Springbok Jaque Fourie has been banned for four weeks for a dangerous tackle in Saturday’s 30-13 defeat to Australia, dealing another blow to South Africa’s calamitous defence of their Tri-Nations title.
The outside centre will miss two domestic Curry Cup matches and their third Tri-Nations test against New Zealand on Aug. 21 after being cited for the spear tackle on Wallabies’ number eight Richard Brown in the second minute of the Brisbane match.
Fourie, who received a four-week ban for a dangerous tackle on All Blacks centre Ma’a Nonu in last year’s campaign, was yellow carded for the offence as the world champions fell to their third defeat in three Tri-Nations matches.
Australia flyhalf Quade Cooper was also cited for a dangerous tackle, but was handed a two-week ban because of “mitigating circumstances” which included Cooper’s “good record”.
South African winger Jean de Villiers was suspended for two weeks for a dangerous tackle during the Springboks’ 31-17 defeat to New Zealand last week in Wellington, while lock Bakkies Botha was banned for nine weeks for headbutting scrumhalf Jimmy Cowan in their 32-12 loss to the All Blacks in Auckland on July 10.
NZ and Aussie have intelligent coaching that has taken the game to the next level.
They understand that the difference in international rugby is that you have to raise the bar every season, otherwise somebody else will do so and leave you behind.
So they have sharpened up on their ball retention skills, keep the ball for long periods and make the opposition tackle.
The most energy sapping job on the field is tackling.
If you make the opposition tackle long enough then sooner or later the holes open up to run at them.
This is how their coaching has responded to rugby in 2010.
As for us, we have a coach who simply talks about everything except the technique and tactics required such as above.
I feel sorry for our players.
They do not select themselves.
We have fallen behind in basic skills.
An example is at the breakdown, where the NZ and Aussie teams commit men to the breakdown together driving in at the correct low body positions, while we stand around as individuals.
It is easy to blame the players and the refs but we are now paying the price of having no rugby intellect in the coaching.
This goes right through poor selection, poor planning and the simple fact now is that we are being out brained at the coaching level and as a result out skilled and out paced on the field.
Simply put, even with the best players in the world, you cannot succeed without the best rugby brains in the world directing the team.
Until we change all 3 coaches, we will continue to stagnate.
Disgraceful really. Cooper’s tackle was worse than Fouries. They should have got the same time. Though Cooper will be out for the two games against ABs and Fourie only out for one game. Still think both should have got the same ban. Aussies will miss Cooper against the ABs in Melbourne.
ja nee jake se kalfies raak moeg die beste afrigters sit by die huis en mamparras rig die bokke af eish en ja die spear tackle storie is sommer n kak storie dis eerder laat tackles wat gevaarlik is,as jy die tackle sien kom is jy gereed daarvoor
@ tight head: 1 – Tighthead, tell me how we slipped back so quick. Most of these players played in the S14 final. In the S14 Bulls and Stormers seemed to beat just about everyone. So how did we lose pace with the New Zealand and Aussie players? How did this happen? Is it that in the S14 those players play for a franchise with better coaches or what is it? It is puzzling to see players that played so well just a few weeks back just not up to it now. Something not right.
Then there is the tiredness that comes into it. Players have been playing since Feb in the S14 without a rest. We went on to the final in the S14 with two saffa sides, where the Aussies and NZ never did. Also that very daft game against Wales, where our players had to fly out straight after the S14 final to play, then fly straight back to SA to play France the next week, then Italy twice. Maybe fatigue has set in body and mind right now. Think the players need to rest completely for 10 days not even do conditioning training just rest the body and mind. Also some need to diet during this time too before they start to train again. Then head up to the highveld and train at altitude before facing the ABs at Soccer City.
Remember we are too without Fourie du Preez, Juan Smith, JPP and Frans Steyn. Think those players are missed really bad. In 2006 we had a similar thing happen where we lost bad but we also had plenty injuries but not sure if fatigue then was the problem. This time it could be a big part of it.
ek kyk nou weer die bulls en cheetahs game en wat ek sien is wat die bokke kort intensietyd en passie kort om die bokke kort b@llas
@ Puma:4 – Tighhead add Brussow to that list of players missing from last year. That makes it 5 they had a huge difference.
