With all the partying and recovery from all the eating and drinking, this message is a teeny weeny bit late… but still on the 1st of January 2010, can you bloody believe it!

Happy happy and a prosperous New Year, rugby friends, muppits, moepels and mopkoppe!

Now watch the video, dammit!

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9OgU0rFFMg[/youtube]

Β 

Gooi Mielies!!!

48 Responses to Rugby-Talk New Year’s message… on video

Happy new year to all the big talkers.

grootblousmile
    Supa Die Bloubul
    Puma
    carol
    Ed_the_Lion
    Pietman
    K9-MonsterLeeu
    bdb
    SA Barbarians
    Loosehead
    Tripples
    smallies72
    Treehugger
    KingPaul
    sharky_forever
    Snoek
    ashley
    Irish Devil
    isigidi
    The-Pill
    Polla
    Boerboel
    JimT
    MornΓ©
    trupisero
    fender
    Rugby_Princess
    Koos
    rugbybal

The others must get going and talk up a storm, I will be generous and wish the Stormers a semi final, the Sharks a cure for their choking, witch will automatically give them a great chance to get to the semis. Bulls , well if we stay injury free we will be around there, you never know it might be a 10th place followed by a great win in 2011, anyway we will enjoy the ride. There is place for one more semi finalist, the Cheetahs and Lions can sort that one out. πŸ˜†

Hope everyone have a great year.

PS. And may Bafana Bafana win the SWC. Yes why not, aim high.

Happy New Year……. may it bring joy, prosperity and happiness.

I would take on Mike Tyson for 10 rounds in his prime for the Sharks and the Proteas to lose there chokers tag πŸ™‚ But at least my beloved Sharks won the Currie Cup in 2008,but hopefully it goes well this year.

Hello 2010 and hello Rugby Talkers,

I met a couple of South African people the other day from Cape Town, it was cold and the bloke was wearing a Stormers woolly hat. I said your team are very fortunate to have Habanna come to play for them this coming season, he looked a bit blank and said….

“We don’t really follow sport”!!

Perhaps he was given the hat as a present,is this usual behaviour of Captonians? It was a bit of a conversation killer!!

GBS – Did you get that pesky fly?

superBul – We meet at last!!

superBul come back, no party tonight, I have done all the festive things……all the guests have gone and I am ready to chat…..

Where are you all?

Winston, evening Sharkman. Hi carol. Yes the Sharks choking is a mystery , i read a article somewhere about that , sad , really sad. You guys were going great guns until the last 4 or 5 games, thats in the S14.

Is it my perfume? πŸ™

Ahh Haaa, thanks for the greetings super, just after 9 with you, are your eyelids drooping yet?
    I got 5 hours sleep so am farily ‘perky’ still!
    I got the yellow cap on superbru last week on the Guinness Premiership….my first yellow cap!!
    I was going to see how my predictions did today?

I missed playing that one Carol

i had a very quiet time the last 3 days , all family gone and only expect my oldest sister on Monday for one night. They are really easy people.

For sure Super,I think supporting the Sharks is the most frustrating thing team in the world.. Always have all the cards and somehow manage to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory in knock out games.. But will stay positive and hope this year goes better.

Winston the article starts like this-

The Springboks’ trophy cabinet may be jam-packed after a year in which they recorded a number of historic achievements but the Sharks’ once-promising attempts to acquire further elusive silverware ended in heartbreak. This is the tale of 2009.

Sorry man but a Bulls tale of 2009 is much sweeter, in fact historical.

11 – Easy guests are most welcome…..Actually we only have one set on ‘High Maintenence’ visitors, love ’em, but they are exhausting!!

When does the Super 14 start again super? Do you think the Bulls are really letting their hair down or will they continue with a lighter training schedule at this time of the year?

Winston – At least you get to have a great party on the braai fields in Durban even if your team loose!
    Harder if you only follow from the comfort of your armchair!!

