All Blacks (13) 31 / Springboks (7) 17 (Final Score)
The All Blacks hosted the Springboks at 09:35 SA Time in Wellington, New Zealand for the 2nd Tri-Nations Test. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The Game was broadcast live on SuperSport 1 on DSTV in SA.
For the 2nd weekend in a row the All Blacks score 4 tries against the Springboks to earn a bonus point.
This time the All Blacks win by 31 / 17, a 14 point margin.
Lots of complaints about they way the referee handled the game, but let’s be honest, the All Blacks were the better team on the day again.
Let’s hope Ruan Pienaar now gets a starting berth against the Wallabies and BJ Botha plays at tight head prop. Let’s also hope the National Coach realises that Jean de Villiers is not a right wing.
All Blacks: 2 Penalties & 1 Conversion Dan Carter, 1 Penalty Piri Weepu, 1 Try Ma’a Nonu, 1 Try Mils Muliaina, 1 Try Rene Ranger, 1 Try Israel Dagg
Springboks: 2 Conversions & 1 Penalty Morné Steyn, 1 Try Danie Rossouw, 1 Try Schalk Burger
The teams:
New Zealand: 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Rene Ranger, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Tom Donnelly, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 Corey Flynn, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Sam Whitelock, 19 Liam Messam, 20 Jimmy Cowan, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Israel Dagg.
South Africa: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Jean de Villiers, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wynand Oliver, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 BJ Botha, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Butch James, 22 Gio Aplon.
Date: Saturday, July 17
Kick-off: 19.35 (07.35 GMT; 09.35 SA time)
Venue: Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Expected weather conditions: 40% chance of rain with a high of 12°C, dropping to 5°C and a southeaster of 36 km/h.
Referee: Alain Rolland (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Alan Lewis (Ireland), Stuart Dickinson (Australia)
TMO: Glenn Newman (New Zealand)
From super14 champs to chumps gbs
Rene Ranger should be off after that shoulder charge on Zane. How can the ref allow that? Was told by the assistant and he just lets Ranger off with it.
NZ 13 / Bokke 7
Try Danie. Thank goodness.
Hold your horses people it ain’t over.
They have to drop the kick and chase game until FDP is back…play the blacks at their own game.Cant see us winn this otherwise
on the scoreboard at last (phew)
weather playing much of a part, GBS? ABs running into the wind or against it in first half???
Hell’s teeth, if this is the passion between them while they are supporting the same side, imagine the kak when the Bulls play the WP.
John Smit is not what he used to be, his tackling is terrible, his work on the ground not up to par.
Penalty NZ, Carter going for posts.
YesYes!!!
Howzit RT’s?
I am back, and it is nice to see all you old mates across the globe.
Thanks for removing Super’s comment, Gbs.
Carter misses…. lemoenetyd
G’day Pietman, long time no see??? Glad you’re back . . .
Folks, don’t feed the Wezwp monkey.
Oraait dis seker nie te bad vir halftyd nie.
Another miss by Carter. Not kicking well. Has let us off the hook a bit.
JdV should be dropped. Hope he is not selected for the home games. Hope Aplon comes on after the break.
Weather not really in anybody’s favour… NZ handling it better
101@ Pietman:
Hellooooooooooooooo
So you got your PC’s back from your son?
@ grootblousmile:108 – Gbs have you caught my typo bug?…hehehehe Weater????????? hehehehehe
after 40 m of watching one of the biggest oscar winning whinging over reacting cheats in world rugby (McCaw of course), we are again up against it, playing 16 men, not 15. And only on NewZealand soil will an All Black NOT get a yellow card for blatantly shoulder charging an opponent. But Pakslae get a yellow for tapping the cheat on the head??? WTFFFF???
How the flipping hell can the IRB get TWO Irishrefs who’s NEVER in in the international circuit blown games on the new rules to blow in these games???
Sounds like conditions may not suit little Aplon mate, but I’d sure give him a go in the second half, I like his style and pace!
@ Pietman:101 – Piet, Howzit where have you been? Hope you blog more from now on.
Hello Pietman!
110@ Puma:
Where????
Hahahahaha
@ fender:
sorry, for harsh response.
All the commentators share my view of the ref. Even the studio presenters.
Chosen, ek stem. Ma ons het met baie swak spel weggekom. Vic missie eeste kick-off ma Danie kry sy skoppie in, RJ skop possesion weg en Mils score, ouens val vannie tackles af. Ons soeke regruk.
@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:112 – OldG, He plays in the Cape in plenty wet weather there. He has plenty heart and guts. Gets through the defence with ease too. I would rather he played now than JdV. Who I think should never have got selected for this squad. Should have played his way back in. Also we have G.Van der Heever from the Bulls. Not sure if he is injured or just never got selected. He is way better playing wing. But I really like Aplon. Also at the Sharks we have Mvovo big strong and I feel would also have been far better than JdV. Ruan should have played scrummie too.
Yellow cost us 13 points….
Bokke are doing all wrong that I warned against in the Preview Thread.
@ grootblousmile:115 – Skelm….hehehe. You changed it. 😆
Total 179 users including 0 member, 179 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,266,781 Page Impressions