It is good to be able to have a united SA Nation again after the division of the Currie Cup. Our blood all turn to green every time that the Bokke pull those magnificent jerseys over their heads, our hearts swell with pride…. we expect nothing less than for the Bokke to win.. and win well.

End of Year Tour time, this time with a difference, 2 games have been included against Franchise Teams (Tigers & Sarries) and 3 Tests have been scheduled.

This means that there is ample opportunity for the Springbok Management to experiment and a clear extra Dirt-Tracker Springbok Team has been selected to go on tour.

It is worrysome that the chosen Bokke team for this game includes players who have never played together in their respective combinations… let’s look at this aspect critically…

In the front row, only Gurthro Steenkamp and Chilliboy Ralapele knows each other well, both being from the Bulls. At Tight Head though we have Jannie du Plessis who has not scrummed in combination with these two.

At lock Danie Rossouw and Bekker have never (or rarely) scrummed next to each other, but both have been regulars in the Bokke group.

At Openside flank there’s the sublime Dewalt Potgieter, but he’s actually a blind side flanker, at No 7 there’s Davon Raubenheimer who is at best a Currie Cup Flank and at No 8 there’s the in-form Ashley Johnson. None of these loosies have played together…. and there’s a definate imballance in the way the loosie-combo has been put together.

Amongst the Halfbacks, Heini Adams and Ruan Pienaar have never had the opportunity to play together and poor Ruan has once again been shifted from No 9 to No 10.

At centre we have 2 individual stars… Wynand Olivier and Juan de Jong… given time they could set the world alight, but as it stands, the first time they ever passed each other the ball was during this week’s training cessions.

The back 3 are from 3 different Provinces in SA, with Nokwe, the speedy but suspect defender on one wing, steady but unspectacular Odwa Ndungane on the other wing and Earl Rose, the unpredictable and sometimes unsteady fullback (who should actually not ever wear the green and gold).

These players are pitted against the “Bulls” of the North, who, despite giving 6 players to the English squad, is a settled side and doing very well in their competitions up North. In Mauger, they have a general… and their forwards are a solid unit.

It is difficult to make predictions on this one and my head seems to indicate that the Tigers might win, the heart however is hoping for Wynand Olivier and Juan de Jongh to run the Tigers to pieces.

Let’s make a compromise…. heart wins, Springboks by 5 – 8.

Players to watch: Wily Aaron Mauger is always worth watching, such a clever player even if he is out of position, but then Ruan Pienaar plays in so many positions he seems out of position wherever he plays but he too is a player of skill and greater speed. Johne Murphy (Tigers) is a most promising, committed young player. The other wing, Argentinian Lucas Amorosino, scored a spectacular try last weekend and could be a star in the making. For the Springboks the centre pair, young Juan de Jongh and more experienced Wynand Olivier, have the speed and skill to provide excitement. Most of South Africa will keep an eye on Earl Rose at fullback, mystified as many are at his selection. There will also be interest in Chiliboy Ralepelle’s captaincy. At school, Pretoria Boys High, he was highly rated as a player and a leader, following in the footsteps of John Smit at the school. Ralepelle has captained the Springboks once before – and that in Leicester in 2006 when the Springboks played a pick-up side called a World XV and beat them 32-7 at Walkers Stadium.

Head to Head: Aaron Mauger versus Ruan Pienaar. This could be the crux of the game.

There are no previous results. This is a new encounter though in the past Springbok touring teams would play against Midland Counties, The Springboks won in Leicester in 1906 and 1912 but lost there 30-21 in 1931. The Springboks won 3-0 in 1951 and the teams drew 3-3 at Welford Road in 1960.

Teams

Leicester Tigers: 15 Scott Hamilton, 14 Lucas Amorosino, 13 Andy Forsyth, 12 Manu Tuilagi, 11 Johne Murphy, 10 Aaron Mauger (captain), 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Brett Deacon, 7 Ben Pienaar, 6 Geoff Parling, 5 Ben Kay, 4 Calum Green, 3 Martin Castrogiovanni, 2 Mefin Davies, 1 Marcos Ayerza.
Replacements: 16 George Chuter, 17 Dan Cole, 18 Tom Armes, 19 Dan Hemingway, 20 James Grindal, 21 Greig Tonks, 22 Lote Tuqiri.

South Africa: 15 Earl Rose, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Ruan Pienaar, 9 Heini Adams, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 Davon Raubenheimer, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle (captain), 1 Gürthro Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 François Hougaard, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Riaan Viljoen.

