Semi Finals | ||||
Date | Team A | Score | Team B | Venue |
17 June 2010 | Australia | 28-16 | England | Estadio El Coloso del Parque, Rosario |
17 June 2010 | New Zealand | 36-7 | South Africa | Estadio El Coloso del Parque, Rosario |
The SA Under-20s will be focused on booking their place in a first ever IRB Junior World Championship final when they take on the Baby Blacks in the second semi-final on Thursday which will be played in Rosario at 21:30 SA time.
New Zealand are the reigning Under-20 champions and recorded their second title in Japan last year following their 44-28 victory over England. They won the 2008 World Championship in Wales. The Baby Boks on the other hand conceded two semi-final defeats in those tournaments, both against England.
“A South African side has never played in an Under-20 World Championship final and that should be enough motivation for the boys,” said SA Under-20 vice-captain and scrumhalf Louis Schreuder.
“The guys were disappointed with the defeat against Australia, but we’re a close group of guys who believe we can turn things around in the semi-finals.
“It’s going to be a huge game on Thursday, as New Zealand ended the Pool phase of the tournament as the leading team in the competition. With that in mind, we don’t need any further reminding of how big this game is going to be.
“New Zealand are a classy side, but we going to focus on our things and how we want to play the game. We were guilty of making a couple of errors in the Australia game, but our intentions are to play and to stick to our systems and structures that successfully saw us defeat Scotland (73-0) and Tonga (40-14).”
The Baby Boks arrived in the Argentinean city of Rosario on Monday evening and will start their on-field training for Thursday’s semi-final on Tuesday. South Africa lost 42-35 to Australia in their final Pool C game in Sante Fe on Sunday.
Only SA Under-20 captain CJ Stander, Sampie Mastriet and Kene Okafor have previously competed in an IRB Junior World Championship semi-final. All three players though were part of the Baby Boks’ 41-20 defeat to England in Tokyo last year. In that particular game, Stander was one of South Africa’s try-scorers.
“This is definitely the biggest game I have ever been involved in and I am seriously looking forward to the challenge of playing against New Zealand. It’s a big game for us.” said Schreuder.
“As a rugby player, you want to test yourself against the best, and New Zealand must have done a few good things to be in a position of where they are at the moment. But it’s a playoff game and anything could happen on the day.
“We just have to ensure that we cut out those match day mistakes and take our opportunities against the Baby Blacks. There won’t be many, so we’ll have to be sharp and ready when they avail themselves.”
The SA Under-20 team to play the Baby Blacks will be named later.
If they scrum like they did against Aussie then it will be an embarrasment.
Good luck Bokkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkke!!
Come join my pool in SuperBru, the ultimate Currie Cup prediction game! It’s easy – just go to the website and enter the pool code wadewear to join my pool, Vul CC 2010.
Pool code: wadewear
Pool name: Vul CC 2010
Damn Bokkies… this is the big one!!
Come on baby Blacks !!
Good luck Baby Boks… 😀
This is a biggie. GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO KLEIN BOKKE 😀
Damn, someone’s opend the deepfreeze door…. my hands just do not want to get hot today.
t shirt and shorts today…gotta cut the lawn later, dogs lying in the sun and panting…whats the problem?
8@ 4man:
T-shirt and Shorts…. I suppose it’s about 24 Degrees C then up there in Muddy Isle…. hehehehe
Must have gotten close to 0 Degrees C here last night.
@ 4man:8 – T-shirt and shorts on here in Durbs and it is winter 😛
@ Puma: You gotta stop smoking that stuff brother!
I actually dont know the temp, but the dogs start feeling it at about 18C these days, I suppose they are acclimatized. But jis, I cant believe how the grass grows here in Summer, easy 8″ in a week. I ride my mountain bike into the village a lot these days working from home, I am almost beginning to feel human again….I was pretty much exhausted by the end of April. Dissapointing last nite, lets hope the junior Boks do something.
Whats the temp there today, it must be o/cast or something if its still cold this time of the day?
12@ 4man:
Sun is out nicely but there is a chilly wind blowing from the Drakensberg, which is snow covered, I believe.
Ek voel nou soos ‘n Akkedis, wil net op ‘n klip gaan sit en bak….
@ 4man:11 – Eat your heart out….hehehe. Winter in Durbs is like a warm summer..hahaha.
