This is a follow up on our birthday boy, Isigidi’s (hope at least YOU scored last night) Article, “The areas of concern”. Let me give you my scores/views  on your concerns:

ZANE KIRCHNER – Accept it Frans Steyn was not available, so next best? Zane did not let us down , he caught every ball and had a goodish game himself. He did not let the Springboks down. This boy is young and has the heart.

ADI JACOBS – Again, Jean de Villiers is not available , accept it. Adi had a nothing game and in the circumstances he could not make a difference and I would have loved to see Wynand Olivier on earlier. His best play was when Morné was off, carded, and he played the No 10 roll.

RYAN KANKOWSKI – What a show pony, Pierre Spies was dearly missed, you were 100% right he never impressed me.

JP PIETERSEN – There must be someone out there with more passion, he is exactly what you said , a confidence player, should an experienced Bok not motivate himself when he plays for SA? He just looked absent-minded, chasing with no conviction or intent to tackle the chased player. No use chasing the kick and then stand and admire the catcher…… moer him , tackle him, do something…

JOHN SMIT – Can we afford him? He published his swansong book this week, the referees ignore him and he never looked like a captain that could get the guys doing things together last night. And we know the roll he plays in our Bok front row… very little.

“With SA Player of the year, Fourie du Preez, WP quick man Habana, Morné the Bulls prize fly half and consistently good performing WP centre Jaque Fourie there, one never knows………”

FOURIE DU PREEZ – He did well without the help he normally gets from Pierre Spies. He was kept in check by the French, but still produced some of his brilliance.

BRYAN HABANA – Well, well, well…. 2 weeks in the Cape and there’s a slump?

MORNÉ STEYN – He did what he could, but with the Boks making all the mistakes, the penalty kicks was not on offer.

JAQUE FOURIE – He was quiet to poor… also maybe WP-sickness? How quickly do you contract that culture or disease?

What went wrong?

The French took us on , no surprise. They said it all week.

Did the late travel allow us enough time to prepare for the weather conditions and the wind factor?

The inability to communicate with the referee on the field. Is John Smit’s time up. Do referees even listen to him lately. Have they written him off already…. is it because he struggles in the scrums , has he lost his credibility?  What the heck has happened to the once respected captain?  Maybe his role became to big in world rugby and the referees have now taken it upon themselves to bring him down a notch or two.

Momentum, we could not build up momentum yesterday. The constant blood breaks , the injury to Schalk Burger and the two yellow cards was spread right trough the the game. The moment we got something going one of the above happened.

Players who played their hearts out with reputation intact. Schalk Burger, Heinrich Brussow, Victor Matfield,  Bakkies Botha, Fourie du Preez and Andries Bekker.

Most missed players: Frans Steyn, Pierre Spies and a FRONT ROW.

France deserved this win , but if they think they played the Boks in their prime…. haha! This same Springbok team was the best in the World this year.

Last night we met a motivated team with the most fanatic crowd and to top it all, we had Wayne Barnes to contend with.

47 Responses to The areas of concern, Part 2

My area of concern?
    It is not over yet!
    We are going to lose some more.
    To think you can fly over there with two teams going in different directions without any pre-game night time practice is plain dumb.

Springboks are tired, disinterested, gatvol for rugby.
    Those okes are fresh and psyched up.

Concern for me:
    Move Smit back to hooker, move Kankowski and Beast [travelling on his Zimbo passport] back to Deben.

Start with Wian, John and CJ, Potgieter at 8.

Pietman tired?
    maybe
    But then i admire them even more to defend like that , keeping the French out, that is awesome.Tired bodies getting up to defend like that eish i get goosebumps.

2 Loosehead
    Yeah thats it, not doom and gloom, we had a chance to take this game right up to the end.

Spies was missed. So too Frans Steyn, especially in this conditions. And then the stubbornness of PdV to play Adi ahead of WO or JdV.

sB @3
    Yes, tired, some of them have been playing full-time since 16 February when the S14 started, and then the BIL, TriNations, Currie Cup.
    They are professionals, I know, but still.
    Playing in the NH this time of the year you have to be at peak condition.

Pietman, if they are too tired to perform then they should have stayed at home.

