Wallabies (16) 22 / Ireland (15) 15 (Final Score)
The Wallabies hosted Ireland at the Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane at 12:05 SA Time. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1 on DSTV in SA.
In a frustrating game to watch, the Wallabies ground out a win against an off-beat Irish side, winning 22 / 15.
Wallabies: 2 Penalties & 1 Try Quade Cooper, 2 Penalties Matt Giteau, 1 Try Luke Burgess
Ireland: 5 Penalties Johnathan Sexton
Australia: 15 James O’Connor, 14 Drew Mitchell, 13 Rob Horne, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Richard Brown, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom (captain), 5 Mark Chisholm, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Salesi Ma’afu, 2 Saia Faingaa, 1 Ben Daley.
Replacements: 16 Huia Edmonds, 17 James Slipper, 18 Mitchell Chapman, 19 Matt Hodgson, 20 Josh Valentine, 21 Berrick Barnes, 22 Kurtley Beale.
Ireland: 15 Robert Kearney, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Brian O’Driscoll (captain), 12 Paddy Wallace, 11 Andrew Trimble, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Tomas O’Leary, 8 Chris Henry, 7 Shane Jennings, 6 Niall Ronan, 5 Mick O’Driscoll, 4 Donncha O’Callaghan, 3 Tony Buckley, 2 Sean Cronin, 1 Cian Healy
Replacements: 16 Damien Varley, 17 Tom Court, 18 Dan Tuohy, 19 Rhys Ruddock, 20 Eoin Reddan, 21 Ronan O’Gara, 22 Geordan Murphy
Date: Saturday, June 26
Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Kick-off: 20.05 AEST (12.05 SA Time)
Referee: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Wayne Barnes (England), Chris Pollock (New Zealand)
Ozzie gets a penalty and Giteau slots it.
Wallabies 19 / 15
BOD is having a poor game.
60@ Loosehead:
What do you make of the Ozzie frailty in the scrums against England?
I think we must target the farkers there when we play them
Stop start, stop start…
Very uninspiring game
Ozzies a few metres out, this is better rugby
Penalty Ozzie, right in front.
Giteau slots this one
Ozzie 22 / 15
Game can end like this, I have Ozzies by 7 on Bru.
Scrums should be used to attack more. For too long we have been happy with parity. Target the Wallabies scrum and put pressure on their backline.
68@ Loosehead:
Agree
I had the Micks by 3.
I wonder if all teams show the Aussie forwards too much respect?
Ozzies now doing well…. and as I say that they hold onto the ball on the ground
71@ Loosehead:
Yip, specially in the front rows…. they’re week there man.
Their loossies also don’t have the same grunt without Waugh or George Smith on the ground.
Is Gert Smal still involved with the Irish pack?
I recon the Springboks will really bliksem the Itais today, there’s more seasoned combo’s in the Bokke team this week, whereas the Itais have given all their fringe players a run this week.
74@ Loosehead:
Yes, I saw him amongst the coaching staff earlier.
My Luxembourgish visitor just walked out the room. He says that this game is about as interesting as watching the Poms in the SWC.
77@ Loosehead:
Fokken Soccer ondersteuner…. hehehee
The Sharks should try to get Smal in place of Plumtree.
79@ Loosehead:
Plum is a solid guy…. no nonsense in the Interviews either.
Sharks were just hit with injuries pre-Super 14… they ended well though, 7 wins from last 8.
Bliksem but I don’t understand that game. He was telling me what a great game it was between Brazil and Porragul. What was the score? 0-0.
Surfer dude misses a penalty, still 7 points in it.
81@ Loosehead:
I think I’ve had my fill of soccer for a few years….
Yip, how can a 0 / 0 score be a good game??
WTF!!
Just more than a minute to go….
I dunno GBS. I just think that they are always under performing under him.
Scrum Wallabies… will this be the last move… looks like it
Penalty Ozzie, they kick out… and win by exactly 7
Heeeeeeeeeee haaaaaaaaaa
Well that’s it for this game.
85@ Loosehead:
Sharks backline is the problem…. not too much happening at flyhalf and in midfield.
My summation of this game…. Ozzie still only average against an Irish side who cannot offer much at the moment.
Total 99 users including 0 member, 99 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,263,669 Page Impressions