Wales (16) 31 / Springboks (14) 34 (Final Score)
Wales hsted the Springboks at the Millennium Stadium, Cardiff at 15:30 SA Time. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1 on DSTV in SA.
Wales started the match fast, racing into an early lead and after an intercept try by James Hook from a wayward John Smit pass, went into a 16 / 3 lead. The Springboks fought back and some of the new combinations started to gel and by halftime the score was Wales 16 / Bokke 14.
After halftime the Springboks continues their mid match dominance, adding another converted try and grabbing the lead, now leading by 21 / 16. It was Wales next to score from a penalty, drawing the SA lead back to only 2 points.
Frans Steyn then slotted a long penalty from near halfway, causing the Springboks to lead by 24 / 19. Next it was the try by Juan de Jongh, which carved the Welsch fedence to ribbons, for the Bokke to sail into a lead of 31 / 19.
The Welsch were not finished though and capitalised on some hurried Springbok replacements, adding 1 unconverted try and 1 converted try to the lone penalty by the Springboks, bringing the final score to Springboks 34 / Wales 31.
Wales: 3 Penalties & 2 Conversion Stephen Jones, 1 Drop Goal & 1 Try James Hook, 1 Try Tom Prydie, 1 Try Alun Wyn Jones
Springboks: 4 Penalties & 2 Conversions Ruan Pienaar, 1 Penalty Frans Steyn, 1 Try Odwa Ndungane, 1 Try Dewald Potgieter, 1 Try Juan de Jongh
Wales: 15 Lee Byrne, 14 Leigh Halfpenny, 13 James Hook, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Tom Prydie, 10 Stephen Jones, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Ryan Jones (captain), 7 Sam Warburton, 6 Jonathan Thomas, 5 Deiniol Jones, 4 Bradley Davies, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Matthew Rees, 1 Paul James.
Replacements: 16 Huw Bennett, 17 John Yapp, 18 Alun Wyn Jones, 19 Rob McCusker, 20 Richie Rees, 21 Dan Biggar, 22 Andrew Bishop.
South Africa: 15 Frans Steyn, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Juan de Jongh, 11 Odwa Ndungane, 10 Ruan Pienaar, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Joe van Niekerk, 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 François Louw, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 BJ Botha, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 CJ van der Linde.
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Meyer Bosman, 21 Zane Kirchner, 22 Bjorn Basson.
Date: Saturday, 5 June 2010
Kick-off: 14.30 (13.30 GMT; 15.30 SA time)
Venue: Millennium Stadium, Cardiff
Expected weather: Sunny intervals. High of 21°C, low of 11°C
Referee: Alan Lewis (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Dave Pearson (England), Robin Goodliffe (England)
TMO: Jim Yuille (Scotland)
Where is Puma ?
Come boys,lets get some points on the board.
Wales 6 / 3
6-3
Boks on the board. Nice one Ruan keep em going over.
Thats a good question,where is Puma???
Lucky that went through, else things would have got a lot wose.
Fark, penalty Wales, from the kick-off
@ Treehugger:
91 – Treehugs, I am here. Just that my tv is not in my study…hehehe.
Wales 9 / 3
Another bullshit Penalty. BOOOOOOO.
Hello Puma, didnt see you, was wondering where you were.
Did his mother not give him enough attention as a child.
We need to get into this game.
Fuck no!
Aggggggg flok… intercept James Hook… try
Oh my God,this is going Pear shaped in a hurry..
Wales 16 / 3
Eish this is badddddddddddddd, guys must wake up.
13 points behind,can we come back from this?
Bugger, daft pass there by John and away they go for a intercept try. DAMN.
hel daai as nou kak
Penalty Bokke…. going for posts
John,dont try skip passes again bud 🙂
Wales 16 / 6
Should just have taken our best side. Not good this. They will always say they beat the Boks not the Boks 2nd side. Damn why did we have to have a test only a week after the S14 final.
Boks wake up.
Wish he would kick them that they went through the middle not near the uprights, very nerve wracking
If you wonder why things is not running smooth just look who is sitting next to Peter de Villiers.
pienaar skop ok nou moet ons net WAKKER skrik
@ Treehugger:
102 – Hugs, I am here and not very happy 😯 mad actually that we have to play this test. Now with a team that is not game ready really.
Daft pass there by John too. Hope we can come back from that.
Total 133 users including 0 member, 133 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,334,901 Page Impressions