Pietman ek hoor jou maar dis nou n realiteit wat ons moet aanvaar. Waneer die IRB n Internasionale seisoen vir toets bepaal sal die ding uitgesort wees. Nou moet ons maar aanvaar dat die seisoen lank gaan wees.

Die volgende toets teen Italia moet hulle n heel nuwe voorry try, Bakkies en Victor rus en FdP

Kyk YouTube Springboks vs France Anthem……………faark!
    Het julle al so n fokapie gesien…..kyk Schalk en Danie se gesigte :-}

Lets try this team please Peter

15 ZANE KIRSHNER
    14 JPP
    11 HABANA
    13 J FOURIE
    12 WO
    10 M STEYN
    9 FDP
    8 DEWALT POTGIETER
    7 J DEYSEL
    6 H BRUSSOW
    5 A BEKKER
    4 D ROSSOUW
    3 CJ VD LINDE
    2 J SMIT
    1 W DU PREEZ

Isi, goeie samevatting.

Hello (not many “o”‘s this morning…. I miffed with the Bokke!

11 GBS Miffed !! Understatement…. 😐

So any thoughts on John Smits comments about Luke Watson that have appeared in his new book?

There was lots of wailing and gnashing of teeth on this very topic on Voldy yesterday!! Emotions ran so high Keo nearly got 1,000 hits again!! That does not happen often these days since RT started!

I feel better now just watched the 2009 CC highlights

Like Victor said there is no place like Loftus, when its full.

superBul, I could always go and watch my wedding video, that always cheers me up!! 😆
    That and Percy kicking in the WC final!!

13@ Carol – I have nothing to say about Luke…. the less said, the better… he is out of SA and now your problem on Muddy Isle.

I have even less to say about the other site’s “wailing and gnashing”, as you termed it… I don’t read there or go there… no interest lost there.

I’m doing some new Software Development today… a little pet project I wanted to start, but never had the time, to relax and forget about the Bokke…

superBul 15 – Loftus full!! Were you there for the Lions test….absoute mayhem.
    No ticket checks, they just opened the main gates and this HUGE surge of humanity pushed through…..people sitting on the escape routes, on all the steps and I bet half of them did not have tickets.
    That day Loftus felt full to bursting!

17 – GBS, That told me!! 🙁

Hahhahaha, i have heard some guys love watching their wedding videos in reverse, they love the moment they give the bride back to her dad most. 😆

Saturday is my 28th anniversary, i had a beautiful wedding too, and hate watching the photos, i nearly doubled in weight

So what are you developing, or is it top secret?

21@ Carol – Remote accessibility Software…

GBS@17
    Agreed.
    The less said about Luke on RT the better.
    Many people here like Sharky, 4man and Puma know the story behind the story, from his tenure in 2005 at the Sharks til now…..
    But, as you say, he is gone now and he will soon be forgotten, so that’s the end of it.

If I had to choose between what John says and Luke’s version, John is my man.
    I won’t even listen to the other side…..

20 – superBul – Hahahah, very funny too, my Dad would say ‘No way, she is yours now’!!
    28 years is great, well done.
    Your wife must be a great cook, poor WRS is rather ‘slight’ my cooking is partially to blame! 😆

22 GBS – 😯 right!

Carol do you also hate the French like they hate Englishmen?

24@ Carol – The problem is not your cooking but the ingredients you use to cook… hehehe

Not enough fattiness, cholestrol.. too little meat (Steaks, boerewors, kebabs… ect)… and no mieliepap in Muddy Isle!!

And while we are on the topic of John Smit, the man is a Springbok legend.
    He and PdeV will take us to WC 2011.
    John is the greatest Springbok captain since Gary Teichman in the modern SA rugby era.

No person in his right mind should even mention Luke Watson and John Smit in the same breath.

Hallo Oom Piet,
    Waar op aarde bevind jy jou nou?

John moet nou kophou en sy loopbaan reg manage.
    Bismark stel erg teleur in baie van die games, hy is nie consistent nie. Hulle moet John terugvat haker toe.

Op stut gaan hy se legendariese status opneuk.

Total 206 users including 0 member, 206 guests, 0 bot online