This is a follow up on our birthday boy, Isigidi’s (hope at least YOU scored last night) Article, “The areas of concern”. Let me give you my scores/views on your concerns:
ZANE KIRCHNER – Accept it Frans Steyn was not available, so next best? Zane did not let us down , he caught every ball and had a goodish game himself. He did not let the Springboks down. This boy is young and has the heart.
ADI JACOBS – Again, Jean de Villiers is not available , accept it. Adi had a nothing game and in the circumstances he could not make a difference and I would have loved to see Wynand Olivier on earlier. His best play was when Morné was off, carded, and he played the No 10 roll.
RYAN KANKOWSKI – What a show pony, Pierre Spies was dearly missed, you were 100% right he never impressed me.
JP PIETERSEN – There must be someone out there with more passion, he is exactly what you said , a confidence player, should an experienced Bok not motivate himself when he plays for SA? He just looked absent-minded, chasing with no conviction or intent to tackle the chased player. No use chasing the kick and then stand and admire the catcher…… moer him , tackle him, do something…
JOHN SMIT – Can we afford him? He published his swansong book this week, the referees ignore him and he never looked like a captain that could get the guys doing things together last night. And we know the roll he plays in our Bok front row… very little.
“With SA Player of the year, Fourie du Preez, WP quick man Habana, Morné the Bulls prize fly half and consistently good performing WP centre Jaque Fourie there, one never knows………”
FOURIE DU PREEZ – He did well without the help he normally gets from Pierre Spies. He was kept in check by the French, but still produced some of his brilliance.
BRYAN HABANA – Well, well, well…. 2 weeks in the Cape and there’s a slump?
MORNÉ STEYN – He did what he could, but with the Boks making all the mistakes, the penalty kicks was not on offer.
JAQUE FOURIE – He was quiet to poor… also maybe WP-sickness? How quickly do you contract that culture or disease?
What went wrong?
The French took us on , no surprise. They said it all week.
Did the late travel allow us enough time to prepare for the weather conditions and the wind factor?
The inability to communicate with the referee on the field. Is John Smit’s time up. Do referees even listen to him lately. Have they written him off already…. is it because he struggles in the scrums , has he lost his credibility? What the heck has happened to the once respected captain? Maybe his role became to big in world rugby and the referees have now taken it upon themselves to bring him down a notch or two.
Momentum, we could not build up momentum yesterday. The constant blood breaks , the injury to Schalk Burger and the two yellow cards was spread right trough the the game. The moment we got something going one of the above happened.
Players who played their hearts out with reputation intact. Schalk Burger, Heinrich Brussow, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Fourie du Preez and Andries Bekker.
Most missed players: Frans Steyn, Pierre Spies and a FRONT ROW.
France deserved this win , but if they think they played the Boks in their prime…. haha! This same Springbok team was the best in the World this year.
Last night we met a motivated team with the most fanatic crowd and to top it all, we had Wayne Barnes to contend with.
26 – superBul – We can’t abide the French!! 😆 Do’nt start me off, I was desperate for the Boks to put those arrogant, twerps in there place!!
superBul @29
Swakop steeds, net naweke op die dorp, die res van die tyd is ek noord, naby Sandwich Bay.
Tot die einde van die jaar hierdie kant, dan af Kaap toe in Januarie.
Hou maar kuslangs, erg warm hier in die binneland, gaan juis hierdie week af Karasburg en Aroab toe saam met neef.
So, ek blog maar min, te veel ander lekker dinge om te doen!
Bissie het my teleurgestel gisteraand… gee strafskoppe af en verloor gereeld kop..
Ek dink John Smit moet terug haker toe, anders moet ek dalk begin saamstem dat sy dae getel is… dit sal jammer wees want hy is ‘n uitstekende kaptein.
In “their” place even!
Morning Piet – enjoying being back in your country?
27 GBS – That could have something to do with it!
He does get a bit rebelious if I serve up brown rice though!
we had rain at last early this morning, 22mm here in town and at some places in the Olifantsriver Game reserve 62mm. I can hear the rumblings already of the grass trying to break trough. This place changes within 2 weeks, we need a follow up within the next 5 days and we are on our way to green pastures
We are approaching a very important landmark in Comments… 50 000 is 358 comments away…
I had a family member who went to France many years back and whenever he tried to order something in English they gave him the wrong stuff or ignored him flat. He decided to try and speak Afrikaans and then they were buggered, they then had to ask , cant you speak English.
I must try and add that one to my collection
Carol @34
Very well, thx for asking.
Wife in 7th heaven over here.
Internet access limited, so she is very happy to see more of me lately….
Cheers, see you all at game time hopefully.
@37
Congrats GBS, another milestone, tonite!
38 – superBul actually the rudest French speakers I have ever come across were in Montreal, Canada they pretended they didn’t understand English (Yeah right)!!
39 super- you do realise that Ed will pop up out of nowhere and bag that one, either him or supa!! Heheheh
37 GBS Do you feel a sort of paternal pride at this point?
44@ Carol – Yes, I do.. I suppose.
you must be around when we jostle for that one , its fun.
There is a NEW POLL on the home page
Go vote
Total 268 users including 0 member, 268 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,440,549 Page Impressions