Hurricanes (6) 26 / Sharks (13) 29 (final score)

The Hurricanes hosted the Sharks at Westpac Stadium, Wellington at 08:35 SA Time on Saturday. This is the match thread for discussion of the match. The match was broadcast on SuperSport 1 on DSTV in SA. The Sharks won after the hooter had gone with a Ruan Pienaar Penalty from halfway, 29 / 26.

Hurricanes: 3 Penalties Willie Ripia, 1 Penalty & 2 Conversions Piri Weepu, 1 Try Ma’a Nonu, 1 Try Victor Vito

Sharks: 2 Conversions & 5 Penalties Ruan Pienaar, 1 Try Patrick Lambie, 1 Try JP Pietersen

Hurricanes: 15 Cory Jane, 14 Tamati Ellison, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Andre Taylor, 10 Willie Ripia, 9 Tyson Keats, 8 Rodney So’oialo, 7 Karl Lowe, 6 Victor Vito, 5 Michael Paterson, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Neemia Tialata, 2 Andrew Hore (captain), 1 John Schwalger.

Replacements: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Jacob Ellison, 18 Bryn Evans, 19 Nick Crosswell, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 David Smith.

The Sharks: 15 Patrick Lambie, 14 Stefan Terblanche, 13 Adrian Jacobs, 12 Riaan Swanepoel, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Andy Goode, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 John Smit (captain).

Replacements: 16 Tendai Mtawarira, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Rory Kockott, 21 Waylon Murray, 22 Odwa Ndungane.

Referee: Ian Smith (Australia)
Assistant referees: Kane McBride (New Zealand), Glenn Newman (New Zealand)
TMO: Shane McDermott (New Zealand)

246 Responses to Hurricanes vs Sharks – Game Thread

1 2 3 9

VRYSTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHH FLUCK!

Working again, Good Luck Sharks!

😆 Good version of it

That will be the Official Cheetah cry if you lose again.

good morning everyone

sorry about ur team losie

must say their defence was very poor

couldnt watch the whole game but eish the no4 lock misses like 3 tackles in that one try being scored

loosie

Morning all. Get in the Sharks 🙂

I made a brave pick on Superbru, almost all the clever guys leading Superbru picked against you. Now PLUEEEEEZE Sharks make me look clever. 😀

Quite a few games are 50/50 on the Bru this weekend,hope they go my way 🙂

I don’t know what is going on with SA rugby, it’s becoming critical now. How the hell can the Lions and Cheetahs after 6 years apart, still not have competitive teams?

Cheetahs looked tired in the second half, if this is what wet weather does to them, I hope it’s only sunshine in NEw Zealand…fat chance! If the Reds was the Bulls or the Stormers, the bloody cheetahs would have fought till the end, but 15 minutes into the 2nd they already started resting for next week.

Pathetic! Sorry Loosehead, I am not trying to bring the guys down, but I think this is a matter of attitude. As I also said earlier, maybe get rid of Naka…a hooker trying to be smart never worked for me in any case, I know rugby-hookers,…5 years of screw-ups and no-one calling for his head? He caught a few tricks from Rassie, no he acts like he knows what is going on, but he is clueless.

You can’t get a foreign coach, cause 80% of the guys can’t speak english, so what is left in South Africa?

Carel du Plessis, Markgraaff, Jimmy Stonehouse, Phil Pretorius, Chean Roux van Maties, Rudi Joubert, Loffie Eloff, wie ookal in beheer is van die Pukke rugby instituut, anyone will do. The cheetahs have amazing talent, they just need someone to galvanize it.

Morning guys, GO SHARKS. Puma might be able to post in the lunchtime game, hv had a dire animal situation here 4 over week so very busy. should be back 2 normal in a couple of days.

Will follow on phone and watch most of game whilst multi tasking.

S H A R K S S S S S S S S S S S S S

My 50/50 picks, blew up in my face!

Sharky I picked against your team in Superbru…

However, I hope they win, for the sake of SA rugby, my rugby brain however, did not agree with my heart. But for that matter, my rugby brain picked nothing so far this weekend, so what the hell!

GOOOOO SHAAARKS!!!!

Yeah Saint,the Blues Waratahs game is also going to be a tough one bud..

Saint, i hear you on the Cheetah game, but they were well and truly in it near the end. Not using some other options to score at that time put them up like sitting ducks.

If they had a drop goal or taken one of those penalties it would have changed the mindset, well maybe. But plodding along against a wall(Reds) was plain mindless.

Maybe a more seasoned captain might have tried something else.

Hope you stay on a roll. :LoL:

Hellooooooooooooooooooooo

The saint

Reds and cheetahs was never a 50/50 call.

Gutten morgen, grosse blew grin

There goes Ruans confidence 4 a ball of chit.

Tryyyyyyyyyyyyyy Lambie!!

Super, their coach was on the field with him, Barend Pieterse, who is retired, was the best player on the night, what does it say about the team? If their handling was only 10% better they would have taken it, I know it was wet, but this is rugby, you have to be ready.

In 2009 WP simulated wet weather in anticipation of the British and Irish Lions game, they had sprinklers on the field for two days, used only wet balls, and it helped. I think Naka is too pre-occupied with his extra-marital excursions, and his pre-occupation of trying to prove he is smarter than Rassie, to be beneficial for the team.

Robert Ebersohn received the ball 4 times, every time on the backfoot, naas Olivier needs to shift to the bench, with Bosman at 10, Ebersohn at 12 and Uys at 13.

YEBO BABY

Well worked try , come on Sharks do it all day, crush some kiwi,s

Puma called it,Lambie is the next big thing 🙂

exellent kick Ruan.

Walla

The Reds were there for the picking, had the Cheetahs kept their nerve, and been smart, it would have been me smiling today.

I like Ruan look , he is focussed, its in his eyes.

What a pedantic call by the ref.. Booooooooooooo.

7-3 to the great one’s 🙂

1 2 3 9

Total 228 users including 0 member, 228 guests, 0 bot online