It’s been more than 30 years since THAT tackle at Loftus, but the names Morne du Plessis and Naas Botha still perfectly sum up why Western Province-Blue Bulls clashes are so special. Saturday’s Currie Cup semifinal at Newlands will be no different.

In 1977, Du Plessis felled the darling of Loftus with a great tackle, perfectly within the laws, but marginally late. The crowd exploded, and the gangly Du Plessis, hated up north at the best of times, had to be escorted off the field by police after the final whistle.

Botha was stretchered off and Pierre Edwards nailed the winning penalty for Northern Transvaal.

‘this rivalry is the one that stirs the blood the most’

It remains one of the most talked-about incidents in the history of South African rugby.

Fast forward to 2009. Du Plessis and Botha are legends of the South African game, but they are still polarised by provincialism.

Du Plessis this week equated WP-Bulls games with Tests between the Springboks and the All Blacks.

“You know, without any disrespect to the other provinces, I just think that, as far as I can remember, it seems to be that this rivalry is the one that stirs the blood the most. It’s almost akin to the Springboks playing the All Blacks.

“There is just something in it that, through the ages, has grown,” said Du Plessis.

Botha couldn’t hold back when he got an opportunity to get a jibe in at the former WP and Springbok captain – but all in a good spirit of course. “That tackle was part of the play, but it cost Western Province a Currie Cup. It didn’t win it for them, it cost them.

“Pierre (Edwards) kicked over the penalty. When they lost there, they were out of the Currie Cup. It was us and Free State in the final.”

342 Responses to Does it get any better than Bulls v WP?

1 3 4 5 6 7 12

Where is our mate SA Barbarians? Have not seen him around for awhile. Good oke that.

@Boerboel – 120

LOL. The other game going to be huge too boet. Wish I was going to the stadium. Really its awesome vibe at the Tank.

Never been to Newlands so don’t know that stadium or Loftus.

121@Puma – Isn’t he on a yacht on some ocean with a beautiful girl?

120@Boerboel – Isigidi is in the Press Box for us today after we received a formal invite by WP Rugby to have someone attend the game.

KingPaul is already braaiing near Newlands somewhere, I’ll be receiving Photo’s from both KP and Isi, leading up to and during the game… already received one from KP.

I’ll place the photo’s here on the blog!

122@Puma – Die wp ou en sy shark vrou soen mekaar laat die spoeg so spat. Haak die sharkie af: “my wp man, please man, soen my op ‘n lekka plek” ? Antwoord hy: no ways, ons gaan nie nou Loftus toe nie !

122@Puma – Then you must come to Cape Town, Newlands have an awesome atmosphere. The seating is in dire need of upgrading but what the hell, it is a great place.

There is a brewery next to Newlands and it is only us WP fans that can organise a piss-up in a brewery!!!

124@grootblousmile – Great, I leave a bit later with a lift that will drop me at the entrance to the box. I am in one moer of good mood today, might just break the other leg if WP wins!!

@Boerboel – 126

That sounds great. A brewery next to the stadium..hahah

My brother and sister live in Fish Hoek. Need to go down there sometime to visit. Only they come down to me in Umhlanga all the time so get to see them. Still would enjoy another visit to Cape Town such a beautiful city. Especially now that it is coming out the winter there.

One day will try and see a game there. My aim is to see a game at Loftus. That I will be doing next year when the Boks play there. Never beent to Loftus and heard the atmosphere is good there too. Mostly just been to Ellis Park and the Tank. Tank has the best atmosphere for me from those two.

@Boerboel – 127

If you have a lift there then do you still have to leave early?

I know at the Tank if its a 5pm kick off then we leave around 2pm. Today most that are going to the game will be there already to get the best parking on the fields where they braai.

Must be the biggest braai party there when the rugby is on.

@bdb – 125

LOL. That was funny. GBS we need those smileys they tell a story better than just a LOL..hehe

128@Puma – Winter is actually the best time in Cape Town, but don’t tell the Vaalies! Let them come in the summer and get blown away by the wind, we’ll have the winter for ourselves!!! Marvelous winter days in Cape Town, easily 22C and windless days during the winter, man then verybody is out and about having a great time. Good thing the Vaalies do not know about this.

Let’s see if this works…
    King Paul 01

129@Puma – The box where I go to has VIP parking next to the stand, so parking no problem.

The following quote from the article:

Botha couldn’t hold back when he got an opportunity to get a jibe in at the former WP and Springbok captain – but all in a good spirit of course. “That tackle was part of the play, but it cost Western Province a Currie Cup. It didn’t win it for them, it cost them.

Naas, there was fokkel wrong with the tackle…

Hi Boerboel, I am on my way in a few minutes. You will recognise me, a Cheetahs jersey and a WP cap!

132@grootblousmile – Great, perhaps I’ll mail you a photo from way up in the box, will see how it goes. If WP wins, I will definitely make a plan!

@Loosehead – Hi Loosie, you’ll recognise me in a leg brace!

AmaBulleAmaBulla!
    Pumbile, Pumbileeeeee !!!!!!

So, This will be it, no more posts untill after the games.

Good luck to the WP and Bulls supporters may the best team meet the Freestate in the finals!

To the Sharks fans……….we will still be friends in the morning….I was going to say chokers, but then I thought that it would be poor sportmanship.

139@Loosehead – Enjoy the game!

Go Cheetahs

GO PROVINCE!!!!!!!!!!!

@Pietman – und sheiza

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO SHARKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS , KNOW DAAI PAP VREETERS LOL

@sharky_forever – VRYSTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!

@Boerboel – 133

Well that is you sorted then. Makes life easier if you have parking.

I normally get parking at Ellis Park as always get box ticket there. This year though when the Lions played there they never gave us parking tickets. Damn was mad. Hate parking in the streets there.

good morning loskoppietjie

haak haak vrystaat gaan gly in hul uie kaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaak hehehe

@Loosehead – 142

SHARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

My lift is late……bloody WP supporters can’t trust them to even pick me up on time, how the hell can I trust them to klap the Bulls?

ok im off to sharks club , catch you okes later

enjoy everyone , specially my sharkies lol

143@Puma – GBS’s Handbriekie organised us some nice tickets there last year. I must agree parking outside the stadium is horrendous and downright dangerous.

Nooooooooord Transvaaaaaaaaaaaaaaal!!!!!

@Puma
    @sharky_forever
    CHOKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKERS! 😆

1 3 4 5 6 7 12

Total 180 users including 0 member, 180 guests, 0 bot online