WP hosted the BLUE BULLS in their semi-final of the Currie Cup Premier Division today, at Newlands, Cape Town. The Bulls won a nail-biter with 7 Morne Steyn penalties. Bulls won 21 / 19.
If you told me before the game that the game would be this hard and closely contested, I would probably have scoffed at you… it was a humdinger!
Bakkies, Bakkies, Bakkies, there you go again.. getting a yellow card in the 1st minute of the game! The “Enforcer” had a hard and uncompromising game and it did’nt cost the Bulls in the time he was off the field.
The Bulls started on a rampage, racking up penalty after penalty and in less than half of the First Half,were leading 12 / 0, because of the once again faultless boot of More Steyn.
ThenWP fought back and by Half Time they had scored from 2 penalties of their own.. also from the faultless boot of Joe Petersen.
After Half Time, WP came out with purpose and Gio Aplon showed jet-shoes to follow up a brilliant kick from Frikkie Welsch and beat Wynand Olivier and Pedrie Wannenburg to the Try Line, scoring the only try of the match.
Penaties decided the rest of the match, with Morne Steyn slotting a 53m Kick for the winning margin of 2 points with 2 minutes left on the clock.
It is difficult to single out star performers for this match because both from the Bulls and WP all players played their hearts out, all players and substitutions played like Springboks.
For the Bulls, the calmness of Victor Matfield, Fourie Du Preez and Morne Steyn stood out, for WP Joe Petersen, Gio Aplon and the war horse, Schalk Burger stood out. Schalk Burger also probably put in the tackle of the century when he monstered Fourie du Preez as he was about to put a kick through, near halfway.
What a game…. SA Rugby is alive and well!
In 2 weeks time we’ll see the Final at Loftus in Pretoria.
Hope you also enjoy our photo’s below!
Photo’s from the First Half:
Photo’s from the Second Half:
After-match TV Interviews – Victor Matfield, the winning Captain
Morne Steyn – Awarded Man of the match
Match Statistics
Tackle of the Match, Schalk Burger absolutely flattens Fourie du Preez
WP: 4 Penalties Joe Petersen, 1 Conversion, 1 Try Gio Aplon
Bulls: 7 Penalties Morne Steyn
Vodacom Blue Bulls: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Francois Hougaard, 13 Jaco Pretorius, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bryan Habana; 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Victor Matfield (captain), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Derick Kuün, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Rossouw de Klerk, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Pedrie Wannenburg, 20 Heini Adams, 21 Burton Francis, 22 Gerhard van den Heever.
Vodacom Western Province: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Paul Bosch, 11 Frikkie Welsh, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenhage, 8 Luke Watson (captain), 7 Duane Vermeulen, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Anton van Zyl, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Wicus Blaauw.
Replacements: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 JC Kritzinger, 18 De Kock Steenkamp, 19 Schalk Burger, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Matt To’omua, 22 Sireli Naqelevuki.
Date: Saturday, October 17
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Kick-off: 17.00 (15.00 GMT)
Expected weather: Sunny and mild, with virtually no chance of rain. High 21°C, low 14°C. Wind 33km/h S
Referee: Mark Lawrence
Assistant referees: Jaco Peyper, Reuben Rossouw
TMO: Michael Cupido
Morne has proved BEYOND DOUBT that he is a man for a big occasion!
Lekker Bulle!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
@grootblousmile – Who is mom
I’ve got great Photo’s to put up on the Thread, I captured them all digitally here from TV coverage.
212@Irish Devil – Morne Steyn… Mr Cool himself
@Irish Devil – 212
MR MORNE
@Supa Die Bloubul –
Hel, Supa, ek is verlig want daai klein kwont is weg daar uit my buurt….ek mag dalk selfs weer oorweeg om WP te support, hehehehehe!
Nee, sallie, my moer is te suur oor Luke, Langenhoven, MK, Robzim en daai klomp haasbekke daar onder die berg, sal my nooit weer in hulle geselskap begeef nie…
(Ek is lekker grootbek nou, want pa is kamer toe…..)
@grootblousmile – Of course. Was so glad I could share it with you guys. Let’s hope the Final is as good as the two semi’s.
203@Supa Die Bloubul – 😉 … jy kan nou maar asem haal !
@Supa Die Bloubul –
Yes with the angle
@superBul –
Vertel my van daai laaste skop, was dit ver, van waar?
@Onerb – 200
Very close. After watching my Sharks lose in the last min could never have handled a Bulls lose in the last min either..hehe.
Morne Steyn is just BRILLIANT. What a super star he has turned out to be this year. A true find for our Boks. What a kicker. Superb.
@Irish Devil –
Took a bottle of Glenfiddich to get this job done, hard work lad, hard work……
@Puma – He is truly a good flyhalf that man.
@Puma –
Player of the Year, him or Heinrich, your vote?
@Irish Devil – 217
Both semis was heart stopping stuff Irish, Pity Sharks are out. Would have really enjoyed a Bulls/Sharks final but that is the way it goes.
Good luck to Bulls and Cheetahs in the final. Now I will be neutral in the final of that game.
Today just really wanted the Bulls to win against WP.
Dit raak al moeiliker om SA rugbyspeler vd jaar te kies:
Morne ?
Brussow ?
FDP ?
Gee dit vir al drie !
@Pietman – Just counted 11 bottles of ale mate and you know I’m a teetotaler 😉
O.k guys, Im out, have to light the fire. Steyntjie for president. You heard it here first.
Geluk Bulle!
Dankie vir die amperste hartaanval. Amper verloor julle teen julself.
Bad luck WP. Ma jul moere ook.
216@Pietman –
hehe…Pieta, ek is self in die wolke Luke met sy tatoees en suurgesig is weg
vir twee jaar!
Jyt n goeie jaar as n bul ondersteuner, eers die s14 en nou dalk die CC ook!
Cheers guys, enjoy the win.
Toughies WP, played better this year than for the last … how long has it been?
@bdb – I think Brussouw has been enormous, but then both the others have been really great.
220@Pietman –
My skoonpa my nou gebel, hy se dit was op WP se 10 tree, maar teen die kantlyn!
@Pietman –
gelukig was dit vrek ver, voor die pale so sy nerves gebreek het
218@bdb –
Nooit getwyfel nie BDB…hehe
@Pietman – Probably Morne. He won the game for us in the 2nd Test against the Lions and scored almost all our points in the Tri-Nations. Then I will ALWAYS remember those 3 monster kicks by Frans Steyn against New Zealand. How did we lose such a talented youngster to go and play in France. Only 22 years of age.
Brussow too was a HUGE find this year and he too helped us win many games this year.
So probably a toss up between M. Steyn and Brussow but think M. Steyn just edges Brussow.
hel dit was nou moordend
236@Puma –
Morne won a few big games with kicks this year…but I feel for FDP as well. He has been the best in the country for years.
@Supa Die Bloubul –
Ja, ek is heel ok vanjaar, moet se, dankie.
Maar Morne Steyn is een groot treffer vir SA rugby, daai klong is n wedstrydwenner, soos Naas Botha destyds.
Bulle sou gebars het sonder hom vandag.
Maar nou gaan ons Loftus toe….lekkerrrrrr man!!!!!
@Irish Devil – 232
Brussow was a huge find for us this year Irish. What a fetcher he is. Our best in this country by far. M. Steyn brilliant kicking at posts. Always spot on. Then the place kicks are very good too.
Toss up between M. Steyn or Brussow to get the award. Think Morne maybe just edges Brussow.
Total 135 users including 0 member, 135 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,255,995 Page Impressions