Coach Peter de Villiers and the selectors have made six changes, including two positional, to the Springbok starting XV that faced Italy last week for Saturday’s final test of 2009 at Croke Park in Dublin against Ireland.

The Official SA Rugby web site says the following:

In the front row, Tendai Mtawarira returns to the starting XV in place of Wian du Preez and BJ Botha starts at tighthead with captain John Smit moving to hooker in the place of Adriaan Strauss.

Victor Matfield returns to the starting XV, replacing Andries Bekker, Schalk Burger is back at flank with Danie Rossouw moving from the side of the scrum to number eight. There is one change to the backline with Wynand Olivier starting at 12 in place of the injured Adi Jacobs.

There are four more changes on the bench – hooker Bismarck du Plessis and prop CJ van der Linde return from injury, whilst Irish-based centre Jean de Villiers is recalled and flank Dewald Potgieter is included in the Test 22 for the first time.

Smit will equal Percy Montgomery’s record as the most capped Springbok against Ireland (six caps), while Jaque Fourie will equal Jean de Villers’ record as the most capped Springbok centre (43 Tests).

The Springbok team is: (test caps in brackets):

15 Zane Kirchner (3)
14 JP Pietersen (32)
13 Jaque Fourie (53)
12 Wynand Olivier (26)
11 Bryan Habana (56)
10 Morne Steyn (11)
9 Fourie du Preez (54)
8 Danie Rossouw (45)
7 Schalk Burger (54)
6 Heinrich Brüssow (12)
5 Victor Matfield (91)
4 Bakkies Botha (65)
3 BJ Botha (18)
2 John Smit (92) – captain
1 Tendai Mtawarira (21)

Reserves:

16 Bismarck du Plessis (31)
17 CJ van der Linde (57)
18 Andries Bekker (2)
19 Jean Deysel (1)
20 Dewald Potgieter (uncapped)
21 Ruan Pienaar (36)
22 Jean de Villiers (54)

596 Responses to Springbok Team to face Paddies

1 8 9 10 11 12 20

@ 268 Fender – I like you too. 😉

Polla 264

As ready as they can be … do we know which Frogs will rock up though ?

Some Irish mate of mine taught me to “speak” with the Irish accent a few years ago…He said I must read this fast…”Whale Oil Beef Hooked”…It actually worked!..lol

@269 RP – Hehehe – yeah she is Irish then. My nana used to drink Guinness too – well she used to drink anything with alcohol when available. Can’t remember her ever buying any though 😆

#272 RP, seems the right froggys always rock up when they play the AB’s!.

Fender

So would you market it as “Irish Biltong” or “Devils Biltong” ?? 🙄

@273 – Yeah it does too.

@276 RP – love you too…

Irish and RP,

This wind dying down so suddenly sounds very suspicious. What you reckon – BOD withdrawn from the team with a shoulder injury again?

Seeing as it the meat will be so saturated with Guinness I guess it would be better to make some boerewors out of him…lol..That meat will never dry out!

Fender @279 – no Bakkies winked at the wrong guy last night and had to withdraw 😉

#279 Fender, I read somewhere that BOD is very pissed off at his mother for calling him Brian…He wanted to be called Gary!.

Greetings every one, so there are more people out their that can talk more cr8p then me i am glad to see.

I am a crappeologist extrodinaire Treehugger!

Polla @280 – the top ale in the world mate! I’m caught between meeting up with my mates at the pub or blogging with you guys tomorrow.

@283 Treehugger – I’m pleased to meet you! May I ask you a question?

GBS IF YOU READ THIS YOU ARE THE MOST MENTAL BLOKE I KNOW IN A ONLINE WAY. 😆

#276 RP

Gee, you got me thinking here. Uhm….the biltong’s gotto sound Irish.

Something like: Bill O’Reilly’s Tongue? But, then again that sounds like Salvador Dali nightmare….

Damn – I’m stumped here….!

Hi Irish , knock yourself out 🙂

#285..Gees Irish..that’s a no-brainer. Any Irishman who stays at home and blog instead of going to the pub for a drink deserves to be flogged!..

Irish 274
    My nana would have “a wee Whiskey to keep out the cold” but that was all & “just the one” 🙂

Polla 275
    Not always … ABs have racked up some pretty impressive scores against them BETWEEN World Cups …

Fender 279
    Maybe he has another book to promote ? Yu cannot expect someone who is scared of Tana Umaga to face the likes of Bakkies can you ?

Treehugger @ 287 – sounds like sniffing something – In a onLINE way! Oops wrong place!

292 Irish hahahahahaha bad boy !!!!!!

@288 – Fender – how about this one:

AODHAGÁN: Irish double diminutive form of Irish/Scottish Gaelic Aodh, meaning “tiny little fireball with the character of a devil.”

Hi RP glad to see you giveing the men a hard time

@289 Treehugger – Do trees appreciate the hugs? uhmmmmmmm like what a waste.

290 – Polla, Irish can blog with us. It will only be 2pm there tomorrow can to the pub after 😀

meant can go to. Typos again!!!!

@289 RP – wee oh that is what I do when I have too many whiskeys! :blush:

Fender

Maybe “The Devil’s Biltong” … oohh … got it … “Blarney’s Biltong” 😆

1 8 9 10 11 12 20

Total 147 users including 0 member, 147 guests, 0 bot online