Springboks (22) 29 / Azuri (3) 13 (Final Score)
The Springboks hosted the Italian Azuri team at Witbank, Mpumalanga, South Africa at 15:00 SA Time. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The game was broadcast live on SuperSport 1 on DSTV in SA.
The Springboks won convincingly but rhytm lacked in the 2nd half, specially when too many subs came on.
The most pleasing part of the game was that the Springboks dominated the scrums where Gurthro Steenkamp clearly mastered Martin Castrogiovanni and his replaceent after he went off injured.
Players who enhanced their Springbok futures were Gurthro Steenkamp, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Francois Louw, Dewald Potgieter, Morné Steyn and Zane Kirchner.
Players who did not enhance their Springbok futures were Butch James (who was also awarded a yellow card), Ricky Januarie & Alistair Hargreaves.
The Springboks ran in 4 tries to 1 and the final score was Springboks 29 / 13.
Springboks: 1 Penalty & 3 Conversions & 1 Try Morné Steyn, 1 Try Bryan Habana, 1 Try Francois Louw, 1 Try Zane Kirchner
Azuri: 2 Penalties & 1 Conversion Mirco Bergamasco, 1 Try Sergio Parisse
South Africa: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jean de Villiers, 12 Butch James, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 François Louw, 5 Victor Matfield (captain), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Bjorn Basson.
Italy: 15 Luke McLean, 14 Kaine Robertson, 13 Andrea Masi, 12 Matteo Pratichetti, 11 Mirco Bergamasco, 10 Craig Gower, 9 Tito Tebaldi, 8 Sergio Parisse (Captain), 7 Alessandro Zanni, 6 Simone Favaro, 5 Quintin Geldenhuys, 4 Valerio Bernabò, 3 Martin Castrogiovanni, 2 Leonardo Ghiraldini 1 Salvatore Perugini.
Replacements: 16 Fabio Ongaro, 17 Lorenzo Cittadini, 18 Marco Bortolami, 19 Paul Derbyshire, 20 Simon Picone, 21 Riccardo Bocchino, 22 Gonzalo Canale.
Date: Saturday, June 19
Venue: Puma Stadium, Witbank
Kick-off: 15.00 (13.00 GMT)
Expected weather conditions: Clear with a high of 13°C, dropping to 0°C and enough wind to take the windchill temperature down to -2°C.
Referee: Andrew Small (England)
Assistant referees: Keith Brown (New Zealand), David Changleng (Scotland)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)
Gooooooooooooooooooo Bokkeeeeeeeeee!!
GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO BOKKEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
About an hour to go to the Bokke game
Okay have my Scots visitors here now for a week. So off to braai. We had the most fantastic time this morning down at the beach with the Dutch football supporters. There were thousands and thousands of Dutch supporters down there. Singing and dancing the whole morning to all the Dutch music. A stage was set up just for them and their supporters and their music. I knew most of it so could join in. Was brilliant.
Now off to get the braai ready.
GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO BOKKEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
Good luck to Holland in their football game today too.
Ahhhhh…………..Now to see a proper champion rugby team in action!!
GOOOOOOOOO BOKKEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
gbs, This new font is kak boeta. I now have to wear my reading glasses to read the posts.. hehehehe. Print way, way too small.
Okay back to the visitors.
Enjoy the rugby and football everyone.
6@ Puma:
I have not changed the FONT at all…. hehehe
Really, I mean it!
Get new glasses!
i was waiting for your answer, i did not see any change. Maybe that Hollanders gave him something to drink
8@ superBul:
Puma raak nou moer oud… hahaha
Eat some carrots puma, I hear they are good for poor eyesight!
Netherland 1-0 Japan
61 min
Teams running out, Victor won the toss and I think he chose which way to play first and receive the kickoff from the Azuri.
Moer daai man kan sing
Mordor Test… nearly underway.
Stand up for Nkosi Sikilel’
Witbank kook
Game on…. immediately Italy in front of kicker.
Scrum!
Very good scrum on Gurthro’s side!!
Heeeeee haaaaa
Dewald Potgieter has put in quite a few tackles already.
Gurthro scrumming Castrogiovanni futtup!!
Penalty Bokke!
Dag boere….kan sien Os doen sy werk met die voorspelers
Bakkies is all fired up early on.
Come Bokke, get out your half!!
19@ bos_otter:
Dag Os-Botter!
Castrogiovanni already injured… heheehe
Italy running hard near the Bokke line, penalty Italy, in front of posts, Butch was off-side
Azuri 3 / 0
Penalty taken by Mirco Bergamasco
Penalty Bokke, also right in front on 22m line
3 / 3
Morné Steyn slots it
Italy defense rock solid. Very dangerous at the breakdowns too….nice to see them play well
Tryyyyyyyyyyyyyy Habana
Great grubber through by Kirchner!
Bokke 10 / 3
Total 108 users including 0 member, 108 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,333,456 Page Impressions