Here is a man for man matchup of the teams contesting the semifinals this weekend.
CHEETAHS VS SHARKS
15. Hennie Daniller / Stefan Terblanche – One would tend to go for Stefan to be better but Hennie has come on in leaps and bounds.
14. Lionel Mapoe / Odwa Ndungane – The New star, Mapoe against the Old Springbok war horse… Mapoe should shade this one.
13. Corne Uys / Adrian Jacobs – In normal circumstances I would undoubtedly have said Adi is better but he’s been woefully off form.
12. Meyer Bosman / Riaan Swanepoel – I like Riaan’s abrasiveness and Bosman tends to be a bit anonymous.
11. Jongi Nokwe / JP Pietersen – The spead freak with little defence as opposed to the gangly Pietersen with less speed but better defence.
10. Jacques-Louis Potgieter / Juan Hernandez – Hernandez sneaks this one. J-L P has the better boot whilst Hernandez is a more well-rounded player.
9. JP Joubert / Ruan Pienaar – Joubert has got a long and crisp pass but is terribly slow with those “horrelbeentjies” whereas Pienaar is an off-form Bok… Pienaar shades it.
8. Ashley Johnson / Ryan Kankowski – Mr Affro DELUXE vs THE HOFF… Johnson has been one of the finds of the season whilst Kanko is a Bok… evens.
7. Frans Viljoen / Jean Deysel – The DIESEL-LORRIE is unstoppable.
6. Heinrich Brussow / Jacques Botes – Brussouw of course, by a country mile or 3.
5. David de Villiers / Johann Muller – De Villiers might just shade old Muller in my opinion.
4. Nico Breedt / Steven Sykes – Sykes is the closest to a Bakkies-type enforcer, Breedt is not bad… Sykes is better.
3. WP Nel / John Smit – Barney for all round performance and a captain’s calmness surely shades the strong scrumming young prop.
2. Richardt Strauss / Bismarck du Plessis – If the POCKET Battleship’s rib is OK, then he just shades the industrious Strauss.
1. Wian du Preez / Tendai Mtawarira – Beasttttttttttttttttttttttt !
Bench
16. Coenie Oosthuizen / Craig Burden
17. Izak van der Westhuizen / Jannie du Plessis
18. Hendro Scholtz / Albert van den Berg
19. Kabamba Floors / Keegan Daniel
20. Tewis de Bruyn / Rory Kockott
21. Louis Strydom / Monty Dumond
22. Fabian Juries / Andries Strauss
(All in all, the Sharks bench is just of superior quality and depth)
BULLS VS WP
15. Zane Kirchner / Joe Pietersen – Joe has played better than Zane this year, short and sweet.
14. Francois Hougaard / Gio Aplon – Francois Hougaard for his absolute dedication on attack and defence, yip he shades it.
13. Jaco Pretorius / Juan de Jongh – De Jongh is better than Pretorius, for sure.
12. Wynand Olivier / Paul Bosch – The Meisiekind is going to breeze past Bosch as if Bosh is looking for a parking spot.
11. Bryan Habana / Frikkie Welsh – The Hot Chilli-Habanero wants to go out of the Bulls with guns blazing, he will be hungry and motivated, sorry Frikkie..
10. Morné Steyn / Peter Grant – Is there really a comparison???? Morne by many miles.
9. Fourie du Preez / Dewaldt Duvenhage – General Du Preez against kopperaal Duvenhage. The best in the world against a nuggety soldier.
8. Pierre Spies / Luke Watson – Spiere vs Watermelons… Pierre works harder, Lulu seeks glory ball, no contest Pierre wins.
7. Dewald Potgieter / Duane Vermeulen – What a matchup… DEAD EVENS !!
6. Deon Stegmann / Francois Louw – Steggies and the Free-flow exhaust… Stegmann has been relatively quiet whilst Louw has actually had a good CC.
5. Victor Matfield / Andries Bekker – Centre vs taller centre.. hahaha… there is only one VIC and that stands for VICTORY.
4. Bakkies Botha / Anton van Zyl – Bakkies by a quarter-mile…he has too much horsepower and NOS in the tanks for van Zyl… Thourougbred vs Scrapyard dog.
3. Werner Kruger / Brok Harris – The battle of the jelly babies… both are going to suffer against their respective looseheads.
2. Derick Kuün / Tiaan Liebenberg – Liebenberg is a stronger scrumming hooker, but less active than Kuun in the loose.
1. Gurthrö Steenkamp / Wicus Blaauw – Shrek vs the man from Toy Story…. They will dominate the tight heads against whom they scrum, although Shrek shows very poor scrumming technique.
Reserves
16. Bandise Maku / Deon Fourie
17. Rossouw de Klerk / JC Kritzinger
18. Danie Rossouw / De Kock Steenkamp
19. Pedrie Wannenburg / Schalk Burger
20. Heini Adams / Ricky Januarie
21. Burton Francis / Matt To’omua
22. Gerhard van den Heever / Sireli Naqelevuki
The benches are even stevens I would think….. Pakslae better than Steenkamp, Schalla better than Pedrie… ect
@isigidi – isdigi beast only played the one game against the cheetahs and was not whipped by wian
also beast will have sykes behing him tomorrow and not albert
big diffs in scrumming power
you must compare apples with apples old chap lol
@grootblousmile – Oh i really laughing hard here, you are rocknrolling today.
Am glad you put the comments next to the names, must say i have worried about Beast, he seems to have lost a bit of form.
Now have to go feed, but have to come back and read what you said about Harmse. I read the article and some of the comments earlier on on news24.