Round 1
    Blues v Hurricanes12 Feb
    Force v Brumbies12 Feb
    Cheetahs v Bulls12 Feb
    Crusaders v Highlanders13 Feb
    Reds v Waratahs13 Feb
    Lions v Stormers13 Feb
    Sharks v Chiefs13 Feb

Carol, my wish for the Bulls is that the young players who had some exposure last year step up a notch. The experienced guys will most probably be right there but if we can build those young ones and still win a place in the finals that will be great for me.

Yeah Carol the vibe is always awesome,has resulted in some serious hangovers in the past few years πŸ™‚

Cant argue with you Super,the Bulls did everything in 2009 but you guys lost your best player and you have some aging stars so hopefully the powers that be have started a succession plan,they have a similar problem that the Boks do.

OK 12th Feb is when life returns back to ‘normal’ – At least this season the teams will be more familiar to me.

2009 was a great year to be a Bulls Fan…….!! πŸ˜†

I am looking forward to see how Habana plays for the Stormers. He is a big loss for us, cant believe we did not fight more for him. But i think the Union was fedup with his manager.

Must also say his understanding with FdP and MS made a big part of his success at the Bulls. At least we give him away in prime condition, if he fails they cant blame us. πŸ˜†

The players that worry me at the Bulls is Bakkies and FdP and Habana was also a candidate for time off, injured. But with Spies, Stegman , D Potgieter, Danie and Vic i feel we have a few good years left with them. I personally like Pedrie a lot, he is a great asset to our team.

Winston the part of that article that deals with the Sharks will follow. In my opinion you guys play too many players and also too many out of position. The Bulls did not have as many lose forwards and sticked mostly with the same combinations. Thats how i recall the season.

Article-
    However, it hasn’t quite been such a rosy year for the Sharks, who failed to build on the solid foundations they laid in both the Super 14 and Currie Cup, stumbling in the home straight of each competition.

The coastal franchise started the Super 14 in style, winning seven out of their first eight games, three of which were on tour but, after a shock defeat to the Cheetahs in April, their season began to unravel.

Having done an inordinate amount of work on defence during the competition, injuries started to take their toll and a fatigued and depleted team was unable to replicate its early form when it really mattered, losing four out of the team’s final five games to miss out on a play-off berth which had once looked so assured.

In the Currie Cup, though, the Sharks actually exceeded expectations for much of the pool stages, with a number of second-string players performing admirably in the absence of a host of Springboks, guiding the team to the top of the log.

Due largely to their hard work, the Sharks managed to finish in pole position, booking a third consecutive home semi-final, with the returning Boks having been re-integrated into the side.

However, for one reason or another, the team never quite gelled once the Boks were back and, with the first-choice combinations not firing, a resurgent Cheetahs team managed to overturn a 15-point deficit to inflict yet another heartbreaking defeat over their Durban foes.

After the disappointment of the Super 14 and Currie Cup conclusions, Sharks coach John Plumtree stressed that they would head into the new year with a resolute determination to right the wrongs of those failed campaigns.

“I think there’s a fair bit to prove, especially to ourselves. This year we set ourselves up in both competitions to do well and we let ourselves down at the end of them. Missing out on the Currie Cup final and missing out on the Super 14 semi-final wasn’t good enough. It’s important to learn from what we did wrong!

Yeah,I think the thing that you guys need is good player management but I just feel that you guys are lacking that one superstar to create something out of nothing in the backline but who knows,maybe you guys will unearth the next big thing this year. I’m off,chat tomorrow. Take Care.

Me too, good night

The problems for the Sharks in the Super14 started with the injuries to Pienaar and Steyn. Flyhalf and centers may still be problematic for them.

I hope all are having a great start to 2010.

Family keeping me busy – but soon they will be gone and I will be back.

Enjoy the break.

Congrats to England on winning the cricket too. Well done Carol

Morning All. Happy New Year and all!

Carol, you met the typical Stormers fan, they have all the gear but no clue. A bit like the Sharks who have all the players and no cup.

Well said Loose Head πŸ™‚

Morning Winston.

It is a hot as hell in Slaapstad today. My mother in law feels at home.
    Going for a swim and them off the Zevenwacht for chocolate and wine tasting.

Total 195 users including 0 member, 195 guests, 0 bot online