India won the first one day International played at Jaipur by one run.

South Africa needed to score 64 off 31 balls when number 10 batsman Dale Steyn walked to the crease. No one gave South Africa a hope in hell. Dale and Parnell scored a brilliant partnership  that took us to 8 runs short of a miraculous win. Parnell fought on gallantly and was run out in his attempt to draw the match. South Africa ended one run short.  Pfheeew My poor Heart.

9th Wicket: 50 runs in 32 balls (WD Parnell 27, DW Steyn 27, Ex 1)
WD Parnell run out (Sreesanth/†Dhoni) 49runs , 47BF, 4x 4, 1×6, SR 104.25
DW Steyn b Kumar 35 runs 19BF 1x 4,  3x 6, SR 184.21

India team
SR Tendulkar, V Sehwag, V Kohli, MS Dhoni*†, SK Raina, YK Pathan, KD Karthik, RA Jadeja, P Kumar, A Nehra, S Sreesanth
South Africa team
HH Gibbs, LL Bosman, JH Kallis*, AB de Villiers†, AN Petersen, JA Morkel, MV Boucher, J Botha, WD Parnell, DW Steyn, CK Langeveldt

Game start at 11:00 SA time

The Test series wasn’t closely fought – both teams won by an innings- in the conventional sense but the matches were intense and dramatic contests. It has, thus, left everybody hoping that the ODIs will be as interesting. Some key players are missing from both India and South Africa but, as Australia proved on their last trip here, the absence of personnel can be overcome.

Team news

Both teams have been hit hard by injuries: South Africa will miss Smith while India don’t have Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh and Zaheer Khan. India’s injuries present more opportunities to the likes of Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina to cement their places in the side. Kohli had a superb outing in the tri-series in Bangladesh and the pressure is on Raina, whose stock slipped after a poor ICC World Twenty20.

Pitch and conditions

“We’ve prepared a batting wicket. It is a 270 wicket,” curator Taposh Chatterjee said. In the last game played here, India nearly chased Pakistan’s 306 and one can expect another run-fest. However, dew is expected to play a role and the teams batting second might have an advantage.

360 Responses to India vs South Africa, 1st one day International

Joe Petersen at the Stormers has come on in leaps and bounds as a fullback… he’s my current choice if a Bokke Team had to be chosen today.

i lived in Jhb for 2 years when I finished school. The Cats had a good team in those days with Andre Venter,rassie Erasmus and Andre Vos,the Bulls were nowhere then,amazing how the wheel has turned.

I cant see the selectors picking him ahead of Zane at the moment though.

Power play just has not been good for us. Never is it seems. We always seem to lose wickets during the power play.

Now hope Kallis and AB can stay for a long time and also make runs.

Zane has been stable but nothing special

Yeah,think this partnership is they key to win this game or we’ll be in trouble.

213 – Winston, They wont cause he is playing in France, had he not left he would be our number one FB. Pity he lost out by going.

Think it is these agents that talk them into such stupid moves. Especially signing for 3 years!!!!! He will now miss the world cup and is only 22 years of age.

Guess it all depends what the Snor thinks 🙂

Yeah,3 years was a big school boy error. Should have been a year at most. I dont he thought things through properly.

215 – GBS I hope we get Fransie back for the WC. He was great last year in NZ. Those 3 monster kicks were brilliant. Finally found the right place to play for the Boks. FB. Then leaves for overseas. Crazy. Should have gone after the wc. He would only have been 24.

Think WP’s Joe Petersen is looking good at FB but he is no Fransie.

219 – Winston, I blame the agents. Greedy bunch that get a huge fee too.

Frans Steyn is the most talented player we have produced since re-admission,now that he’s gone people will appreciate how great he really is.

218 – Winston, Maybe he makes a trip to France like he did to get our Captain and Vice Captain back 😉

I read that PdV went over there and spoke to both Victor and John.

But who knows what will happen,if history has taught us anything its that anything is possible so maybe he’ll come back,who knows.

Look, Fransie and his Agent were doff… and on top of it Fransie is playing inside centre again in France… more doffness.. his best position is undoubtably at Fullback where he is absolute class, with time and space around him.

I agree mostly not to use players who play overseas… you Tjarkies need to buy BJ Botha back, so too Fransie Steyn, so they are eligible for Bokke selection.

Yeah,Snor is not as thick as people think he is. I just think his biggest problem is that so much gets lost in translation.

222 – Winston, Remember the Aussies saying when JdV got injured at the WC 2007 that it was a blessing in disguise as they rated Fransie much more. Frans Steyn played superb at inside centre for us in that cup. Only just turned 20 then.

Hey what did i miss during my beauty sleep, moer what a lekker power nap. Expect a lot of creativity on this site tonight. Hahahahaaha

226 – Winston, PdV should just stick to talking in Afrikaans. It is his first language. I know I would if it was me.

Something is wrong at the Sharks so not sure what will happen. I dont care where they play,they must just come back home 🙂

I heard there was a rift between Fransie and Snorrie… it’s only rumours, but it’s running between members of the media…. makes one think what Fransie’s motives were when he chose to go play in France.

Think people need to put there ego’s aside and do what’s best for the team.

I will sneak in this post , forgive me just this once, you guess who said this.

Pigeons coming home to roost in KZN. One can only hold up a false sense of supremacy based on mercenary activity for so long. Sooner or later reality on the ground has to bear fruit and all the sediment at bottom of barrel rise to the surface.

Sharks have built their franchise on dubious foundations. The real base of Sharks rugby is not from grass root development but by incorporating so called professional principles which are hardly very professional at all.

Difference between Sharks and Bulls is that Bulls still develop home grown talent from ground up and embellish at top tier, whereas Sharks tend to try buy in everything they call their own from outside sources.

Such illusory professionalized structure can only remain patriotic as long as there is some form of common idealism to strive towards, once it gets dissipated purely to a money making exercise all the underlying enthusiasm and goal oriented values get washed thin.

Successful sporting franchises should have a thread or core of home grown development. If not then its usually only a matter of time until the thin veil of supremacy and fickle fancy fantasy gets exposed for what it is. Just another capitalist, colonialist flash in the Tank or pan.

We struggling with the spin there like I thought we may.

Just don’t lose any more wickets.

VRYSTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!
    Middag!

232@ Winston – Ego-sickness is as old as the mountains. Since when do coaches and players put ego’s aside….

It’s wrong, I agree, but it’s fact…

Agreed Super. We have not had a home grown fly half since Butch.

Jeez watching the Reds game highlights, brilliant, wonder how the Crusaders are going to react on that

Last 5 ovs 25/0 RR 5.00

I would give my left testicle to be a Springbok and if I became one I’d do anything to stay one no matter how much I didnt get on with someone 🙂

Total 407 users including 0 member, 407 guests, 0 bot online