points, (performing well in spurts) and Netherlands will go on.

Uruguay vs. Ghana: Ghana doesn’t believe in itself as strongly as Uruguay at this stage and level so Uruguay goes on.

On the other side of the bracket Germany vs. Argentina: I see Argentina will make some few critical mistakes and Germany will stay strong and steady; Germany going on.

Paraguay vs. Spain, Spain takes control of things early on however a strong game: in the end Spain goes on.

Semifinals:

Uruguay meeting Netherlands, Netherlands takes it, continues on to the finals.

Germany meeting Spain, Germany controls things and gets this win.

The Finals match:

Germany vs. Netherlands, Germany wins, in the end fulfilling its destiny after a very difficult year of trials. It will be a sweet victory for all on the German side. Netherlands will be happy also but wish they could have pushed a bit further in their last finals game. “Ah well. Well done.”

Right now (before midnight here on July 1st, 2010) I’m finishing up a profile/analysis on Netherlands vs. Brazil game, which I’ll post before midnight. I will also post a game/team analysis on Uruguay vs. Ghana before the game starts. I will try to post the latter at least a half hour before the players start to play.

Soul Whisperer

scarily correct so far

2-0 for Europe vs South America

Only 4 left…. 3 from Europe, 1 from South America.

…and my SuperBru is in it’s moer… hehehehe

I am making a late run at Superbru but too late, jeez we are not Soccer people, the World leaders are about 10 points ahead of EEE and i am about 10 behind her. 😆

48.33%win accuracy
    in World Cup
    Global 26,362 / 65,373
    Rugby-Talk SWC 11 / 28

Think this says it all for me, just one thing i did well so far and that was picking Germany right from the beginning.

@ superBul:29 – Super, Spain could still knock out Germany and Uruguay could also still knock out Holland. Anything can happen in this game. Only takes one point to win it. If any of the games go to penalty shoot out then it is tough on who ever losses there.

For now think it will be a German/Netherland final. I really, really hope so. What a final it will be. Both countries that are right next too each other. The Dutch really don’t like their neighbours much I can tell you they will be wanting to beat them more than any other country if they are facing Germany in the final.

We shake on it who ever wins if those countries in the final.

My support is fully behind Holland. Hope they beat those cheats from Uruguay.

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO THE MEN IN ORANGE, GOOD LUCK HOLLAND. 😀

Total 161 users including 0 member, 161 guests, 0 bot online