The Sharks will consider loose forward acquisition Willem Alberts for their friendly matches next week and challenge SA Rugby to change the regulation prohibiting this.

The Golden Lions Rugby Union (GLRU) and the Sharks are currently in a contractual dispute about the services of Alberts and his former Lions team-mate Louis Ludik. The South African Rugby Union (SARU) has already indicated that it will not step in to resolve the matter.

Alberts and Ludik have still not received clearance certificates from the GLRU and SARU’s regulations prevent players from turning out for the Sharks while they are registered at the Lions.

However, Sharks chief executive Brian van Zyl expressed his disappointment on Wednesday that SARU did not want to step in to resolve the dispute.

He said that the Sharks would not hesitate considering Alberts for next week’s friendly matches against the Western Force and Stormers, even if Alberts may not be available because of his honeymoon.

Ludik is still recovering from a knee injury and will only be able to play in February again.

“We would like to resolve the matter. I think it’s rather a matter of SA Rugby having to revisit their regulations. It’s disappointing that they do not want to get involved,” he said.

He does not believe that arbitration, which may ultimately be necessary to settle the dispute, will keep Alberts and Ludik off the field.

“There was already arbitration in the Jaque Fourie case and the documentation is there for all to see,” he said.

Johannesburg – The contractual dispute between the Lions and Sharks about who has the right to pick Willem Alberts and Louis Ludik is threatening to turn into a crisis for the players and the teams.

However, SARU legal manager Christo Ferreira ruled out the notion that the governing body would get involved.

“Our regulations state that a player may not play for a new province in a friendly game or competition prior to being released by his previous union,” said Ferreira.

In fact, it may be months before Alberts and Ludik can play if the dispute is not resolved soon.

The South African Rugby Union (SARU) said on Tuesday that the players may not play for the Sharks until they have received clearance certificates from the Golden Lions Rugby Union (GLRU). This includes friendly fixtures, as well as the Super 14.

Ludik is still injured, but this ruling will prevent Alberts from playing for the Sharks in the Neo Africa Tri-Series friendlies against the Western Force and Stormers in Cape Town next week.

Where is King Solomons wisdom?

82 Responses to Lions-Sharks- player spat

The Sharks are poachers and the Lions are just plain pathetic.

Loosehead, they’re all poachers these days, except your team, they’re the poachees.

I am sorry but … “Alberts may not be available because of his honeymoon” ? 😯

What kind of committed Rugger-B*gger is unavailable due to being on his honeymoon ?? Isn’t that what the Dec-Jan window is supposed to be for ? 🙄

Fact is that Willem and Louis are still contracted to the GLRU at the moment and not the Sharks.

Challenge SARU to change regulations? Bwahahahahaha. Why not just pick up the phone and offer the GLRU a transfer fee for both players? They’ve invested a shit load in these two and for any-one to just expect them to release them because they “want to go” is just rediculous.

4@ Willa – Are they still contracted? If a contract is not valid, then it does not exist or at the least is not binding. In legal terminology an unvalid contract is regarded as “Pro non scripto”, which means it is deemed never to have been written.

5@Willa – GBS, that’s the thing that everybody keeps missing.

These contracts have not been declared as “non-binding” by any arbitrator or court. There has been no attempt by the Sharks or Eramsmus to get this done. So until this is done – if it is done – they are still Lions. And they are in breech of contract.

The contracts are not the same as Fourie’s.

willa the agent of the 2 players concerned has confirmed the contracts are exactly the same as well as their attourneys, or are you saying the agents and attourneys cant read ??

the point is still that saru should intervene and end the stupidity , no matter which way it went

6 – Willa,

What is the point of Lions fighting this? Alberts and Ludik don’t want to play for the Lions. They will never give 100%. No use keeping players if they don’t want to be there.

noone wants saru to change regulation, just show spine in solving issues arinsing within their business

every union is a part of that business

6@ Willa – You still do not get it, do you…. it is not necessary for an Arbitrator / Court to DECLARE an unvalid contract unvalid. If it is terminally flawed, it is terminally flawed…. that is unfortunately fact, brother, simple as that.

The Lions allege that they have valid contracts, but if the case is actually that the same errata appears on the Alberts and Ludik papers as was prevalent in the Jaque Fourie documents, then there is only a sham of an attempt at contracts. If indeed the purported contracts differ from the Jaque Fourie case, then the Lions have a point, only then….