Should have said (That makes it 5 that made a huge difference.
Howzit Puma.
The simple fact is that PDV did not coach any team in the S14.
Muir did, and you know what happenned there!!
Secondly S14 is not international rugby, there is a slight difference.
You can talk about player fatigue, bad reffing and anything else, but the fact is that the Bok coaching brains trust are paid to deal with all thse issues, and put a winning team onto the field that out does the All Blacks and Aussies.
That means out thinking their brains trust in how we decide to play the game.
Their coaches do not have much of a challenge in out thinking us.
They simply have decided to retain posession, speed up the game and see how we respond to that.
Of course when you decide to play the way I have described they are playing, then they prepare themselves by picking the players best suited to this game plan, and make sure they condition them for that game plan and also work very hard on the drills and exercises that allow those players to get their skills up to the level required to maintain posession.
So ask yourself:
What have we done?
Have we taken our game upwards from last year?
How quickly have we recognised the way NZ and Aussie are playing this year, and how have we responded?
Believe me, these are the key issues.
All the other talk about fatigue, refs, injuries are just excuses that cannot change these fundamental problems that boil down to poor coaching/management.
There is something serious wrong between the players and between the players and coaches.
They play selfish, do not trust each other. No self-belief which lead to poor finishing.
WO makes a great break and only has to offload to ZK on right for a try, but he prefers to take the takle => He does not trust ZK! This would never happen if they were in Blue jerseys!
There is no team here, no playing for each other… and the finger can only be pointed to one person… the coach.
As long Pietie die clown, Nakkie die Nar and Hansie die Hanswors (read Pieter de Villiers, Dick Muir and Gary Gold), coach this team… forget 2011 WC.
I read Fourie got 4 weeks because of a previous record.
Cooper got 2 weeks for no record.
S14
Countries like NZ and RSA have enough good players to make a good team in S14.
Aus does not have that pleasure. They have some very good players in each S14 team but a lot of okay players which are not enough to make a stand out team that will go all the way in S14.
When it comes to national sides the wallabies can though put a very good 30 man team…the last 7 years has seen the player bases being whittled down and important aspects being ignored i.e. scrum.
I blame Eddie Jones for this demise. This has created a scenario where juniours were preferring to go to soccer, afl and league. league was getting more exciting!!
It is good to see the wallabies front up but they are still short of experience…good to see Giteau get heaps of his flair back. Cooper has instilled that back into Giteau…its the first time in 4 years have I seen Giteau enjoy his game.
Sure it is one game but Giteau has not played this way and consistently broke the line.
Aussie do more with a narrow player base and other serious challenges to rugby union, than PDV does with one of the best player bases in world rugby.
It’s all about how you use what you have intelligently in order to get the best results.
It is time for SA to invest in a Robbie Deans type coach.
Unfortunately we are under the influence of politics at the expense of excellence, this will always put us at a disadvantage.
Is see that Jake White is interrested in coaching the Boks again, but I feel it is Heynecke Meyer’s time.
Sadly we will sit with these 3 clowns untill the RWC 2011.
And yes, we did miss Brussow – we should have Stegman there to counter Pocock.
Burger is baie gelukkig om nie weer n lang verbanning te he nie. Hy het weer iemand se oe probeer uitkrap. Die onnosele blond leer ook nie! Dieselfde met die ander senior bokke soos Fourie, De Villiers en Botha.
Let me say this first… I predicted an Ozzie win against the Bokke, I predicted a 10-point margin and close to the end it was exactly that 10 points, till the Ozzies scored that last damn try and it was converted as well.
The reasons I predicted as such are very easy:
1. I considered their loosies and our loosies and came to the conclusion that the Bokke would have less than 40% possession on the day, and it was indeed the case…. I deduced this from the simple fact that the Bokke played 2 No 8’s who both shun breakdown point and ground ball duties. As a result the Ozzmob loosies arrived 1st at almost EVERY BREAKDOWN and GROUND-BALL situation and had quick and high quality ball to run from anywhere.