Was awesome yesterday down at South Beach where they have a massive screen and bands playing for the wc. Saw at least 10 000 Spanish supporters. All were wearing shorts and t-shirts like all of us. Huge sign down there. Durbs the warmest place to be in winter….hehehe. No winter here really. Love it especially the humidity is gone this time of year. Just a lovely warm sun.
Ja ek her gehoor daar is sneeu op die berg, my vriend in PMB stuur my elke dag n berig. Hy werk in Ladysmith vandag en se dit is ook vrek koud daar, maar n helder dag. Maar daardie berg windjie, hy is sleg. Ons het op n tyd in Colenso gebly toe ons kinder so een en twee jaar oud was, en in die winter as die berge wit le dan sien jy dit uit die venster en die stap kar toe was erg!!
15@ 4man:
Pannekoek- en Teelweer vandag.
@ Puma:Obviously I know it well…best surf in witner too, because of the lack of rain and storms and that little westerly breeze often comes when there is a nice swell running….maybe i will surf there again one day. I went into the lifeguard club when I was there last and my longboard is gone…stolen, as an honorary life member I have my own locker and rack there. On the weekend we went for a ride on the bikes and my wife didnt close the door properly, no front gate, door standing open for at least 4 hours….when we got home my heart sank, looked inside, nothing amiss and clearly no one had come in at all, I had two laptops lying on the table etc etc…..Sad to say, that is the difference. I wouldnt ride my bike to the beach anymore these days, wouldnt feel safe. Weather is 10% of it, the rest is peace of mind and quality of life. So we can carry on like this forever.
More and more I think that when I finally jack it in, I will probably go and live in Croatia on one of the islands, all the sun safety and nice people in the world, with them becoming part of the EEC, one hopes no more wars. They also play rugby believe it or not!!
@ 4man:17 – Sorry 4man went out for half hour.
Yip, Peace of mind is most important. That is why I live in a secure estate. Once inside here you feel like you left SA behind. Really nothing happens in here at all. I go out and leave my door unlocked to the golf course side. No-one ever comes in here. Only close the doors cause of the monkey raids…hahahaha. They can make a mess of the place if you leave windows open.
The refurbished beach in Durban is world class it is looking superb. Think you would be able to ride your bike there now. Well right now in the world cup there are police everywhere. So maybe it is for now only, but it is looking great there.
Weather is superb here in the winter, summer months gets to me must say. I really don’t enjoy the humidity.
Croatia is one place I would love to visit. Looks great also love the old history there. The weather would be similar to Italy I imagine.
@ Puma:Yep, similar to Southern Italy, which is just a hop aross the Adriatic on a ferry (about 4 hours). If you are going to go e-mail me and I’ll give you some tips and who to contact and where to go.
HELLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MOEPELS EN POEPOLS :LOL:
eish jhb is a damn freezer brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr i say cuzz i am to scared to sopell its farkiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiing cold lol
ok for those that maybe dont know
bradley barritt got an england call up so good luck to him
as for the baby boks , kick sheep shagger asses tonight 😆
gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo bokke , lambie will star again
@ sharky_forever:
It was just a matter of time…my guestimation of two years ago is spot on. Pity he is going into such a k*k team with such an inept coach.
and how kak was bafennie bafennie 😯 lol
eish they played kak
true 4man
eish sharks could have done with him at center
Hi Sharky,how are you,long time no hear,this cold weather is mad 🙂
lol yeah hiyas winnie
damn craptown jhb
last night was -2
how ya been?
@ sharky_forever:
NH actually suits his play better, he is very strong and its about crashing through because of the slow fields, not taking gaps, also clearing out and turning over, also lots of tackling. Ja I dont know why he left the Sharks, at that stage I thought he just couldnt see a spot for himself at Centre for the Boks, now a couple of guys have left for o’seas, so maybe he should ahve stayed. But it is what it is.
I think if he comes back and plays Sharks 3 years then he can be eligible for the Bok again…not sure about that.
Hi Sharky,been well,just very busy,got a job and been working hard,but so grateful to have work again.. Otherwise no news is good news,I must bring my girlfriend around for a chow at your restuarant 🙂
Total 200 users including 0 member, 200 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,331,614 Page Impressions