Springboks (25) 42 / France (10) 17 (Final score)
The Springboks hosted France at Newlands, Cape Town at 14:00 SA Time. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1 on DSTV in SA.
The Springboks came with a top game and stifled all French attempts early, also scored a try early (after 2 minutes by Pierre Spies) and then built up a solid lead.
The French never gave up and in the scrums they were strong, specially against BJ Botha ( SA Tighthead).
The Springboks finally won by 42 / 17, which must be one of the biggest Springbok wins (not the biggest though) over France.
Gio Aplon was rewarded with 2 tries and because of that received the Man of the Match award. Other standout players for the Springboks were Danie Rossouw and Francois Louw.
Springboks: 3 Conversions & 3 Penalties Morné Steyn, 1 Conversion Ruan Pienaar, 1 Try Pierre Spies, 2 Tries Gio Aplon, 1 Try Gürthro Steenkamp, 1 Try Francois Louw
France: 1 Conversion & 1 Penalty Morgan Parra, 1 Conversion David Skrela, 1 Try Aurélien Rougerie, 1 Try Marc Andreu
South Africa: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 François Louw, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 BJ Botha, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Gürthro Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Dewald Potgieter, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Jean de Villiers
France: 15 Clement Poitrenaud, 14 Vincent Clerc, 13 David Marty, 12 Maxime Mermoz, 11 Aurélien Rougerie, 10 François Trinh-Duc, 9 Morgan Parra, 8 Julien Bonnaire, 7 Wenceslas Lauret, 6 Thierry Dusautoir (captain), 5 Romain Millo-Chluski, 4 Lionel Nallet, 3 Nicolas Mas, 2 Dimitri Szarzewski, 1 Thomas Domingo.
Replacements: 16 Guilhem Guirado, 17 Jean Baptiste Poux, 18 Julien Pierre, 19 Louis Picamoles, 20 Dimitri Yachvili, 21 David Skrela, 22 Marc Andreu, 23 Luc Ducalcon.
Date: Saturday, June 12
Venue: Newlands
Kick-off: 14.00 (12.00 GMT)
Expected weather conditions: Scattered clouds. with a high of 17°C and a northwester of 21 km/h. The possibility of rain in the evening.
Referee: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Keith Brown (New Zealand), David Changleng (Scotland)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)
Just one week ago I was watching the Boks….Much closer match against the Welsh!!
More tension then…..
We have hammered these clowns.. Tops 🙂
Try for France
Good try that for the French.
Bokke 42 / 17
remember how well the Yanks did last year in the Confed Cup. Dont know. But i will hold thumbs for the Queeens boys.
come on guys one more try
Hooter has gone, Bokke hot on attack…. and Habana kicks it out
Game over
Bokke win by 42 / 17
So are these the same players that won the 6 nations ?????????
Well done boys. We played like Champions 🙂
My MOM Danie, Pakslae , Roussouuuuwwwww
Thanks Superbul….
Well done the Boks…another win under your belts, what a great team.
Byeeeeeeeeeeeeee All
AND GO ENGLAND against the yanks tonight.
Mooi, nou kan die A-span rus, en kan ons die B-span laat speel teen Italië, met Bakkies die kaptein …
Two players who could get Man of the Match would be Francois Louw (my choice) or Danie Rossouw
@ Treehugger:
No they missed about 6 of the best. Did we miss Bakkies? I would even be so brave and say we did not miss FdP either. Although he would be even more devastating in a game like this.
But the Mechanic was great today. That Hammies is doing it for him. 😆
Stuff to do, just had to watch that game.
Party tonight to watch our English Football team…Hope we do not fall flat on our faces in the first match.
See you all, have a great weekend, and enjoy the sight and feel of your Nation pulling together.
Well done Bokke 😀
Gio Aplon was the choice for Man of the Match… well deserved… 2 tries for him.
Great win, Boks!!! Good to win against the French again – I was gatvol of losing against the Nandos. Bad day for Snor’s selection naysayers with many of his questionable selections rewarding the coach’s faith with outstanding games. My man of the match goes to Pakslae who many know to be too old/ too slow/ too light for a no 4 lock.
Lyk my die gaping tussen Noord en Suid word al groter … en ek bedoel nou nie net die S14 in SA nie … 😀
Well, 3 wins from 3 for the Southern Hemisphere
Well done All Blacks
Well done Wallabies
Well done Bokke
Southern Hemisphere clearly rule!
Tonight there is still Argentina vs Scotland…
Oh, and to just rub salt into the wounds, the NZ Maori team beat the BaaBaas
Dink Asterix moet die eerste toets teen Italie sy B-span speel, en dan in die 2de toets die A span wat hy na die 3N wil vat.
Veral Vic moet rus volgende week.
Italy fields a good forwards pack but not too much at the back.
Care must be taken that we do not select too light a forwards pack.
The Wallabies battled most of the Southern Hemisphere teams today… mostly due to their front row, expect to see some old-timers back in the front row next week.
Two quick wickets for Morkel against WI, they are 9/2
207@ superBul:
Flok, daar’s nou baie sport om te kyk… hehehehe
Lekker ne.
Argentinia 1-0 Nigeria, after 18 minutes
As Snorre vir Bekker uit die parkie kan kry, kan hy en Bakkies volgende week die slotpaar wees, met Flippie op die bank. Vic en Danie kan so bietjie rus.
Total 168 users including 0 member, 168 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,331,457 Page Impressions