Pierre Spies withdrew from the End of Year Bok Tour due to an operation…
Johannesburg – Springbok No 8 Pierre Spies underwent a finger operation on Monday evening after an injury sustained during the Bok practice on Monday afternoon.
He has been withdrawn from the side to tour Europe and will be replaced by Jean Deysel of the Sharks.
Deysel should have been there in the first place, but hard luck to Spies, he had an excellent year.
amen snoek , now one can only speculate as to the bok loose trio
i gather it will be kanko , brussow, schalk
with either deysel or potties on the bench , which might be decided depending if brussow is withdrawn from midweek game and deysel takes his place
Very sorry to hear about Spies. Get well soon.
Pleased that Deysel finally gets a chance not like this though but pleased he made it ahead of some other players. It has been long, long over due.
Hard luck!!
Maar ek wonder of dt nie ‘n beter roep sou gewees het om vir Alberts of Vermeulen te kies nie?
Hoe ernstig kan so ‘n vinger op dan nou wees ook? Het Jouba nie op ‘n tyd met ‘n gebreekte hand in ‘n stut gespeel nie?
Voorspoed egter aan Deysel, hoop regtig die lostrio bestaan uit Kanko, Scalla en Brussouw…
Beter dat Spies rus. Hy speel elke game die jaar nog non stop 80min.
I would go for this trio:
Brussouw
Schalk
Dewaldt Potgieter
6, me too.
I don’t understand the obsession with Deysel, he is a CC / S14 player, but not a Bok. Alberts or Vermeulen would be better choices.
7 @ Loosehead – Please explain on what basis you make that statement? He has never played for the boks for you to make that statement that he is not bok material.
He has concistently been better than Schalk on the provincial scene, and we know that Schalk leaves his best for tests. So who’s to say that Deysel would not do the same.
The one time that Deysel played with the emerging boks against the Lions, he was very good. Go watch that game again, you will be surprised.
I hope you are not judging him through provincial eyes.
Snoek, take it easy. I think that he is a basher and lacks handling skills and pace. Yes he can tackle and is a good ball carrier.
As for provincial eyes…………..Alberts plays for the Lions and Vermeulen for the WP, so no bias from my part there at all.
Deysel is good, dont mind him being at the Boks. But I prefer Potgieter. He works really hard around the field.
I see Mujati has been banned for six weeks for pushing the ref.
And the Mechanic is about to be arrested…eish!
deysel has made potgieter his bitch in the 2 games they played against each other this season in curry cup
one forgets most of the super 14 deysel was injured
for the emerging boks deysel was mom with pottie as capt of that team
deysel is also a better fetcher of the ball then potgieter
come now gents , there is more to a players game then just running around like a fairy
also give credit to the hard players that do the hard yards on the ground
oh and good morning everyone
Fight, fight
7 @ Loosehead. One thing you cannot fault Deysel on is his handeling skills. He has made some pretty amazing offloads in the tackle area this year. Everybody knocks on sometimes, but this is the area where Deysel has improved a lot…….a lot like Spies before he sorted out his defence and handeling
7 @ Loosehead. Also in my opinion Spies wasn’t the best no 8 when he started playing for the Boks. In 2007 Kanko was better, but White saw the potential in Spies and stuck with him even though had a couple of dodgy games and now he is considerd the best 8 in the world by some. Sprinkbok coaches have often picked players that we thought weren’t good enough and when they become the best in their positions we laud their vision. Give Deysel a break, maybe he will be the next big thing
13: daai swart en wit bril laat jou dinge sien op die veld. Deysel is goed, maar Dewald is ‘overall’ baie beter. Ook Ashley Johnson het vir Deysel ‘n lekker paar ore aangesit in die semi (nou weet ek ook hoekom Ashley so bos hare dra). En, in die finaal was die BB se loosies die Staat se loosies oor. Daarom:
Dewald
Schalk
Brussow
Kanko/Deysel op die bank.
Morning all,
Looks like we’re in for another steamer here under the mountain.
Pokkel, just so that I have some understanding – you are a Shark supoorter, right?
I’m a big Potgieter fan, but who I would chose would depend on the conditions and the combo of loosies played.
dbd. Your combination lacks a big loosie that is a must in NH conditions. Without Spies there I would play Deysel. If Spies was available I would play Brussow, Potgieter,Spies, but IMO that loose trio of yours will struggle in a wet game against a very heavy French pack.
Yes I’m a Shark, but even I would have rather had Alberts go in Spies’s place and Alberts deserves to be there ahead of Kanko anyway.