Date: Friday, November 6
Venue: Welford Road, Leicester
Kick-off: 19.45 (19.45 GMT, 21.45 SA time)
Referee: Stuart Dickinson (Australia)
Assistant referees: Roy Maybank, Robin Goodliffe
TMO: Andrew Turner, Graeme Hughes

99 Responses to Preview: Leicester Tigers vs Springboks

Just read on the otherside that Beast does not have a SA passport. I don’t believe that. He got citizenship early this year. Why no passport? Something not right there.

Home Affairs are useless.

KingPaul,

I am here 😆

KP
    Ek vat enige tyd Beast, Wian, Coenie en Heinke voor Wikus. Buitendien, het jy al gesien wie kies daai spanne? Daai Mohamed ou…

KP
    Ek is hier, moet nie bang en alleen voel nie!! Het jy n vuurtjie gebou?

Sharky, Beast got citizenship early this year. That is what I had heard then. So something is up. This is not right I don’t believe it. Or Home Affairs are useless. How as he able to play against the Lions if he was not a SA citizen? Jeepers they better sort it out pronto.

sorry back

yes people its true , its pathetic really , they start this now when we are about to tour

the minister of sport was ranting on tv about it , what a flucking peace of K rap he is

beast has played 19 tests and now they want to kick him out

i am sure news 24 might have something about it soon

Thats not good…eish.

Get Wian du Preez.

and they asked hoskins questions just now and he said no comment 😯

Sharky something is not right. How could he have played all those tests and not be a citizen? He became one a long time back. Maybe they have not sorted out Beast’s passport proper yet.

The useless Home Affairs in this country.

not sure bro

but yes i hate the polliticians in this country , they the laziest caniving twatwaffels on earth

lying dicks

Sharky that is what Hoskins would say. Not always up front about things. 🙄 Give up with this. Not good news 🙁

puma are you in durban??

Beast het dan in Australie en new zealnd getoer? Wat is nou skielik fout?

if so get the daily news of this afternoon , story in there on back page about who is leaving sharks

maybe also who we are gaining

weet nie paul , jy weet hoe deurmekaar ons sisteeme is

and government se koppe is platter as weeshuis broode

Supa
    Die weer is bietjie sleg hier vir buite braai, gaan sommer iets op die cadac in die garage gooi

Sharky I love my country but things like this really get me angry and have you ever waited for hours for your bloody drivers licence? I mean I renewed mine 8 weeks before I got it. Then had to wait more than 4 hours in a bloody long queue for it too in the most shocking disgraceful building. Had to walk up to the 5th floor too with my kak knees as the lifts were not working or never have worked for a long, long time I was told. Sorry to say that but it is all honest. They need to sort out home affairs and the licence department. Why we have to apply for a new one every 5 years is just money making. I still have my licence from Holland when I lived there. You have it for 25 years before having to renew it.

Sorry for once never got the paper. Normally do. So cant tell you on that either. Will ask my sister if she got it or my mate up the road if he got it.

Sharky my mate don’t have the paper either. No use going out to get it now will be sold out in the all night woolworths shop.

Will try my sister now maybe she has it.

Back later. Alone here….hehe.

ma wa’s die manne?

82 – KingPaul

We all just waiting for the game to start and will probably post together then.

It starts rather late over there. Another hour and a half to wait.

Nou nou nou wat nou?

Aspirant bokke met 12 me’s fink.
    That is if every one of them not deside that this is the game they’re gonna play themself in the bok team.
    Kan regtig gou gou ontrafel in ‘n moggatrof affair met baie in-tact reputasies wat skade gaan kry.

Nobody logged cept me….. 🙁

…..anyway, mu phone rings and 4man says (In a great South African accent) “Hey Carol, I’ve got some ticket for the Tigers V Boks that are yours and WRS’s, great seats in the grandstand” EEEkkkkkk……..

Only trouble is tickets two hours away then Welford Road another two hours away, kick off at 7.45…… and was stuck at work!!! 😥

So near, yet so far!!

Nope i’m here to. For a change that is.
    I don’t think the Bokke will have it all teir way tonight. I’m afraid it might become an individual affair, and scrappy.

Hi Isigidi, should be interesting though……I don’t think Leicester will fall over quite as spectacularly as Gloucester did against Aus, their dismal performance really helped my SuperBru placing though!! 🙂

Big firework display at the local rugby ground shortly, we will watch the fireworks then feed some friends, will pop in and out to watch Boks progress!

nou! tackle hom!!!!

Total 81 users including 0 member, 81 guests, 0 bot online