2. I considered our game plan of too much aimless kicking and not placing premium value on possession… deduced from that that their dangerous runners in the Ozzie backline would launch a plethera of counter-attacks, which they duly did with great success.
3. I looked at our coaches and thought… what a cunch of bunts… and it seems to be true, does’nt it.
4. I looked at our history of ill dicilpline and thought…. there will be plenty of penalties within kicking range and maybe another yellow card or 2… and wragtig there was, and it cost us, specially the plethera of kickable penalties. One gives away many more penalties than the other team when you have a large deficit in the possession stakes, do yourselves a favour and watch out for this in the next game you watch.
In the 2nd half, when Dewald Potgieter came on to restore some balance to the Bokke loosie combination, the breakdown battle evened out significantly and as a result we fared MUCH better in the 2nd half.
Juan de Jongh also seems a better inside centre than Wynand…
Ruan Pienaar was better than Ricky Januarie was in the previous Tests…. but hey, Hougie was even better than Ruan, industrious, nuggety, getting go-forward…. rock solid.
When Morné Steyn went off and Butch came on, it was disaster, Butch all over the place out of position, Ruan had to take the kicks at goal and missed all of them….. terrible, terrible, terrible.
Regarding Mossie’s citing… Mossie, jy was lekker fokken stupid, nê! Vat jou fokken 4 weke soos ‘n blerrie fokken man! Do you see how andgry ill-dicipline makes me? The Bokke play like freegin zombies.. brainless rugby.. straight into the hands of the opposition.
Going like this we will lose 6 from 6 in the Tri-Nations this year…. thanks Snorrie, you deserve a special mention here….. from hero’s in the Super 14 to chumps in the Tri-Nations, all thanks to you and your wittless coaching team….. what a joke you are indeed, the International media is right… you are the Richard Prior of rugby.
ek stem met jou saam hougaard is n scrummie met b@lls op een stadium het hy die rook iut pocock se hande uit getrap toe die die bal probeer vashou het iets wat ruaan nie sal doen nie. de jong lyk net soveel beter as olivier op 12 meskien moet mens nou begin se dat olivier ‘n goeie s14 speler is en NIKS meer as dit nie.
ons kort n fetcher bigtime
dan vic danie spies smit was net daar maar dis al
,weet nie of hulle moeg is en of die jare nou begin wys nie,ek het op n ander post gese dat hulle soos maraton atlete raak en nou teen die wall vas gehol het en daar is NIEMAND om hulle plekke te vat nie slegs flip lyk regtig in danie en bakkies se klas,moet asb nie eers hargraves se naam noem nie
laat hulle NOU rus en speel die jonges soos flip dewald van velse(spies kan by hom gaan kyk wat agsteman spel is)of vermeulen
kry mvovo en mapoe as hy reg is dadelik in die mix
so ook daniller en sarel van die kwas
die outjies moes nou al 7 of 8 toetse gespeel het voor die w\c want ek is bevrees die ou stryd rosse is net dit nou oud en kort hulle rus anders gaan hulle useles wees volgende jaar
@ tight head:8 – Tighthead, Thanks on your views their buddy. So really it boils down to the coaches. Cause most of the team are Bulls players. They played really well in the S14 with their coach. So did the Stormers play great under AC. Also Burger not playing anything at the same level he played in the S14 and when Flo was playing he too was not playing that great.
We are stuck with these coaches bud, so maybe saru needs to get in some extra help. Remember Jake got in Eddie Jones. Also our 5 players missing from last year. We miss them. Brussow is a massive loss this year. Then of course FdP, Juan, JPP and Frans Steyn. Stegmann should have been selected to tour. Now heard he is has a bad injury. So who next for the out and out fetcher? We only then have Botes who I thought played brilliant against the Reds and Canes. Selection is key too. That is where Jake was tops. He selected very well. We have so much depth in this country it is so puzzling that we don’t bring in the players that are doing it right now.