Fender….I’m am a Sharks supporter, but I’m also a Bok supporter and when it comes to the Boks I want the best and it doesn’t matter which province they represent. I’ll be the fisrt to admit that Spies and Albert are currently better than Kanko, but Kanko was definetly better at times than Spies. All players have up’s and down’s, but one thing that White taught us is that sometimes you need to stick with your core group of players. I’m probably one of the least provincial people when it comes to the Boks, cause I want the best for the Boks. The current Sharks- Boks are dissapointing and I wish the Cheetah’s front row got a chance in the EOYT. Guthro, Chilli and Maku don’t deserve to be there IMO, but let’s see if PdV masterplan works.
I would play Brussow, Schalk and Kanko. Only because Kanko has been part of the bok setup for a few years now. But even Danie R would be a good choice at 8.
I would bring Deysel and Potgieter in through the reserves, and groom them for the future. They will be the future of bok rugby, and both of them have their strengths for certain games.
#20 Thanks Pokkel 😉
Hellooooooooooooooo
The Tjarkies shout “Deysel, Deysel, Deysel”
The Bulls shout “Dewalt, Dewalt, Dewalt”
We all shout “It should have been Alberts, Alberts, Alberts”
Fark people, do you all realise how spoilt for choice we are in SA as far as loosies are concerned?
In my opinion, Shalla – The Hulk, Dewalt – The Machine & Deysel – The Diesel Truck, should all compete for No 7 Blindside Flank spot…… similar players… hard abrasive tacklers with some fetching skills (without being prime fetchers like Brussow), the exact requirement of a Blindsider in my dream loosie combo, all of them.
At No 8 you have a different set of rules… you need to have hands of gold behind the scrums, you need to be a supreme strike runner who gets over the advantage line and you need to be a very good link to the backline. Who currently meets these criteria in SA at the moment (with some weaknesses, I know)….. Spies, Alberts, Vermeulen (I think Rassie plays him out of position), Kanko, Ashley Johnson…. and Dewalt Potgieter who has played No 8 for a large part of his carreer.
So, with the absense of Spies and with what has been taken on tour, my loosie Combo (and it has to be a combo who fulfills all the rolls they have to play) would be:
6. Brussow
7. Schalla
8. Dewalt Potgieter (Due to the fact that Alberts is not on Tour)
….. with on the bench, Deysel (covering Flank) and Danie Pakslae (covering lock and No 8).
gbs i dont agree with potgieter being at 8thman ahead of kanko
kanko deserves his chance and yes he has had a bit of poor form , spies was shit for a year and still they stuck with him
we all know he is good and he has come good atlast
why is kanko not afforded the4 same ??
come now you guys are quick to shout us sharks okes wear black and white glasses yet the goal posts are changed buy you guys as and when it suits you
kanko is firstly better in the lineouts and slightly taller then potfieter
he is faster then potgieter
the only thin pottie does better then kanko is steal a ball here and there in fetching
or you going to tell me pottie is as fast runs gaps etc better then kanko??
the only player i will agree with that could have lifted kanko is alberts who sadly is not there at all
even vermeulen has not played 8thman for 2 seasons now
he is a 7 flank
we all know he used to be a good 8thman
i told you long ago gbs and i am not sure if you remember , was when i had breakfast at the rand club with jake , and i asked him about spies and kanko at the time ,kanko was better at that time , he said spies is a michine and when on fire was untouchable , and thats the reason kanko didnt play ahead of spies
but said kanko would always be in his plans as he is the next best thing to spies , taking that if both were on form
the other player he said was unlucky was barrit , he said the most brilliant player , but no speed
that is why he never chose barritt
getting back to deysel 3 games lately where games that pottie and deysel were involved in , deysel made pottie his bitch in 2
the 3rd pottie was capt and deysel a flank , deysel MOM
so why does he not get the recodnition for non sharks supporters??
please dont tell me there is no bias
where pottie is better he is more versitile and can cover 6 7 and 8
last night someone asked me who would i put in the bok side now as loosies , i said kanko brussow and schalk
who would i have cover kloose forward on the bench ?? pottie as he covers all 3 and deysel only flank
eish nou is ek gatvol getik 😆
29@ Tjarkie_who_needs_new_glasses
Why did you imagine that Deysel made Potgieter his bitch, and nogal sommer twice, haaaaaaa farking haaaaa… or did it only look like that through those thick farking Tjarks glasses?
Flok, julle simpel Souties darem……. eishhhhh
Bwahahahaha
Total 297 users including 0 member, 297 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,238,969 Page Impressions