The Currie Cup promotion / relegation match between the Platinum Leopards and the SWD Eagles took place today at Olën Park, Potchefstroom. The Platinum Leopards won 47 / 42, with the SWD Eagles coming back strongly near the end.
In this, the 2nd promotion / relegation game of the weekend, the Leopards showed early on why they were in the Premier Division and what the difference in quality was between the Premier Division and the First Division.
The piled on the tries and were leading 26 / 16 at Half Time.
After Half Time the SWD Eagles fought back hard but simply could not match the Leopards who increased their lead, time after time with penalty kicks…. until finally the SWD Eagles awoke from their slumber and started scoring try after try.
The Leopards added to their tally with a few tries of their own and with 2 minutes left on the clock the SWD Eagles had clawed their way back to within 10 points…. they needed a miracle…
The miracle looked quite possible as they scored another try, to come within 5 points, conversion missed.
With a minute left, both teams carried on attacking and counter-attacking and well after the hooter had sounded, a handling mistake by the SWD Eagles, saw the end of the match.
So close but yet so far for the game Eagles team.
Stand-out players for the Leopards were Shuaib Samaai, Danie Dames and Jovan Bowles.
The stand-out players for the SWD Eagles were Ricardo Croy, Bobbie Joubert and Jandré Blom.
Some photo’s of the match:
Leopards: 4 Conversions & 3 Penalties Cecil Dumond, 1 Try Shuaib Samaai, 1 Try Danie Dames, 1 Try Basil de Doncker, 2 Tries Jovan Bowles, 1 Try Theo van Wyk
SWD Eagles: 3 Penalties & 3 Conversions Ricardo Croy, 1 Try Bobbie Joubert, 1 Try Dougie Hellmuth, 1 Try & 1 Conversion Jandré Blom, 1 Try Junior Leota, 1 Try Baldwin McBean
Leopards: 15 Danie Dames, 14 Jovan Bowles, 13 Deon van Rensburg, 12 Basil de Doncker, 11 Shuaib Samaai, 10 Cecil Dumont, 9 Michael Bondesio, 8 RW Kember, 7 Thabo Mamojele, 6 Wilhelm Koch (captain), 5 Draad Linde, 4 Brad Mockford, 3 Barend van der Walt, 2 Gavin Williamson, 1 Nardus Lombard.
Replacements: 16 Marthinus van der Westhuizen, 17 Divan Kotze, 18 Ligtoring Landman, 19 Bennie Adams, 20 Theo van Wyk, 21 Clayton Durand, 22 Colin Lloyd.
SWD Eagles: 15 Bevin Fortuin (captain), 14 Norman Nelson, 13 Bobbie Joubert, 12 Joe Breytenbach, 11 Baldwin McBean, 10 Ricardo Croy, 9 Dougie Hellmuth, 8 Jody Burch, 7 Jacques Engelbrecht, 6 Victor Joubert, 5 Henry Grimes, 4 Lubabalo Mtyanda, 3 Tiaan de Kock, 2 Wayne Bennett, 1 Jaco Terblanche.
Replacements: 16 Junior Leota, 17 Anton van der Westhuizen, 18 Hein Potgieter, 19 Shawn Raubenheimer, 20 Jandré Blom, 21 Sinethemba Zweni, 22 Jandré du Plessis.
Referee: Marius Jonker
Assistant referees: Pro Legoete, Peet Badenhorst
GBS – This match does not sound exciting, should you really be fixing the leaks on your roof?
Try Jovan Bowles for Leopards.. under the sticks
29 GBS – mine so vol chemicals gemoer vandag dat daar sommer n paar onderwater ontploffings was. Weet mos beter as om aanwysings te lees en mix maar lekker.
30 Trupsi – WOW a serious party!! The missus will be needing a great dress for that……I feel the pain in your wallet!!
Leopards 26 / 9
31 @ Carol – Good running rugby by the Leopards.
My roof already fixed today… I’m fast.. hehehe
34 Carol ~ that was my first thought!!
People arriving. Later all.
Try Bobbie Joubert for SWD
Leopards 26 / 16
36 – Fast, sounds more like a bodge job!! Hehehehe
41@ Carol – Had to do it quickly, because the weather was threatening again…
37 – Only one of the swankiest Hotels in London, no pressure or anything !! Lol
Enjoy youre evening Trupi, nice to catch up!
Half time drinks served……mug of tea this end!
Only cooldrink this side… expecting lots of visitors tomorrow…
Leopards 29 / 16
Samaai is ‘n Tamaai speler…. ‘n groot Unie sal hom binnekort koop
46 GBS does the Braai season start again tomorrow? Will you be wearing the apron?
49@ Carol – Monday evening is the Awards Evening that Bonzaihandbriekie’s been working so hard on… so her whole team of fellow students are coming over to cart stuff to the venue and have their “Dry Run” at the venue…
Lots of them sleeping over here too for Monday…
Hello Carol and GBS. Just a quick hi and bye.
Hope you both having a great weekend.
Leopards 32 / 16
51@ Puma – Hellooooooooooo
53 – Hello klein boeta..haha. See you been working hard there.
Did you watch that game between Boks and ABs 1981 that was on today?
54@ Puma – Watched the 1st half… then these Relegation matches started
50 – Houseful of students!! Lock your drinks cabinet……there is no such thing as a ‘dry run’ where students ae concerned!!
At least there wasn’t when I was a student!!
Should be fun…..remember you are old enough to be their father, no dancing on the tables!
Leopards 35 / 16
51 Puma, Hi – yep blogging and getting ready for visitors who are staying with us!! Going out to a new restaurant tonight so NO COOKING FOR ME !!
What are you up to?
55 – I watched the 2nd half. I still think that was no penalty in the end just as I thought when I watched it in 1981.
Should have been a series draw to the Boks. Those flour bombs made it tough for both teams to play in.
Also watching the players of that time now think that none went to the gym. They all look so think and no muscle.
How the times have changed.
Try Dougie Helmoth for SWD
Total 123 users including 0 member, 123 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,255,316 Page Impressions