Coach Peter de Villiers and the selectors have made six changes, including two positional, to the Springbok starting XV that faced Italy last week for Saturday’s final test of 2009 at Croke Park in Dublin against Ireland.

The Official SA Rugby web site says the following:

In the front row, Tendai Mtawarira returns to the starting XV in place of Wian du Preez and BJ Botha starts at tighthead with captain John Smit moving to hooker in the place of Adriaan Strauss.

Victor Matfield returns to the starting XV, replacing Andries Bekker, Schalk Burger is back at flank with Danie Rossouw moving from the side of the scrum to number eight. There is one change to the backline with Wynand Olivier starting at 12 in place of the injured Adi Jacobs.

There are four more changes on the bench – hooker Bismarck du Plessis and prop CJ van der Linde return from injury, whilst Irish-based centre Jean de Villiers is recalled and flank Dewald Potgieter is included in the Test 22 for the first time.

Smit will equal Percy Montgomery’s record as the most capped Springbok against Ireland (six caps), while Jaque Fourie will equal Jean de Villers’ record as the most capped Springbok centre (43 Tests).

The Springbok team is: (test caps in brackets):

15 Zane Kirchner (3)
14 JP Pietersen (32)
13 Jaque Fourie (53)
12 Wynand Olivier (26)
11 Bryan Habana (56)
10 Morne Steyn (11)
9 Fourie du Preez (54)
8 Danie Rossouw (45)
7 Schalk Burger (54)
6 Heinrich Brüssow (12)
5 Victor Matfield (91)
4 Bakkies Botha (65)
3 BJ Botha (18)
2 John Smit (92) – captain
1 Tendai Mtawarira (21)

Reserves:

16 Bismarck du Plessis (31)
17 CJ van der Linde (57)
18 Andries Bekker (2)
19 Jean Deysel (1)
20 Dewald Potgieter (uncapped)
21 Ruan Pienaar (36)
22 Jean de Villiers (54)

596 Responses to Springbok Team to face Paddies

@476 – nerves naa – but my stomache has butterflies…

Snoek – Actually am off to a party in London later so I will save my drinking for then!!
    don’t let me stop you though!! 😉

Irish – What time to you hit the pub on a Friday? When i think of an Irish person, i see them standing in a pub drinking beer and singing songs.

Is that more or less correct?

@478 Carol – you have three devils already – now you want another.

Irish 466
    Okay, that was a good come back 😆

Need to toddle off now & pack a bag – I am off to civilisation for the weekend 😀

I have a Jack Russel, a Boer-bull cross boxer (he is huge) and an alsation….

Jack Russel of course thinks he is a rottweiler

473 – Carol, Just trying to think of my superbru with Arg/Scotland. Wales would beat Scotland at the moment but knowing by how much would sort my mind out with Arg there.

Scotland defended like demons the other night against Oz but were also a bit lucky with Gits not getting some over.

Arg too can be very good on the day.

Cheers RP, enjoy

482 – Carol

Thanks for giving permission. I allready had a beer for lunch.

@483 Snoek – I didn’t go to court today, so only a few here at the office – will leave work at about 12:30 – pop off to Paddy’s for one or two …….. or three and then off home. Tonight is a huge night at Havannas – so won’t miss out. The meeting place for the young and restless.

Just waiting for the toss now. Should be soon. Weather in Cape Town looks awesome. Huge big blue sky. Cape Town is brilliant in the summer.

Are you getting the cricket game Carol? You will see some of the Mountain back drop at the back of the Stadium if you are.

Puma & Carol,

You have mail…. Polla asked me to forward a picture of his rather large cat….

487 Puma Scotland should beat Arg though

Smith won the toss and elected to bat first

Puma – Making choices is hard when you are on the top of the log. 😉

Good luck

ek wil ook sien GBS, why am I always excluded &(^%((#%&#%^*

Bye RP – great chatting again. Pop on every now and then – always great chattin to ya.

490 – Irish

That sounds lekker, and don’t let a lady tie you down too soon. Enjoy life, you only live once.

Well time to say goodbye – check you out tomorrow. May the best team win.

Cheers all.

I also want to see the big cat, selective friendships here on RT i see.

497 and dont you go tying a lady down hehehe she also needs her freedom….

Bye Irish

Snoek @ 497 – Hehehe – to be sure mate.

499 wat kan ek se Snoek, snik snik always on the outside looking in 🙂

Cheers Irish, have a good day.

Sorry man..I dont have all your email addys and I dont want to use ole GBS as a postmaster!..lol

Carol adn Puma got such a fright they have not been back yet hehehehehe

Outta here – Bye

Dis ok Polla, ons spot maar net bietjie hoor….

484 – Irish, I can handle Little Devils one more would make no difference!! You have mail btw!

Snoek – cheers !! (Hic) 😳

Princess – Have a great weekend and enjoy the rugby.

Puma – No cricket on our TV I’m afraid…..

Polla – THAT IS SOME CAT!! Wouldn’t want to argue with it!! Actually surprised it didn’t eat the dog!

504 – Polla

GBS can put a “Pollas Big Cat” thread. 😆

#505…lol…Yep, I feed it Irish Stew…made from real Irishmen!…Where did that little Devil run off to now?

Total 133 users including 0 member, 133 guests, 0 bot online