Australia (14) 49 / Fiji (3) 3 (Final Score)

The Wallabies hosted Fiji at Canberra Stadium, Canberra at 11:40 SA Time. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The game was broadcast live on SuperSport 1 on DSTV in SA.

The Wallabies won, like expected, by 49 / 3, scoring 7 tries in he process.

Wallabies: 6 Conversions Matt Giteau, 1 Conversion & 1 Try Quade Cooper, 2 Tries Kurtley Beale, 1 Try Richard Brown, 2 Tries Digby Ioane, 1 Try Drew Mitchell

Fiji: 1 Penalty Dan Rawaqa

Australia: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Digby Ioane, 13 Rob Horne, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Richard Brown, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom (captain), 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Salesi Ma’afu, 2 Huia Edmonds, 1 Ben Alexander.
Replacements: 16 Saia Faingaa, 17 Pekahou Cowan, 18 Mark Chisholm, 19 Matt Hodgson, 20 Josh Valentine, 21 Drew Mitchell, 22 James O’Connor.

Fiji: 15 Dan Rawaqa, 14 Jim Nagusa, 13 Saula Radidi, 12 Rupeni Caucaunibuca, 11 Sireli Bobo, 10 Waisea Luveniyali, 9 Emosi Vucago, 8 Jone Qovu, 7 Jim Nakaidawa, 6 Anthony Wise, 5 Dominiko Waqaniburotu, 4 Seko Kalou, 3 Deacon Manu, 2 Talemaitoga Tuapati, 1 Campese Ma’afu.
Replacements: 16 Vili Veikoso, 17 Graham Dewes, 18 Rupeni Nasiga, 19 Samu Bola, 20 Vitori Buatava, 21 Ropate Ratu, 22 Nemani Nadolo.

Date: Saturday, June 5
Venue: Canberra Stadium, Canberra
Kick-off: 19.40 (09.40 GMT)
Expected weather: Cloudy. High of 15°C, low of 4°C
Referee: Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Keith Brown (New Zealand), Vinny Munro (New Zealand)
TMO: Matt Goddard (Australia)

67 Responses to Australia vs Fiji – Game Thread

VRYSTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!

Australia is spelt wrong on the name of the thread 🙂

G’day Winston. Are you able to watch the game live where you are???

Puma ahh, the white sands of Mauritius, and by now you should be packed and heading to Umhlanga???

Interesting aside: Old Griqua sponsored a Fijian player to the local rugby club in around 2003-04. Set him and his family up in a house and provided a car for transport. That player was a former Waratah at the back-end of his career. His name: SAM DOMONI – Sam is now head coach of Fiji. You never know what’s around the corner, do you . . .

Go the Wallabies!!!!!!!!!!!

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney: 4 – OldG. Yip holiday over. Was fantastic. 10 days is just far too short, but a great break. Really lovely and relaxing there. Now so hectic. Have the packers coming on Monday and head off to Umhlanga on Wednesday. Damn one collects junk of the years……hehehe. Almost threw out half the house…..hahaha. Now just taking what I want. Throwing out most of the stuff up here.

How you doing my friend? Hope well. Think Wallabies going to be far, far too strong today. Looking forward to seeing Cooper at FH and Gits at inside centre. Pity Genia is injured. Think Wallabies going to do well this year.

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney: 5 – OldG, You done that? Good on you mate. Just shows you never know what we have. You gave him a good start there.

Hi Old,yeah I live in Jhb so am able to 🙂

Helloooooooooooooo, Gooooooooooo Fiji!!

Fark, I just received the news that I’ll miss almost half of the 2nd half of the Bokke game….

…eishhhhhhh, luckily there’s PVR Recordings…..

Grrrrrrr

GBS – I’m beginning to spot a trend with you mate . . .

11@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
    Saw you up there… thought I would solicit a comment… hehehe

PS! I was joking, just want to see good rugga!

Oldie, good on you for sponsoring Sam Domoni.

Tryyyyyyyyyy Beale!!

GBS – Wallas look rusty so far; Fiji looking focused. I have a soft spot for them and Sam Domoni. The 2m tall smiling assassin . . .

As I speak, Beale scores after a scintillating Cooper cut out pass……

Hey, I sponsor all sorts of players, from everywhere, so it’s nought special – for the love of the game.

Glad to see Sam doing well, he’s a great fellow, you would all appreciate his special laughing personality, I’m sure.

13@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
    In general I have a soft spot for all the Island Nations… Fiji, Tonga, Samoa… they have very little money but some great “man-eating” monster athletes.

Ozzie’s going to klap this Fiji team with a huge score…..

My Bru says Ozzie by 40

Hallo GBS and all the rest.

With some refinement in coaching and some resources these Islanders would have been a huge rugby power….

I hate the Aussie commentators.

19@ superBul:
    Hello tjom, na hierdie game moet ons bitjie na daai Neukenaar van jou loer…

20@ grootblousmile:
    not while the NZers keep poaching their players.

Jis die ding maak alle blogging nag, die heel tyd is die groot blou Virus infection Alert window oop voor my

The Fijians, Samoans and Tongans are all these muscle-bound athletes… naturally and genetically gifted…

24@ superBul:
    Notebook of een van die 2 groot PC’s??

13@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
    In general I have a soft spot for all the Island Nations… Fiji, Tonga, Samoa… they have very little money but some great “man-eating” monster athletes.

GBS I can say that I’m travelling to Fiji in the next few weeks to offer them a funding package from our consortium; sort of a quid pro quo. They need our support and I want to build houses in Fiji; we have to play them in the 15 man game and treat them well, in spite of their Govt’s actions. They have a great rugby tradition. I hope I can convince their officials as to the benefits – we’ll see and I’ll let you know.
    Aust Govt doesn’t recognise their diplomats because of the coup.

My main komper , het nog nooit moeilikheid met hom gehad nie

Donner, I’m still sitting with a nasty head cold…. drinking Med-Lemon and all sorts of shit to counter the effects….

Everything I eat tastes like nothing, can’t smell or taste properly…

Total 197 users including 0 member, 197 guests, 0 bot online