This will be my last article about the downgraded North vs South clash we all looked forward to. At one stage i hoped that we came second  in the Super14 to give us a chance of playing the Super 14 final at Newlands versus our arch-rivals the Stormers. Only time will tell whether the Bulls played a masterstroke or made the biggest cock-up this decade.

Coaches of Australian and New Zealand teams still in contention warned that the Bulls might use their unassailable position in the standings to hand a lifeline to the Stormers, who could miss the playoffs if they lose on Saturday.

The New South Wales Rugby Union, whose Waratahs must beat the Hurricanes on Friday to have any chance of making the semis, said it would complain to tournament organizers SANZAR if the Bulls named a weakened team but later withdrew that threat.

Even Australia coach Robbie Deans, who coached the Crusaders to five Super rugby titles, joined the debate, saying the Bulls were within their rights to name a weaker team but took a risk if they meddled too much with established lineups.

“They have earned the right to choose their own path,” Deans told The Australian newspaper. “When you sit that far ahead of everybody else, you are entitled to make your own selection choices as you do week-to-week. Personally, I think it’s probably not in their best interests, to be honest.”

Waratahs coach Chris Hickey, whose team could miss the playoffs if the Stormers beat the Bulls, said it was for the Bulls to decide on selection.

“That’s their issue,” Hickey said. “History will show that sometimes these things backfire on you anyhow.

“But, look, all we’re focused on is Friday. If we take care of what we need to there, we’ll be in the finals series.”

Bulls coach Frans Ludeke defended his selection which leaves top players such as Victor Matfield, Fourie du Preez, Morne Steyn, Gurthro Steenkamp, Gary Botha, Wynand Olivier and Pierre Spies out of the starting side. Only Jacques-Louis Potgieter remains from the starting 15 which beat the Crusaders last week.

“This is not a B-team,” Ludeke said. “There are seven national players in this team and we have a lot of respect for our opponents. But we are here to run our own race and we are doing nobody favours.”

The Hurricanes have lost backrower Victor Vito to a calf injury but have regained All Blacks center Conrad Smith after an injury break. Coach Colin Cooper had no concerns that the Bulls’ selection might impinge on his team’s playoff hopes.

“It’s a tough competition. You have to do what you have to do,” he said. “Certainly there’s no need for us to worry about it or comment on that because we are just focused on the Waratahs.”

158 Responses to Bulls’ plan may backfire

58 – SuperStormer, Really chilly. You live up here in the highveld too?

Damn normally this time I am back in Umhlanga and miss this weather. Too cold for me now. I like it around 25 everyday with sun. This is cold.

Okay it is roll of the dice then. Canes, Saders, Tahs or Brumbies.

I want Tahs in for my good friend Old Griquas but think Canes could win there. Though home ground advantage. Think the Brumbies will take the Saders. Though those kiwi sides in this tourney at the end are very, very tough to beat.

you see, there you said it. We must not give Rassie more MONEY, he will buy another Bulls star player with it, maybe send Habs back and get Shaddow. 😆

63 – Super, As long as they don’t come for Lambie…hehehe. Saw someone say they would love to have him. Also JPP. Those are Sharkie boys.

They can buy as many Bulls as they want. That is your problem as long as they stay away from the Sharks players……hehehe

if you say so

63 – Super, How rubbish was our cricket team again? They were terrible once again in a cup tourney. Have not BMT in those. When it comes to tours we do actually very well. Just the wc tourneys we are just useless.

super @ 63
    shadow? wie de f*k is dit? 😯

67 – Ash 😆

Did you see GBS reply on the Let Bulls do thread? Post 11.

Well that can be true and that can also be a fatal fault.

What Blouste said made me feel a bit more comfortable, that the Bulls are not just any team but a highly experienced outfit who has done it all before. That gives me hope that they can overcome this unnecessary hiccup.

Yes i call it unnecessary because we could have rested many of our players earlier, not this disruptive team halt in its track style.

Our history showed a well planned peaking at the business end of the season.

Aaaaagh well my heart is strong enough for this.

67@ Asbak – Shadow het al ‘n kwart soveel drieë hierdie Super 14 gedruk soos die hele Stormers 22-tal saam…

Gemiddelde aantal drieë per Stormer speler = 1.4545 drieë vir die hele Super 14
    Shadow se gemiddeld vir die hele Super 14 = 8 drieë vir die hele Super 14

Derhalwe is Shadow gemiddeld 5.5 keer meer effektief as die gemiddelde Stormer… so hy’s eintlik gelykstaande aan vyf en ‘n halwe Stormers spelers… op sy eie…. op 19 jaar oud….

