Coach Peter de Villiers and the selectors have made six changes, including two positional, to the Springbok starting XV that faced Italy last week for Saturday’s final test of 2009 at Croke Park in Dublin against Ireland.

The Official SA Rugby web site says the following:

In the front row, Tendai Mtawarira returns to the starting XV in place of Wian du Preez and BJ Botha starts at tighthead with captain John Smit moving to hooker in the place of Adriaan Strauss.

Victor Matfield returns to the starting XV, replacing Andries Bekker, Schalk Burger is back at flank with Danie Rossouw moving from the side of the scrum to number eight. There is one change to the backline with Wynand Olivier starting at 12 in place of the injured Adi Jacobs.

There are four more changes on the bench – hooker Bismarck du Plessis and prop CJ van der Linde return from injury, whilst Irish-based centre Jean de Villiers is recalled and flank Dewald Potgieter is included in the Test 22 for the first time.

Smit will equal Percy Montgomery’s record as the most capped Springbok against Ireland (six caps), while Jaque Fourie will equal Jean de Villers’ record as the most capped Springbok centre (43 Tests).

The Springbok team is: (test caps in brackets):

15 Zane Kirchner (3)
14 JP Pietersen (32)
13 Jaque Fourie (53)
12 Wynand Olivier (26)
11 Bryan Habana (56)
10 Morne Steyn (11)
9 Fourie du Preez (54)
8 Danie Rossouw (45)
7 Schalk Burger (54)
6 Heinrich Brüssow (12)
5 Victor Matfield (91)
4 Bakkies Botha (65)
3 BJ Botha (18)
2 John Smit (92) – captain
1 Tendai Mtawarira (21)

Reserves:

16 Bismarck du Plessis (31)
17 CJ van der Linde (57)
18 Andries Bekker (2)
19 Jean Deysel (1)
20 Dewald Potgieter (uncapped)
21 Ruan Pienaar (36)
22 Jean de Villiers (54)

596 Responses to Springbok Team to face Paddies

Helloooooooo to all the jobless masses, muppits, moepels & mopkoppe!

Oerwoudkat… I’ll do the Cricket Thread now…

Fark, why do I have to work while you lot play?

@356 Puma – to be sure

@357 RP – is that all he does – heard otherwise!

#358…As long as they dont shyte on your clubs they are OK!..No crime!..lol

354@Irish ok just checked the photos and now i see why you such a handful

359 – Polla we sure do 😀 Especially this year 😉

GBS helloooo Mental bloke 😆

@361 GBS – cause its your job – ours is to ensure your job is jobbing – so no complaints…

Having so much fun reminds me of the good ol’ days on voldy… naa this is STREAKS better 😆

353 – Polla, They stole everything out of my golf cart once. Sun glasses, golf balls the whole lot. I don’t play anymore but still see them hang around the halfway house especially and they climb into everyones golf cart there.

Oi Irish!…Did you just came in from outside when you took your pic?…Looks like there was a gale blowing that day as well!..lol

@364 Treehugger – you say it as if it is a bad thing!!! 😆

Irish 362
    Well, his duties do include the application of sun tan lotion & other miscellaneous tasks 😉

361 – GBS, Thanks boeta for the crici thread. You know how much I enjoy the cricket. Then so does Super, Boerboel and Snoek. So there are some of us here that watch the crici.

Need to win the toss today.

@368 Puma – Oh are they wearing your sunglasses and playing with your balls – is that how you recognise them – 😳

#353..Thats exactly where they “jumped” us. Just after the halfway house while waiting to tee-off on the 10th (or the 1st) I can’t remember the hole, but there is a big banana/palm tree and they all hide in there and jump into the carts and grab everthing in the cubby-hole!

@ 369 Polla – I’m gonna send another one! I am told I look like a 14 year old with a bad hair day…lol…

GBS

You are an enabler 😆

@371 RP – I can do dat too hehehehe

373 – Irish…… 😆 That sounds bad…hehe. There are far too many of them little okes. Not just in the estate I live in but the whole of KZN province. Even seen them once sitting on a 6th floor apartment patio. They are everywhere.

@374 Polla – where they jumped you… really naughtly little devils them hey…

Hellooooooooooooooooooooooo from hot and sunny Slaapstad!

Oh joy…..The Irish v Bokke and the Wales v Aus games are BOTH going to be on terrestrial TV!!!
    I am going to lock the door and take the phone off the hook!!
    This NEVER happens here.

Hello you lot, it’s busy here!! 😆

@378 Puma – all tongue in cheek buddy. Just having fun – tis Friday and tis a big day tomorrow and I want to have fun while the sun (ooops the clouds) are high…lol…

CAN’T WAIT FOR KICK-OFF… NOT LIFT OFF

While you guys are talking about the monkeys i have them thumping around and wrestleing on the roof and sitting on the stoep as you speak.

374 – Polla… 😆 Having a laugh. Seen them do that many times. They hang around the halfway houses because of the food left behind then take advantage of what is in the carts too. Some times while you playing too keep a eye out on your cart. They are quick and clever. Know where to look. They look in the cubby hole first and also the golf bag. More clever than we give them credit for.

@380 Loosehead – Hello from a miserable windy water drenched Cork city. 🙁

@381 Carol – Hello M’am Carol. You got mail…

Irish 377
    Yes, but you sound a bit too intelligent … Julio knows his place … I think you would be all full of opinions & such like … sounds worryingly troublesome if you ask me … Julio just stands there, shirtless, & does as he is told 😉

Africa sounds great – they are such cute little creatures – naughty but cute!

383 – Treehugs. Makes me want to go back to my home there now. Love them buggers. May head back tomorrow but for sure next week.

This week I had a monster cat in my study here in Joburg. Just went out my study for about 3 min and there was this cat that must have weighed about 30kg on my desk. Almost died of a heart attack…….hehehe. Must have a strong heart. At first thought Monkey then thought man, you in Joburg what the heck is that. Crapped myself well almost. 😀 Who feeds their cat to grow so huge. Looked like a little lion cub. It climbed out the window fast the fat bugger…hehehe.

385- Irish Devil, tell me the truth………..are you actually Martin Bailey?

Total 548 users including 0 member, 548 guests, 0 bot online