India won the first one day International played at Jaipur by one run.

South Africa needed to score 64 off 31 balls when number 10 batsman Dale Steyn walked to the crease. No one gave South Africa a hope in hell. Dale and Parnell scored a brilliant partnership  that took us to 8 runs short of a miraculous win. Parnell fought on gallantly and was run out in his attempt to draw the match. South Africa ended one run short.  Pfheeew My poor Heart.

9th Wicket: 50 runs in 32 balls (WD Parnell 27, DW Steyn 27, Ex 1)
WD Parnell run out (Sreesanth/†Dhoni) 49runs , 47BF, 4x 4, 1×6, SR 104.25
DW Steyn b Kumar 35 runs 19BF 1x 4,  3x 6, SR 184.21

India team
SR Tendulkar, V Sehwag, V Kohli, MS Dhoni*†, SK Raina, YK Pathan, KD Karthik, RA Jadeja, P Kumar, A Nehra, S Sreesanth
South Africa team
HH Gibbs, LL Bosman, JH Kallis*, AB de Villiers†, AN Petersen, JA Morkel, MV Boucher, J Botha, WD Parnell, DW Steyn, CK Langeveldt

Game start at 11:00 SA time

The Test series wasn’t closely fought – both teams won by an innings- in the conventional sense but the matches were intense and dramatic contests. It has, thus, left everybody hoping that the ODIs will be as interesting. Some key players are missing from both India and South Africa but, as Australia proved on their last trip here, the absence of personnel can be overcome.

Team news

Both teams have been hit hard by injuries: South Africa will miss Smith while India don’t have Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh and Zaheer Khan. India’s injuries present more opportunities to the likes of Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina to cement their places in the side. Kohli had a superb outing in the tri-series in Bangladesh and the pressure is on Raina, whose stock slipped after a poor ICC World Twenty20.

Pitch and conditions

“We’ve prepared a batting wicket. It is a 270 wicket,” curator Taposh Chatterjee said. In the last game played here, India nearly chased Pakistan’s 306 and one can expect another run-fest. However, dew is expected to play a role and the teams batting second might have an advantage.

360 Responses to India vs South Africa, 1st one day International

Kallis to Dhoni, 1 run, 134.4 kph, bunted towards mid-on this time, batsmen hare through for a single, Kallis seems to have hurt his hand as he belatedly and awkwardly tries to stop the throw from Parnell at mid-on

Out. Amazing. Lets get into there tail now.

Kallis to Dhoni, OUT, 130.3 kph, Dhoni is gone! that is a big breakthrough, a short of length ball outside off, Dhoni seemed to be into his shot a touch early, his drive lobs towards mid-off where Albie pouches it low

92 – Winston, missed that one.

See we now 138/4 after 23.1 over. Looking much better now.

Last 5 ovs 22/2 RR 4.40

93 – Super, Thanks missed Dhoni going.

Looking a lot better now.

They are slowing down now

Last 5 ovs 16/1 RR 3.20

Hellooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Julle skinner oor my, nê!!

Ek het ‘n match summary opgesit vir die Bulls Thread en my indrukke van die perskonferensie…

Gaan nou eers weer die Bulls game kyk wat ek record het, so paar foto’s capture daarvandaan…. en opsit!

….. maar voor ek dit doen…. net gou Logs en Bru results check

India 146/4 (26.2 ov)

India RR 5.54
    Last 5 ovs 14/1 RR 2.80

Darem lekker om sommer al die inligting reg hier te he , op datum.

Still reckon if we chase 270 we will win,anything more and we’ll be in a bit of trouble.

100@ SuperBul – Ja man, thanks…. wil gou gaan kyk hoe kyk ons SportsPool ook.

More gaan die SportsPool ouens vir ons so paar wysigings / fixes aanbring aan ons DIVISION site!

News24 says this about the Sharks.

