Waratahs (21) 39 / Blues (19) 32 (Final Score)
The Waratahs hosted the Blues at Sydney Football Ground, Sydney at 10:40 SA Time on Saturday. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast on SuperSport 1 on DSTV in SA. The Waratahs won the match 39 / 32 and both teams earned their bonus points for tries scored.
Waratahs: 4 Conversions & 2 Penalties & 2 Tries Daniel Halangahu, 1 Try Dean Mumm, 1 Try Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Try Lachie Turner
Blues: 3 Conversions & 2 Penalties Stephen Brett, 1 Try Rudi Wulf, 1 Try Isaia Toeava, 2 Tries Rene Ranger
Waratahs: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Lachie Turner, 13 Rob Horne, 12 Berrick Barnes, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Daniel Halangahu, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Phil Waugh (captain), 6 Dave Dennis, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Al Baxter, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.
Replacements: 16 Damien Fitzpatrick, 17 Sekope Kepu, 18 Will Caldwell, 19 Ben Mowen, 20 Josh Holmes, 21 Tom Carter, 22 Sosene Anesi.
Blues: 15 Isaia Toeava, 14 Joe Rokocoko, 13 Rene Ranger, 12 Benson Stanley, 11 Rudi Wulf, 10 Stephen Brett, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8 Viliami Ma’afu, 7 Serge Lilo, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Anthony Boric, 4 Kurtis Haiu, 3 John Afoa, 2 Keven Mealamu (captain), 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 Tom McCartney, 17 Charlie Faumuina, 18 Filo Paulo, 19 Peter Saili, 20 Taniela Moa, 21 Daniel Kirkpatrick, 22 Paul Williams.
Referee: Garratt Williamson (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Paul Marks (Australia), Angus Gardiner (Australia)
SB @ 29 – G’day oh venerable historian.
Yep, Tahs fan.
30@ Oldie – Lekker man, must be good to see the little’un play!
Try Halangahu again
Tahs 21 / 7
GBS @ 30 – just the best thing, brings a tear to the eye, with pride.
‘Tahs must be the team with the most uneducated brain dead rugby supporters in professional rugby.
They don’t want to watch rugby, they want league.
Bleeding shallow lot.
35@ Vuurtjie – That’s harsh…
Hope every one has noticed that ThePaint has now got two predictions wrong thus far this weekend. 😀
What’s this thing about rugby? At the youngster’s game today, I spoke to a big, tall, weathered looking fellow with a French accent. Names Yves, watching his grandson also. Talking for 30 mins, find we both played in the same match back in the 80s in Paris, at Parc-du-Princes stadium.
Think we’ll be enjoying a glass of red sometime through the season . . .???
Alle Alle
37@ Vuurtjie – Yip, I predict better than Spaint hey, I had 6 from 6 last week… hahahaha
Okay after all the excitment on the main thread Sharks……hehehe. I am here. Coffee just poured. Will wait to open something up after the Bulls slaughter the Force and celebrate together with my bully friends here..heeeehaaa.
Gooooooooooooo the Bluessssssssssssss
24 – Old Griquas, Good evening to you. Hoping for you your Tahs win. Just saying Blues for my bru picks.
Overcast here today and just bliss, especially that my Sharks won.
38 – Old Griquas, Awesome that. I think the rugby family is small around the world. Yes, we are a family the rugga people over the globe.
Wonder were is the school where they teach these Australian commentators. If the Lions could get a few of them we might have been told to believe they are on their way to win this competition this year.
When a Blues player lose a ball by poor handling the pronounce it is because of the great pressure by a Tah, every mistake by a Blues player is because the Tah is so good.
grootPienk,
Sorry, I probably went too far, just greatly annoying when supporters ‘boo’ their team for driving the ball forward from a line out. When the ‘Thas does does anything ‘rugby’, they get ‘boo’d’.
It just aint the rugby thing to do. They should go watch league. And because of fans like these, the ozzies keep insisting on changing the laws…..’cause they can’t afford to lose their so called supporters.
Fire @ 35 – not far off the mark, mate. Although not all Sydneysiders are Tahs fans. The disenfranchised fan is mostly the long-suffering individual who has stuck with the team through all the rubbish rugby they’ve played over the last 8 or so seasons. Look at Tuqiri, played with the Tahs, never gets quality ball; returns to mungos (league) and scores an average of 2 blistering, 70m tries each game. League is attracting around 15,000 crowds to each game, with 5/6 games each weekend.
The game has stagnated a bit….
Try Blues… Toeava
Tahs 21 / 12
Old Griq,
I wont argue the Tahs playing boring rugby, but they keep winning.
I bet if the ‘Tahs went through the losing streak the Sharks went through, they’d be praying for boring winning rugby, even worse, I bet the Lions would pack Coke Park to capacity if they won playing boring rugby.
No use trying to play rugby like league, just to attract league supporters……
Try Ranger….
Tahs 21 / 19
I fink if the Tahs try and play a running game like the Blues , the Blues will win this one. Maybe i fink right maybe not, lets see.
Leemoenetyd
supeNul,
I hope they lose, their supporters don’t like winning rugby, so they’ll have to put up with attractive losing rugby.
Okay, I’ll try and stop kicking the Tahs supporters now. 😀
FS @ 49 – no issue with your sentiments, and your statement re playing rugby like league. SA has a style of playing the game and they are successful at it. NZ has its own style and so does Aus; ours is to run, when our teams fall into playing a game that doesn’t suit them, the fan becomes understandably vocal.
Disappointingly, one of Sydney’s founding clubs, Parramatta, announced it can’t fill its playing ranks this season. [P Parra is right in the middle of the western suburbs, where the bulk of the aspirational population resides
51 – Super, You see what happens when you back the Sharks? You have climbed the ladder there on bru..hehehe. I had to have a quick check before mine goes down the shoot after this game. I picked the Blues I think by 3. Tahs could win this one. Hoping for our buddy here Old Griquas. Never mind my bru picks.
look i have a zero tolerance for MR Phill Waugh, so when ever someone gives him a proper PK i will be the happiest man.
But did you see how the Australian teams all play a much better game in 2010, yes even their 7s team is doing well. There is something happening there.
AB teams in the S14 is beaten easily this year , whats up Doc
Puma @ 41 – howzit mate? Weather is still very hot tonight – 8.32pm and it’s as hot as it was at 2pm . . .
Puma i bragged when i could, yes i have the Blues by 3 too. But for our SA teams and especially yours we need the Tahs to lose, that will clog up the middle of the log and then anything can happen. Sharks must try and get bonus points for tries, then they can catch up fast.
How about that silly billy, Eddie Jones making comments in the media and helping Aus chances in next year’s RWC? Telling Aus we aren’t good enough to win. Excellent, keep those comments coming, Fast Eddie.
Old Griq,
So it’s fair to say that ozzie rugby is in a bit of trouble…..I just can’t see running rugby changing that.
Total 217 users including 0 member, 217 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,317,956 Page Impressions