Coach Peter de Villiers and the selectors have made six changes, including two positional, to the Springbok starting XV that faced Italy last week for Saturday’s final test of 2009 at Croke Park in Dublin against Ireland.

The Official SA Rugby web site says the following:

In the front row, Tendai Mtawarira returns to the starting XV in place of Wian du Preez and BJ Botha starts at tighthead with captain John Smit moving to hooker in the place of Adriaan Strauss.

Victor Matfield returns to the starting XV, replacing Andries Bekker, Schalk Burger is back at flank with Danie Rossouw moving from the side of the scrum to number eight. There is one change to the backline with Wynand Olivier starting at 12 in place of the injured Adi Jacobs.

There are four more changes on the bench – hooker Bismarck du Plessis and prop CJ van der Linde return from injury, whilst Irish-based centre Jean de Villiers is recalled and flank Dewald Potgieter is included in the Test 22 for the first time.

Smit will equal Percy Montgomery’s record as the most capped Springbok against Ireland (six caps), while Jaque Fourie will equal Jean de Villers’ record as the most capped Springbok centre (43 Tests).

The Springbok team is: (test caps in brackets):

15 Zane Kirchner (3)
14 JP Pietersen (32)
13 Jaque Fourie (53)
12 Wynand Olivier (26)
11 Bryan Habana (56)
10 Morne Steyn (11)
9 Fourie du Preez (54)
8 Danie Rossouw (45)
7 Schalk Burger (54)
6 Heinrich Brüssow (12)
5 Victor Matfield (91)
4 Bakkies Botha (65)
3 BJ Botha (18)
2 John Smit (92) – captain
1 Tendai Mtawarira (21)

Reserves:

16 Bismarck du Plessis (31)
17 CJ van der Linde (57)
18 Andries Bekker (2)
19 Jean Deysel (1)
20 Dewald Potgieter (uncapped)
21 Ruan Pienaar (36)
22 Jean de Villiers (54)

596 Responses to Springbok Team to face Paddies

206 – Carol, Yes it is. Have had it for years though but under control. Then a few weeks back lifted something heavy and it all came back with a bang.

Was going to do another spinal block well not a spinal block but something else about a week or so back, but my surgeon said he wanted to go in and kill off the 3 nerves there. I just stopped listening to him right there and never went back. Will see another surgeon in Joburg in the New Year. Will just have to deal with this pain until then. It is not there all the time but a lot of the time. It may just settle down. Hoping.

My GP had that done and he now can not feel his legs. Well the top part is numb. So have to think about it. Pain free and just top part of the legs numb and still can walk? Maybe do it but will have to speak to my surgeon in Joburg first he is first class. Like I said it may settle down.

209 – Puma, I have just read that The Captain is looking forward to playing this match as a hooker. They are really up for the last game of the season and he has been purchasing ‘Nemo’ toys for his little child!!
    The wonders of modern communication!

208 – You RT guys in the UK are a close lot hey!! hehe. Must be great though. Are you all still going to the BaaBaas game together?

211 – Puma – Yikes, sounds like you have faith in the Joburg guy though, probably a good plan to hear his opinion.
    I remember having a bad back and watching a 90 year old woman running in the London Marachon on TV and I could hardly shuffle from room to room!!
    Pain is a great leveller!
    Only Bakkies will know how far he can push himself! It is a long journey back to South Africa on a plane if your back is out!!

212 – Carol that is good news. John does speak a lot about the love he has for his children in his book.

Read on News24 that he said playing hooker was like riding a bike. I said something similar after watching him play back there. He played so well there I said “John took to playing hooker like a duck takes to water” It was easy for him.

Should be a really good game tomorrow. Still thinking about my superbru for the AB/France game and some others.

211 @ Puma

Good luck with that back, being tall iv’e had some problems myself, not to serious though.

I believe in second opinions when it comes to ones health, so go for it.

213 – Puma, yes 4man, Supa, JL1, PaulD and I (and a few non bloggers) are meeting up in a pub in Twickenham before the game…..
    I felt like a midget when I first met them all, some of you Saffas are SO tall!!
    They are great company and I am really looking forward to the day, heavens they can drink!! 😆

214 – Carol they need to get him into 1st class. He will be fine there.

Back pain is the worst. Well knees are just as bad. I also have a slipped disc in my neck. C 6/7 area the same place Burger had his neck fused. Mine went well with traction. Had traction there 3 times so far it is fine somedays it aches but otherwise that is fine. Try never to work on a laptop. That puts too much pressure on the discs in the neck by looking down with chin towards the chest. I hardly ever use my lap top but a large screen and sit straight up. Much better for the back and neck.

I’m hungry now. Gonna have a pub lunch somewhere. How does a Samoosa basket sound?

217 – WE like our wine and beer Carol…hehehe. That is the South African life style. Braai/rugby/cricket sun, swimming and wine/beer. I only have wine on the weekends. Or if those Scots come over then it is just hectec for too much even for me 😆

Had a big jol in my youth. So never missed out. Now more relaxed.. 😀

Puma, Snoek – Need to do ‘stuff’…..catch you later!

Snoek – sounds fattening!! 😆

219 – Snoek that sounds great. Almost lunch time for me too.

Puma – To be honest it sounds like you may just have had too much fun and have worn yourself out!!
    Must go now!

222 – Carol it is not fattening at all. It is just very salty though. You get that Fish in the Cape.

224 – Carol, Had plenty but done plenty sports too.

Cheers Carol. I too am out of here now. Back later.

Hi all

Ola Devil 😀

Just about to go to Lunch and see you up there Irish. How you mate? How is the weather there today?

Irish, Have you heard any news on Bakkies? Read on Sports24 that he never trained yesterday and still has that back injury.

228 – RP How are you? How you see ABs doing tomorrow against the French?

Okay just me here. Off to lunch back later. Very hot here today. Up in Joburg and hope to get back to the coast tomorrow.

@230 – Puma – No nothing mate. Also heard he may withdraw, but we are taking all this with a pinch of salt mate – seems like PdV is trying to pull wool over our eyes mate.

Hey Puma – how good was I with your team. Had it spot on with the exeption of Oliver. Still think JdV is starting though. Talk here is JdV will start.

All Blacks to whip the Frogs tomorrow. Just a feeling I have!

Hi Irish,

Any new and interesting articles about the game in the Irish press today?

233 – Irish

PDV doesn’t play games like that, if they are worried about bakkies, he is really in trouble.

Cheers okes, going out for lunch.

Irish to squeak past the Boks – very little in it.

231 Puma

Gosh 😯 no patience !! I “think” it could go either way, so went with my heart.

@fender – no not really – talk that JdV will start and that Bakkies will play. They had the starting team spot on with except for Oliver.

Total 103 users including 0 member, 103 guests, 0 bot online