Already the Sharks have a really uphill battle to reignite their own campaign with ominous successive defeats and now a punishing five-match overseas leg which could leave them dead in the water, title-wise, even before they return to home soil.

It remains difficult to escape a feeling that something has gone “cold” at the Absa Stadium, where only some 21 000 people pitched up to see their derby defeat to the Cheetahs – a poor turnout for so early in a new campaign – and on-field buzz and artistry are in short supply.

Perhaps they should not be written off just yet, because the Sharks have a proud reputation for touring comfortably: they won three of four matches in Australia and New Zealand last season.

But first up for them on Friday are the Crusaders, and you could argue that John Smit’s troops are playing them at a really bad time, considering the Christchurch-based team’s shock 41-20 humbling at the hands of the Reds — redemption is sure to uppermost in home-side minds!

102 – GBS, Howzit boet, How was it at Loftus? Jeepers proud of your team the way they played. Best team in the tourney so far. Your chest must be pumped out and so it should be. Bulls looking in a class of their own at the moment.

GBS
    Ek sukkel met daai sports pool site, kan nie daar rondkyk nie of so venster kom op waar ek moet inlog, vra tot my domain name. Ek moes skoon restart om daai venster af te kry.

104@ Puma – Was great Puma, check my summary of the Press Conference…. on the Bulls thread.

105@ SuperBul – Ek sê mos, more moet die SportsPool ouens so paar dinge fix wat fout is…. sien darem ek lê heel 1ste op die Log daar…. hehehehe

103 – Super also think McCaw comes back this week too. Don’t see my Sharks winning any game on tour this year to be honest. The only thing I will be proud of them is if they can stop any team scoring 5 points against them to help Bulls and Stormers. We leak 5 points to those top teams it will allow them back in. So hoping we can play some good rugby in that respect.

Need to concentrate on next year and build for then.

I also saw plenty empty seats at Loftus. Now that was a huge surprise as Loftus hardly ever is empty. Maybe start of the season. After this great performance next week should be full again like it normally is at Loftus.

You know if your team is losing the supporters don’t come out. A winning team always brings the supporters out.

Before I leave Joburg I want to see a Bulls game. Going to arrange it. Never been to Loftus ever. Wanted to go to the Tri-Nations game there but will be overseas at the time.

106 – GBS, Will do boeta.

Top Teams so far in this year’s Super 14 is undoubtally:
    1 – Bulls (hugely impressive)
    2 – Canes
    3 – Chiefs (2 away wins… impressive)
    4 – Stormers (still unbeaten but struggling to score bonus points for tries)

With The Bulls playing the Waratahs and the Stormers playing the Brumbies, we will get a better perspective where they stand, respectively in relation to one another.

Ja hulle beter DIT fix 😀

107 @ Puma – Official Attendance at Loftus yesterday was 31569, not bad at all. Main stand was almost completely filled, lots of space was open on the East Stand though.

Dale Steyn(rf) 6.0 0 26 0 4.33
    Not bad Steyna

GBS het jy gesien VM is gesite?

113@ SuperBul – Nee… waarvoor?

Sit vir ons ‘n beriggie op!

112 – Super, Steyn is supberb. Thought he would have got a rest for this game. Bowled plenty in the tests.

111 – GBS, You know that tv is like, they kept showing the empty stands but hey!!!!!!! that was the first game and who never went missed out big time. Next week it will be full. Loftus always is full.

You have a superb team, if it was my team I would be there kak knees and all 😀

When back in Umhlanga I will go to the Tank for a game or two. I support my team no matter what lose or win. They are struggling now but maybe have to think about next year.

114 – GBS read it on Voldy.

190/4 after 34 overs. This is going to land up a huge score if we don’t take the wickets. Bowling not slowing it down either.

Fark, citing is SUCH A FARCE!

Need to take a quick 2 wickets that would slow them down.

Total 369 users including 0 member, 369 guests, 0 bot online