As expected, the Bulls have named their strongest possible team to take on the Hurricanes on Friday at 19:10 at Loftus. Deon Stegmann returns to be the starting No 6 (openside flanker) and Derick Kuün reverts back to the bench.

Media Release by the Bulls:

Deon Stegmann returns to the Vodacom Bulls pack for their Vodacom Super 14 match against the Hurricanes at Loftus Versfeld on Friday night.

The Cradock-born player is the only change to the side that outclassed the Highlanders last week and swop places with Derick Kuün, who reverts back to the bench.

Bulls captain, Victor Matfield, who celebrated his 50th match as captain last weekend, will play in his 100th Super Rugby game, 91 of them for the Bulls.

He played for the Cats eight times early in his career.

“We don’t play for caps, we play to win trophies,” Matfield said of his pending achievement.

“Of course it is nice for me, but the bigger picture is what the Bulls must do to stay undefeated. All the teams are improving week by week, so we need to improve as well.”

Coach Frans Ludeke indicated that Bees Roux might be fit to play off the bench.

Roux suffered a gash to the head last week and was pulled out of the Highlanders clash and replaced by Rossouw de Klerk, who made his Super 14 debut in the process.

“We will have a look how he shapes up during the scrumming session. If he is OK, he will take his place. If not, Rossouw will slot in again,” Ludeke said.

The team (with caps) is: Zane Kirchner (30), Gerhard van den Heever (8), Stephan Dippenaar (6), Wynand Olivier (61), Francois Hougaard (7), Morné Steyn (63), Fourie du Preez (89), Pierre Spies (46), Dewald Potgieter (21), Deon Stegmann (29), Victor Matfield (99, c), Danie Rossouw, (92) Werner Kruger (32), Gary Botha (63), Gurthrö Steenkamp (56).

Replacements: Bandise Maku (12), Bees Roux (18)/Rossouw de Klerk (1), Flip van der Merwe (10), Derick Kuün (46), Jacques-Louis Potgieter (22), Jaco van der Westhuyzen (48), Pedrie Wannenburg (102).

In related news, Heinie Adams sustained a broken rib in the Vodacom Cup match between the Blue Bulls and the Lions. Accordingly he will not be able to join the Bulls on tour after this weekend’s fixture against the Hurricanes. 

Adams is out for four weeks and not available for the tour matches against the Western Force, Blues, Chiefs and Reds.

Ironically Adams sustained the injury for the Vodacom Cup side where he was picked to get some playing time ahead of the tour.

“Heini’s injury comes at a bad time, as he is a class player,” coach Frans Ludeke lamented.

“We still have two Springbok scrumhalves in Fourie du Preez and Francois Hougaard, but Heini added something extra,” Ludeke said.

Ludeke will decide on Monday whether Adams will be replaced for the tour. The Bulls leave for Perth on Tuesday evening.

My personable opinion about team selection:

I would have played Flip van der Merwe in the place of Danie Rossow, with Danie on the bench, simply because Flip has been so strong in the first 3 matches of the season. Somehow he has fit in better in the “Bakkies” mould than Danie.

On the defensive front, the 3 Bulls players who have been suspect in defence, Stephan Dippenaar (No 13), Francois Hougaard (No 11) and Gerhard van den Heever (No 14) have been retained. I have no issue with the attacking prowess of the 2 wingers and I certainly would not change them in the squad but I would have a few words with them every day regarding their defence and they would be doing serious work on defence this week.

Because of the defensive frailties shown, I would have played Jacques-Louis Potgieter on inside centre all week, with Wynand Olivier moving one position out to outside centre, to replace Stephan Dippenaar, Dippenaar to be moved to the bench. One can argue every which way but should Potgieter and Olivier be the centres, there should be a more solid defensive line. The other reason why I would move Wynand Olivier one position out would be to bolster defence around the wing channels, in other words he would be one position wider to help cover on the wings.

The fact is, I’m not the coach and this is not the selections done, so I have to live with the chosen selections and hope the team as a whole has beefed up defences.

Go Bulls, continue your unbeaten run!

43 Responses to Bulls team for Canes clash

Bulls wont have it all there own way but reckon they will have it by 15 or so..

1 @ Winston – That’s a brave call and a big margin. The Canes are seriously hurting after 2 losses in a row and will severely test the Bulls defence.

I am worried….

It seems that Jaco Pretorius is still injured. The Hurricanes will be a serious threat indeed. Up till now they earned zero points thus on this tour.