If other material aspects of the Alberts and Ludik contracts are not completed or flawed in another manner, then the Lions’ problem still exists…. contracts being materially flawed. If however, as you allege that the contracts are not the same as Jaque Fourie AND there are no material flaws, then Alberts and Ludik are way out of line and so are the Sharks.

Whatever the situation, do the Lions still have the hearts or the loyalty of these 2 players…. NO…. so I would have let go if I was the Lions anyway… turn the page and concentrate on what renewal the future holds.

Do not think for one minute that I am happy with the way Jaque Fourie, Alberts & Ludik have conducted themselves in this whole process…. quite frankly I think they smell…. and possibly so does the Sharks attitude and the Lions attitude!

9 – Sharky, Howzit mate, Agree. Did Saru not help with the Fourie issue with WP?

Saru should sort it out.

Damn have to go out now, just when I log on.

Back later.

agreed GBS , and like i said even if saru went against the sharks and the players had to stay at the lions so be it

the fact is they are spineless in not saughting this out

one can argue as much as we want , the sharks feel they are right , as do the lions

GBS i could not have said it better then you and knowing your line of work i know your judgement is 100% right

7@GBS – I get everything GBS. Then why did Fourie’s case go to arbitration if it doesn’t have to be declared “non-binding”? Maar nou ja, jy sal seker beter weet want jy weet alles.

The Lions don’t want to keep them. They want the Sharks to pay them a transfer fee. Exactly what the Lions did when they bought Lombaard out of his contract at the Griquas. It that so unfair to expect after investing time and money in these players? I don’t think so.

8@Puma – We don’t want them back. We want a return on the investment we made. We only want what’s fair.

Sharky Forever, the contracts are the same.

But the technicality that Fourie got off, does not exist in their contracts. They negotiated remuneration for the next two years and it was stipulated in their contracts.

oops my bad

good morning Willa
    guten haben senior GBS
    hiyas Puma bro

hope you are are all wee fit and ready for the action

14@ Willa – Nie nodig om beledigend te raak met jou “jy weet alles” remark nie, my flok… dis tyd om volwasse te wees hieroor, om logies te wees oor die Alberts en Ludik kwessie…. nie beledigend of wraakgedrewe nie.

willa was that nessasary??

gbs weet mos alles?

he is a lawyer afterall and is surely aware of how these things work????

16@ Tjarky_unfortunately_stuck_with_a_kak_team – Hellooooooooooooooooooo

😆 eish boet bassop the tjarkies gaan n bevokte pak woorspelers he met alberts and mostert wat ingekom het

julle gaan now bietjies bietjies skyt 😆

kom drink n bier of 3 broer

by the way GBS have you read John Smits boek?? i have much more respect for him now
    and he says there is a brilliant friendship between the bulls and sharks teams

and here we sit and think they hate each other 😆

GBS_ons_gaan_bietjies_bietjies_skyt_die_jaar_:crying:

20@ Tjarky – When I get the chance I’ll come drink a few sletsappies there… but I’m seriously under the kosh here today and tomorrow….. seriaaaaaaaaaaas!

lol its cool bro
    we will catch up soon

catch you guys later im off to go get supplies

ciao for now

20 @ Tjarkie – The last time I had a chance to read a book was about 2 years ago…. and I think I just browsed through it… hehehe

10 – GBS, once a lawyer always a lawyer!!

Hey, Jim is on his way to add the rest of the stuff to my laptop!! Hopefully it will be fit to fly later!!

This is simply what happens when you have no leadership at the top.
    It is anarchy, as a result of the total wishy washy ineffectiveness of a man called Hoskins.
    A political puppet, simply bending in the wind.
    Louis Luyt would have sorted this out in about 1 minute, before any of us even got to hear about it.
    But we cannot live in the past, even though we have gone backwards, now can we!!

27: Ai, hoe mis ons oom Louis met sy faksmasjien ! Net een laaaanb bieeeeeeeeeeeep en al die moeilikgeit is uitgesorteer.

Dink hy sou die hele spul sommer almal gefaks het !

check this amazing picture…

Mouse Riders

BDB, yes and now it is even better, as oom Louis just sends everyone a SMS, ONE TIME!!

Total 197 users including 0 member, 197 guests, 0 bot online