Brumbies (21) 61 / Cheetahs (3) 15 (Final Score)

The Brumbies hosted the Cheetahs at Canberra Stadium, Canberra at 11:40 SA Time. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1 on DSTV in SA. The Brumbies demolished the Cheetahs by 61 / 15, scoring 9 tries in the process against 2 tries.

Brumbies: 6 Conversions Matt Giteau, 2 Conversions Julian Huxley, 1 Try Stephen Hoiles, 1 Try Patrick Phibbs, 1 Try Tyrone Smith, 1 Try Rocky Elsom, 2 Tries Ben Alexander, 1 Try Adam Ashley-Cooper, 1 Try Matt Toomua, 1 Try Alfi Mafi

Cheetahs: 1 Penalty Naas Olivier, 1 Conversion Riaan Viljoen, 1 Try Sarel Pretorius, 1 Try Adriaan Strauss

Brumbies: 15 Julian Huxley, 14 Pat Mccabe, 13 Tyrone Smith, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 10 Matt Toomua, 9 Patrick Phibbs, 8 Stephen Hoiles (c), 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Rocky Elsom, 5 Mitchell Chapman, 4 Ben Hand, 3 Salesi Ma’afu, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Ben Alexander.
Replacements: 16 Huia Edmonds, 17 Guy Shepherdson, 18 Mark Chisholm, 19 Colby Faingaa, 20 James Stannard, 21 Ed Stubbs, 22 Alfi Mafi.

Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Wilmaure Louw, 13 Corne Uys, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Naas Olivier, 9 Tewis de Bruyn, 8 Kabamba Floors, 7 Barend Pieterse, 6 Hendro Scholtz, 5 Walti Vermeulen, 4 Izak van der Westhuizen, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.
Replacements: 16 Wian du Preez, 17 Ryno Barnes, 18 Nico Breedt, 19 Davon Raubenheimer, 20 Sarel Pretorius, 21 Riaan Viljoen, 22 Robert Ebersohn.

Match Officials
Referee: Bryce Lawrence (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Steve Walsh (Australia), Angus Gardiner (Australia)
Television match official: George Ayoub (Australia)

196 Responses to Brumbies vs Cheetahs – Game Thread

agree with you ruds

Sharky & GBS – now, now, boys, settle down, let’s not get too carried away.

Try to Hoiles???? Score 5-3??? Kick to come.

Brumbies 7/3

Here is an idea. Why dont the Cheaters save there best games for overseas sides and stop playing there one good Super 14 game for the season against the Sharks :p

Puma @ 33 – can you go back to the tahs thread and read my last post, 82 re shopping for steak in Sydney????

Naas,pick up your game,you guys need every point you can get 🙂

lol winston aint that a fact

Brumbies are all over the Staat

Puma – apologies, I see you’ve responded on the other thread. I can give you one guarantee, mate: either late this year or early next year, my wife and I will be returning to RSA, after more than 30 years, with our grandson, to tour the game parks. Hopefully, we will organise a bigger than Texas braai, so we can all meet . . .

yup rudi this is going to be a mare i feel

specially as the stares are struggling in the scrums

Barend Pieterse gets a yellow

30 years since you were last here.. Geez. Where did you stay when you were here Old 14?

Without Juan and King Ratel they are missing 5 players on the field because they are both machines 🙂

40@ Oldie – Do you still understand a bit of Afrikaans, after all these years?

Only reason the Brumbies have not scored 4 tries yet is because of them not taking the final pass.. Second half could get ugly.

Must say, the scampering Cheetahs defence is holding… but for how long?

40 – Old Griquas, That would be great. Would enjoy to meet up with you.

Thanks for that about the steaks.. Had a good laugh there.

When I lived in Holland I asked the Butcher how much a Hind Quarter would cost…..hehehehe. Their eyes just went WIDE as they buy by the day there and only small amounts of meat. Heard him say in Dutch, “There is this Mad English person wanting to buy half a cow” ……..HAHAHAHAHAHAHA. We used to in those days always at the end of the month buy a ‘Hind Quarter’ and freeze it for the month. Now we hardly do that, but buy our meat once a week and select what we want now. Mostly buy steaks and lamb chops now days for the braai.

So had a really good laugh at that post about the steaks.. Good one Old Griquas.

Thats why I think the flood gates will open up in the second half Gbs.

GBS – I was fluent. However, even though I tried my best to find someone I could praat to in Afrikaans, I just couldn’t keep it in the memory banks without exercise.

Although, I still remember the words Gawie Visagie taught me at a nightclub in Port Elizabeth, when I asked him to give me the words to ask a female to dance. I soon found out what he suggested I say wasn’t quite what I thought I was asking her.

Puma @ 48 – love it, great yarn, mate. Hindquarter: kaas kops . . .

Scrum’s here are a mess..

50@ Oldie – Hehehehe

I’ll teach you again… verstaan jy?

Final pass goes down again..

Try. Was a matter of time with how crap the Cheaters have been today..

Nou vir Biltong en Droeë wors….

Come my little beauties, let me chew you…

Phibbs scores a try

eish puma would love to meet oldie , and thats in oz,, we cant even get him for a cold one here in SA

De Bruyn,what were you trying to do?

14-3

Total 276 users including 0 member, 276 guests, 0 bot online