Mmmmmm, wie is Shadow nou weer, Asbakkie?

daai deng wat julle na toe duik dan juig die skare al.

gbs @ 70
    is jy dronk?

superbul @ 71
    nei bru, bly ma’ wit.
    djy gat te veel sukkel met os’e taal! 😀

69 – Super, Which thread was that. Went to look but nothing from gbs on that thread.

72@ Asbak – Wat verstaan jy nie van die somme in comment Nr 70 nie??

ma, julle se taal is so soet en moi ek like van hom. Djy kan ma spreek ekleer gou.

69 – Super, Okay just read that post. Yes I do think rest now is a good thing. No injuries will come and I am a great believer in rest is as good as training. Need to combine the two. Though at this stage just hope they do not lose momentum. Though like Blouste said with so many experienced players they should not.

Remember in a rugby world cup. You have not rest you just keep going and somehow the team gets better with each game.

Then of course there are only about 6 games to play. Here we play 13 and far, far more physical is the S14. So think Bulls with a rest have done the right thing.

Never thought I’d see a Bulls team too scared to tackle a Cape team at Newlands – never! Very disappointing…..

Should change the poster for Saturday’s game to read “Live at Newlands: the running of the Bulls!”

Sies….skande!

fender @ 77
    amen!!

7 – Fender 😆 I must say have not see one Stormer supporter too upset about playing the Bulls 2nd side. Some say they are but I know they not too worried as they going to see their team in the Semi.

gbs @ 74
    ekt gevra WIE hy is, nie of jy wet dreams oor hom kry nie!! 👿

puma @ 79
    then you need to go through my comment from monday until today
    eks de moer in om dit sagkins te stel!!

Ons lag en skater en byt mekaar, staan stil vir n oomblik en dink aan die armes, die wat niks het om oor te lag nie.

OATH:

I am a Lions supporter.

I support the Red and White, the Rugby Union team, the Lions.

I will support them through thick and thin,

From wooden spoon to sparkling trophy,

Because I am a Lions supporter.

Where ever they are I will be,

If not in body, in mind and soul.

I will wear my Red and White with pride.

My blood is red and the Lion roars in my soul.

When times are hard I will be constructive in my criticism,

When times are good I will be immense in my praise.

I am a Lions supporter and will never waiver.

I am proud of everyone that wears the jersey,

I support every player for these are the people that make my dreams come true.

I am a Lions supporter until death do us part, and then long after.

ONCE A LION, ALWAYS A LION!!

Courtesy of the Lions most loyal supporter site. Guys hope you regain your Pride soon.

Na ons die 3N gewen het hierdie jaar, gaan almal dankbaar wees dat ons Bokspan die laaste rondte van die S14 gerus het. 😀

#79 Hi Puma, really important games are won in the head (just ask the Proteas, hehe!) Would’ve loved to have gotten one over the same Bulls at Newlands that we could meet in the finals and mess with their heads a bit.

That opportunity has now been taken away from us.

@ 77 fender

I agree, even more so because I’ve seen a lot of footage where people were seriously fcuked up when caught by these Bulls !!!

84@ Kitartjie – So in stead of the Stormers smokkeling with the Bulls heads, the Bulls are smokkeling with the Stormers heads…. hehehehe

That’s the way, ah ha, ah ha, we like it!!

84: Ag shame, dat jou eie span nou die ‘opportunity’ weggevat het deur te verloor teen die Sharks. Toe maar, daar is dalk weer ‘n kans in die semi of finaal … as julle dit maak.

Morning Boys – superBul, nice post @82. I just missed you on WTR last night…

When doing the suprbru picks it is so sad to see lots of red boxes against all the Lions games, must be so disheartening for players and supporters.

Things may change….

#86 GBS and the Sunshine Band, I’m afraid Newlands come Saturday will be a smokkel-free event.

Ma in my geestesoog stort die goeie Brigadier stilweg ‘n traan…

Puma, special mention on the cricket front has to go to “Our Boys” 2nd Leading Batsman – Kevin Pietersen 159 at 53 and 3rd Craig Kieswetter 120 at 24.

GO ENGLAND Lol 😆

Total 735 users including 0 member, 735 guests, 0 bot online