GrootPienk,

A 10 – 15 margin is the safe bet with the Nulle game, it has yet to fail this season.

Nulle will get between 45 and 50 on the board, Canes will get between 30 and 38 on the board.

Even the Streamers managed a bonus point against the Canes, and even the Landers managed a bonus point against the Nulle. It’s the way your games go.

I reckon even the Lions will be able to score a bonus point against the Nulle 😆

Heerlik,

Die Nulle is darm maar lucky met hulle draw hierdie jaar, nie eens die vlug oorsee gaan julle pla nie, want julle speel die Force in julle eerste game daar. Blerrie unfair as jy my vra.

En dan julle eerste game na die lang vlug terug is die Lions…..so die travelling gaan julle glad nie affect nie.

Gbs,last year I would have been more nervous for you guys but the Hurricanes have looked very flat these past 2 weeks against weaker opposition and I cant see how they are all of a sudden going to work out a plan to beat the Bulls at fortress Loftus..

Plus they will probably have one foot on the plane to go home and after 60 mins at altitude they will be hurting..

Winnie & Vuurtjie,

I hope you guys are right, I do not trust Nonu and Conrad Smith and their Canes buddies…. but well, we beat them in 2009 in NZ…. so let’s see!

I personally think the bulls will be brought down to ground this weekend. A outfit like the hurricanes are just way to good to play dead. Those 3 youngsters defence arent up to scratch as well as Wynand’s defence who has looked suspect.

I hope the bulls win though and id like to see the cheetahs k@k in their broek and give us the 5 points.

Look,I think they will come hard in the first half,but cant see them sustaining against the Bulls for 80 mins.

I also think that Olivier’s defence is under rated,I think its pretty solid but agree,13 could be a channel that they could attack.

They sustained pretty well at loftus 2 seasons ago by beating them by 50. Altitude wont be much of a factor.

Wynand isnt the man you make him out to be. Leave the backline to wp’s Talent pool. That guy could never sustain a bok place.

15@ Wezwp – Ai ou Wez, as ek nie van beter geweet het nie het ek vermoed jy is ‘n een-ogige WP ondersteuner wat niks goed in die ander spanne behalwe WP kan raaksien nie!

Flok

Just call it like i see it Gbs. Dont mean to offend the bullwtjies. btw waar is al die mense? Wat blog hulle ooit op rugby talk.

You agood guy gbs ill give you that. I still hope the bulls continue to fly the Sa flag but im afraid they just not my beloved Wp.

It is part of the quiet hour here on R-T at the moment, and on other blogs, all the office jockeys are on their way home in the traffic.

Ons het baie bloggers hier op R-T maar vroeg in die week rus die ouens hulle vingers effe.

Ek is verbaas Blouste en Puma is missing in action, hulle sal seker vanaand weer aantree vir ‘n geselsie.

Wez,you are starting to sound like the normal Wp supporter bud,you guys are doing well and have finally got your act together but remember you have yet to tour and you also threw the game away against the Brumbies so until you go overseas and play the Bulls,Crusaders etc,dont count your chickens until they hatch. You have not made a Semi since 1999 of the Super competition,dont get ahead of yourself,the Bulls know how to win knock out games.

Juan De Jongh is a talented player but he is too raw to play for the Boks,he needs to work on his distribution skills.. But anybody there except Adi at 12.

Its true Gbs,this is the first time I’ve ever been on here and Puma is not here,maybe the wife is giving him gears :p

21@ Winston – Juan is still in the process of converting from No 13 to No 12. He plays too much like a No 13, without the distribution skills required for a No 12, plus he tends to play “Stampkar” rugby… but the boy has potential.

22@ Winston – Puma is a serial blogger…. hehehehe

His wife is going to bliksem ME one day because her husband blogs so much… hahahaha

Agreed,he also is very quick for a centre so think Juan has a big future ahead..

Lol,dont worry about small things,his wife will get over it.

We didnt do to bad in 2004 as i recall mate.

Nee ouens, die grootste tragedie sal wees as die bokke weer uit ‘n klomp problems ouens bestaan, ek kan nie onthou van ‘n bok span wat goes gedoen het met ‘n klomp problems daar nie.

You guys are on the up and wish my beloved Sharks would be in your position but all I have been hearing lately is how the Stormers are going to destroy the Bulls and win the Super 14,which they might but all I am saying its not even half way through the tournament yet.

With Jean de villiers back next year the Stormers could be the first local team to win the super14/15 back to back.

Total 145 users including 0 member, 145 guests, 0 bot online