@ grootblousmile:Gbs, Morne was not that great boet. I think he just never plays the same without FdP. Butch should have taken the kicks at posts. Anyhow that was not going to win us much. We need to be more disciplined that is costing us huge giving away silly penalties all the time and getting players in the bin for 10min is just crazy. We will always play catch up if we lose a player for 10min.
My feeling is PdV will be there until 2011 but he should drop Muir and Gold and bring in P. Rossouw from the Bulls and Proudfoot from the Stormers. I bet we would be playing far, far better. We can no longer play without a out and out fetcher. Flo never stepped up at this level. So bring in Botes for now. Brussow is out until next year and we all know that with Brussow last year we won just about every game. Stegmann has been treated bad by being overlooked he too should have been on tour that we knew Brussow was not available. We are now actually 6 players different from last year. Cause Bakkies is out too banned for 9 weeks. Forgot about Bakkies in my post above. Mention all the others so add Bakkies and we have 6 players missing. 6 Brilliant players. Then we have depth and should always select the very best.
16@ smallies72:
Hoe ons nie ‘n absolute premie kan plaas op oorheersing van die afbreekpunte nie, gaan my verstand te bowe.
Hierdie jaar is dit lankal reeds duidelik dat BALBESIT van kritiese belang is… die aanvallende span word beloon met hierdie huidige reelvertolkings….
Ek is kwaad man… voel of ek iemand in die tools wil skop!
… en nou is ek nog meer de moer in… my Handbriekie is Lughawe toe, vlieg oor 3 minute Kaapstad toe vir 3 nagte, freegin Medi24 konferensies Maandag en Dinsdag en vlieg eers Woendsag terug, so ek slaap alleen… en wanneer dit gebeur beteken dit net 1 ding, ek slaap woes kak en werk dan maar altyd tot in die oggend-ure…. eishhhhhhhhhhhh
@ grootblousmile:17 gbs, To be honest Kanko was better than Spies yesterday, but they are similar and it was never ever going to work playing the two of them together. Kanko should have started a 8. Burger at 7 and Potties at 6. Or the otherway round. Potties at 7 and Burger at 6. We need a out and out fetcher for the remaining home games.
So many just never played well yesterday. We had some chances but never took them. Zane should have passed to Aplon and that was a definite try. He went on his on going inside. On their line we took the scrum instead of the lineout where I feel we could have got a push over try. Or should have taken the 3 points.
Players are also very tired. We have played far more than them really. With us having two teams in the S14 and that daft game we had to fly off to play in Wales. A load of rubbish that. The very week straight after the S14. Then fly straight back home to play the French. Far, far too much on the players bodies. They need rest now more than training.
groot legende op all out rugby gewees nou joggie jansen moet se hy praat sence volgens hom moet die bokke besliut of hulle wil wen en dan speel asof hulle actually wil wen
19@ Puma:
I never indicated Kanko was the problem… the problem lay in the COMBINATION of ineffective players for the breakdown-situations.
Neither Spies or Kanko are breakdown masters, but rather just strike runners who shun the hard graft in the trenches.
I said before the Test that this would be the problem and suggested a loosie combo of Schalla, Francois Louw and Dewald at No 8… with none of the 3 shunning the hard graft. We would have had so much more possession in the 1st half….
Anyway, John Smit is also past it, both as a player and as a captain.
Gio Aplon was nowhere yesterday, was disapointed in him.
We can change as many players as we like, but if we cannot match the pace and skill levels of the opposition as well as a well thought out game plan, then we are not capable of winning.
Add to this the fracturing that starts to happen in a team that starts losing, and then is the time that an excellent coach comes into his own.
So have we got an excellent coach, who can out think the opposition and hold the respect of the players so that they play for their coach in a plan that he gives them that they believe in?
I know the answer!!
I wonder if SARU do!!
