Coach Peter de Villiers and the selectors have made six changes, including two positional, to the Springbok starting XV that faced Italy last week for Saturday’s final test of 2009 at Croke Park in Dublin against Ireland.

The Official SA Rugby web site says the following:

In the front row, Tendai Mtawarira returns to the starting XV in place of Wian du Preez and BJ Botha starts at tighthead with captain John Smit moving to hooker in the place of Adriaan Strauss.

Victor Matfield returns to the starting XV, replacing Andries Bekker, Schalk Burger is back at flank with Danie Rossouw moving from the side of the scrum to number eight. There is one change to the backline with Wynand Olivier starting at 12 in place of the injured Adi Jacobs.

There are four more changes on the bench – hooker Bismarck du Plessis and prop CJ van der Linde return from injury, whilst Irish-based centre Jean de Villiers is recalled and flank Dewald Potgieter is included in the Test 22 for the first time.

Smit will equal Percy Montgomery’s record as the most capped Springbok against Ireland (six caps), while Jaque Fourie will equal Jean de Villers’ record as the most capped Springbok centre (43 Tests).

The Springbok team is: (test caps in brackets):

15 Zane Kirchner (3)
14 JP Pietersen (32)
13 Jaque Fourie (53)
12 Wynand Olivier (26)
11 Bryan Habana (56)
10 Morne Steyn (11)
9 Fourie du Preez (54)
8 Danie Rossouw (45)
7 Schalk Burger (54)
6 Heinrich Brüssow (12)
5 Victor Matfield (91)
4 Bakkies Botha (65)
3 BJ Botha (18)
2 John Smit (92) – captain
1 Tendai Mtawarira (21)

Reserves:

16 Bismarck du Plessis (31)
17 CJ van der Linde (57)
18 Andries Bekker (2)
19 Jean Deysel (1)
20 Dewald Potgieter (uncapped)
21 Ruan Pienaar (36)
22 Jean de Villiers (54)

596 Responses to Springbok Team to face Paddies

Puma 323

My instinct said ABs by 19 but the weather forecast says wet & cold so probably not a wide open game … hence I went with the ABs by 9.

@327 RP – Wht is that? Sounds like that dude from Cuba to me!!!! 😯

329 – Treehugs. You pick up quick where I live 😀

They were talking about a feeding station and rscue station being built there but so far have not seen it.

Love those buggers. They come into my garden and eat all my little sour oranges. The Impala come into the garden too and eat the flowers.. Feels like a litte gamepark here..hehe.

Rugby Princess, please take your phone,point it at yourself and take a photo of self and send to site. Thats what i did, need to see who has this amazeing sense of humour.

@331 RP – Conservative scoreline that! The Frogs win one out of 5. So a non event there.

meant rescue. Carol will be proud of all my mistakes 😆 It is a Puma thing she says…..hehe. Wont let her down. 😉

@334 Treehugger – hmmm you quite the looker too…

@333 Puma – do you own a zoo or a game farm? 😉

331 – RP if I go with ABs going to go with 5 or 7. ABs still run it in wet conditions. They used to it. Us Saffas are NOT. We used to the hard dry fields with sun on our backs. Going to tough for our Bokke tomorrow in the rain and wind.

We moved from 50 to 338 in just over twenty minutes. My time flies when we having fun. Just hope the Irish feel the same tomorrow. 😆

Puma@333 Not a dizzy blond all the time 🙂 , Remember i have been reading voldy everyday for over two and a half years so have picked up on a few things, like is back under the name Rossini or something. So dont get into a argument there.

Think I’ll go to Newlands and watch some cricket later on…Hope the Proteas can give the Poms a bash tonight…then tomorrow the Boks cook up an Irish Stew…then my weekend will be perfect!

338 – Irish, No mate. Live in a golf estate and there are monkeys everywhere in KZN and they are bloody naughty too. Love the buggers though. We have Impala there too.

Irish 332

It is more towards Mexico … Crushed Ice … Little Cointreau … splash of Lime Juice … Jose Cuervo & you have the perfect end to the day right there in your glass 😀

@342 Polla – would love the Proteas to whip the Pommies mate – but think it is a bit premature to expect a double miracle… 😉

@343 Puma – you wanna adopt a great, kind, hard working, respectable son? Ok take out the great, kind, hard working, respectable and leave the son there… hehehe. My these bloggers are rich.

Puma 339
    Forget running the ball – I think it will be tough just getting the Boks out of the sheds tomorrow 😆 Also big kicks will be out unless the wind drops … you may have to make your yards the hard way … down in the wet, cold mud 😯

@344 RP – sounds like a scene from a pool party – crushed ice, splash here and there, perfect day…

341 – Treehugs. I picked that one up too. Been blogging that side too long not to notice. Lots change their nicks there but I pick them up. They blog the same. Or some spell some words the same and I pick it up from there.

Irish eish thankyou am blushing, didnt know how to respond thats why i took so long

Kiwis by 13 – Irish by 9. The only two games that really count tomorrow – as who cares about the Welsh and the Ozzies.

347 – RP, Then we are used to playing in NZ in that kinda weather. Boks should be up for it. Tired and many injuries now but still say Boks by 5. Ireland have a good side but drew with Oz. Think they will up their game for us though.

There are two golf estates were the Monkeys are terribly naughty!…Glendower in JHB and Mount Edgecombe in KZN….Played both of them, but at ME the monkeys actually climbed into our cart and stole our choclates energy bars and fruit!

@350 Treehugger – why? If it comes from me it counts…

Puma@349 lol You and i would never get away with changeing our nics, we make so many booboos, we would be found out quickly 🙂

351 – Irish, Those are the two big games tomorrow. Boks/Ireland

France/ABs

Just not sure why France always play their games soooooooooooo late. Poor ABs never get to play in the day light at home. Probably only play in day light when the come to SA…….hehehe.

Irish 348
    & let’s not forget Julio the cabana boy to make the drinks & just look like the hot little stud muffin that he is 😆

@Polla 353 – Wow so crime even amongst the monkeys. Gosh it is a dangerous country that one. 😯

#356 and then we make it dark for them anyway Puma!..lol

355 – Treehugs. Me for sure you don’t make as many as I do. I just type never check my post and just submit. Only see it after. Not too worried……hehe.

Wont change my nick. Enjoyed the Argies at the world cup and thought my nick would be after their good performance there. No-one else had it here.

I too read this blog for about a year and half before starting to blog here. How time marches on. Almost two years blogging here now. Well on the otherside.

Total 687 users including 0 member, 687 guests, 0 bot online