60@robdylan – Of course one can and should compare a loosehead with his counterpart loosehead, (for that they do not have to scrum each other, which by the way is not alluded to, but against their opposite tight heads).
Each loosehead will be judged against the criteria of the roll of the loosehead !) How did you scrum against you opposing tight head 2) How well did you perform in support in line-outs 3) how busy and effective were you in the rucks and mauls and loose play 4) How did you tackle on the day 5) How many times did you take the ball up and retained possession…
There are a few more aspects, but I think you get the drift.
@grootblousmile – no worries gbs boet we as bloggers are quite happy with the article , and understand it
64@sharky_forever – Robdylan is the owner of the sharksworld web site (not the official sharksrugby web site), so it is understandable that he would see the world through tjarky eyelids… and think Ruan Pienaar and Kanko walks on water…
Anyway, opinions come and go…. I gave mine, he moaned his…. cum si, cum sa…
@grootblousmile – lol i know full well who owns sharks world
and i know rob but np me just saying we are happy with ur article
@grootblousmile – in saying that i agree ruan and kanko much better then the other 2 lol
but i too am a tjarky lmfao
@grootblousmile – ja, got you on all of those and agree. Just not sure what grounds Isidigly has for thinking du Preez is going to come up trumps in any of them. You got it spot on in your article.
As for Ruan and Kanko, well, I’ll be the first to admit that the former is a little bit at sea (having been stuffed around at national level) while the latter is nowhere near his best form. That said, they’re still streets ahead of the Cheetahs guys. Johnson is in impressive form, true, but let’s see how he looks in the Super 14. Joubert is just a journeyman.
can I complain about Adi as well, while I’m here? Woefully off form? Not see the Griquas game? 🙂
hey… where did all the smileys go?
@robdylan –
Hi Rob, you well?
My opninion is that the Sharks should beat the Cheetahs nine times out of ten.
Same with the BULLS and wiepie.
In a play-off, that is the time when the number ten comes up, like a bad penny!
68@robdylan – Isigidi is a Problems supporter, excuse his ineptitude and ignorance… hehehe
69@robdylan – Adi is not in the same form as last year, for sure not. He’s reverted to running too lateral and his half-injured shoulder has prevented him from the best defence. He had a good game against Kwas again…
70@robdylan – The smileys were causing load time problems here.
As soon as we get busy, which is every day now, our fattup WEBHOST starts to throttle us… farking CPU Throttling.
I will migrate the web site to a new web host without CPU Throttling on Sunday, keeping the web-address.
I will re-institute smileys then…
@grootblousmile –
thanks for the help
good day people
74@albert – No problems… welcome!
@Cosa –
Mooi gese daar!
Daai 10de keer is wat my bekommer….net een verkeede spring van die bal, dis al wat nodig is om die seisoen op sy kop te draai.
@albert –
Welcome Mr van den Bergh, you ready for Saturday?
to clear the air
I’m a big province fan, but looking at these matchups you’re not giving my boys much of a chance
@Cosa – howzit. Ja dude – for all the banter here, I’m not going to be putting money on my team to win. Lions in 2006 and Cheetahs in 97 taught me that anything can happen in a play-off game.
@Pietman –
Daai tiende keer gebeur mos altyd in die heel belangrikste wedstryde! Ons BULLE het dit mos in 2005 eerstehands ondervind!
78@albert – Ag ou albert, jy sien mos die trant van die vergelykings, dis tong innie kies…
Ons almal weet Saterdag se game in die Kaap gaan taai wees….
@Pietman –
Whether I like it or not Saturday is gonna come so I have to be ready.
@grootblousmile – it’s all the Javascript, meneer… my smileys are also the first thing to cause shit when there’s heavy load and I have way fewer than you do 🙂
@Pietman – so wat hy se is dit, die cheetahs het one sharkies een keer gewen die jaar , doe volgende twee games het ons gewen , dit meen ons moet hulle nog 7 keer wen voor hulle weer n kaans kry
lmfao
@grootblousmile –
ja beslis maar julle is denitief die gunstelinge
82@albert – jy familie van Koninginn Liesbet se man, King Albert ?
84 @sharky_forever – sharky, AL die vorige wedstryde tel net mooi niks, dit is saterdag se wedstryd alleen wat tel.
83@robdylan – Problem is the shared-server thing… on Sunday we’ll be moving to a host who does not crowd too many web sites onto one server… think we’ll go for our own dedicated IP Address as well.
To move a site such as this to a dedicated server, which hosts only this one site is just not viable… one should aim for roughly 40 sites per server-situation.
Our Smileys, during peak traffic, made pages load 4 times slower than without smileys…
@bdb -lol ek weet broer en glo my ek is nie een want dink ons kan net opdag en wen nie
ek was besig om met pietman te terg omdat cosa gese het the bulls en sharks sal 9 uit 10 wedstruide wen teen hierdie oponente
sodis twwe een vir die sharks so ver die jaar teen die cheetahs m dus het ek gese ons moet dan nog 7 keer wen voor hulle weer n beurt mag kry
@sharky_forever –
Nee, dis nie wat hy se nie.
Hy se die Sharks kan nege uit tien keer wen teen die Cheetahs, en dan skielik daai tiende keer dan val daar iets voor en die Cheetahs wen!
Dit werk so hoor, in n ‘sudden death game’….check die 1990- finaal Natal/NTvl.
Natal het 10 punte binne twee minute aangeteken (Stransky en Tony Watson), en dit was ‘overs skedovers’ in n oogwenk….
Total 180 users including 0 member, 180 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,239,860 Page Impressions