@ grootblousmile:21 – Gbs, I know the combination of Spies and Kanko was not good. I said so in my posts here ALL WEEK!! Look just about all the players on tour were not up to it. Not single one of them. Most of this team are Bulls buddy and Stormers though Bulls have far more starting than Bulls. THOSE players all need plenty rest and you will see the diference. Also we just never ever play the same without FdP or Juan and Brussow. Those players are missed the most.
Now listeing to (All Out Rugby) see they will have a rest then head up to Joburg to train for a week!!!!!!!!!! That is no good really. They need to be up there for at least 2 weeks to get altitude conditioned otherwise our big weapon altitude will mean zip. Boks have almost a 4 week break now. I would say rest totally for 10 days then head up to Joburg or Pretoria to train. That would leave them just over 2 and a half weeks training at altitude.
@ tight head:22 – Tighthead, Agree there. WE need to do something about the coaches. I don’t think PdV will go before next years world cup. But why can’t Muir and Gold be dropped? Get in P. Rossouw from the Bulls who has done a brilliant job there and maybe Proudfoot from the Stormers. Also everyother person we need to help PdV. Jake had it down to every single little detail, even getting in that eye coach.
Okay out of here now. Cheers all. One thing I know it is a damn loud noise and no-one can hear the calls but at Soccer City we should have allowed the Vuvuzelas. WE have to face the Haka why not allow the Vuvuzelas now that we are playing in Soweto? I know I would….hehehe. This is our home and we should be allowed to do what we want here. Cause I see NZ and OZ banned them there don’t mean we have to follow them too. We should have allowed vuvus at Soccer City.. 😀
Catch up later or tomorrow.
23@ Puma:
Half the Bokke squad will REST up here on the Highveld, so not much of a problem.
The other problems run deeper… selection, game plan, motivation, mental readyness, coaching.
Coaches will stay, all of the bloody useless ID TEN T’s, till after a bloody shitty World Cup for us next year.
I recon we won’t see the semi’s next year at RWC in NZ.
Ek dink dieselfde rigting as grootblousmile, hierdie 4 jaar tot en met 2011 RWC moet nou maar verby gaan en dan kan ons weer ernstig begin raak oor springbok rugby.
Troos julle self daaraan dat ons ten minste n’ Tri Nation Trophy at PDV gekry het, om eerlik te wees dit is meer as wat ek oorspronklik verwag het.
Laat Godswater oor Gods akker loop, en bly maar kalm totdat dit verby is. Hopelik het die politici nou hulle sin gekry, en kan ons n’ ordentlike coach kry in 2012.
Ek sê dit al lankal, die Bokke sal oneglukkig eers ‘n paar games moet verloor voor ons veranderinge gaan sien. Ongelukkig hou ons Bok supporters f@kkol van verloor nie!! Ek sal nog vir Peter Div ‘n kans gee, maar daai twee hulpafrigters van hom kan nou maar gaan klippe kap in die Caprivi!! My voorstel is om die Bulle se agterlyn afrigter en die WP se voorspeler afrigter in hul plekke aan te stel. Kry dan ook die ou in wat die Stormers gehelp het om een van die beste verdedigennde spanne in S14 rugby te word.
Stel dan vir Peter ‘n ordentlike, nie polities gedrewe spanbestuurder aan wat die media konferensies kan hanteer sodat Peter en sy afrigtingspan op rugby kasn konsentreer.
Barney kort dringend ‘n stywe oefenprogram om hom weer in shape te kry en ek is seker dat as hy minder moet probeer verduidelik dat ons afrigter nie ‘n nar is nie en dat die span nie ‘n klomp vuilgatte is nie sal hy ook beter speel.
@kingpaul netso mnr stem saam met joi volkome
Op die einde van die dag is dit net ‘n game.
Jeepers maar jy is ‘n doemprofeet!!!!!
They need to get rid of Helium, Tricky Dicky and goue Gertjie a.s.a.p. They need to drop John Smit and get a new captain in NOW, enough time before the World Cup and they need to sort out the player selections……the mechanic must not be allowed near a green jersey again etc….
Total 138 users including 0 member, 138 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,256,919 Page Impressions