The Sharks hosted the Platinum Leopards in round 2 of the Currie Cup. The Sharks won 34 / 20, scoring 5 tries in the first half.
The match progressed much as I predicted, Sharks hit hard early and often with tries from Vulindlu, Mvovo and Andries Strauss.. and then again Andries Strauss… and was ahead 22 / 0 after barely 30 minutes, also having missed 3 conversions already but having bagged their bonus point for tries.
A converted intercept try from R W Kember as well as a penalty by Jean Tiedt made the Leopards’ score more respectable after early wayward kicking at goal by Clayton Durand.
Before halftime though the Sharks scored again, making the halftime score 27 / 10
After halftime the Sharks started bringing on replacement after replacement and one could see that their intensity levels had dropped and that they were playing a game to ensure minimum injuries.
The Sharks had cleared their replacement bench about 15 minutes before full time.
The Sharks kept attacking but could not penetrate the Leoppards sudden good defence and the Leopards actually “won” the 2nd half 10 / 7 after scoring yet another intercept try through Jovan Bowles and converting another Jean Tiedt penalty, compared to the Sharks solitary converted try by Albert van den Berg.
All in all a scrappy game, but mission accomplished for the Sharks who now jump to 45 Log points and straight into the semi-finals.
To say much more about this dour game would do injustice to rugby… this was a game of going through the motions for a champion team against a team which should not even be allowed to compete in the same competition.
Harsh words… very harsh… but true !
Sharks: 1 Conversion Juan Hernandez, 1 Conversion Monty Dumond, Tries Luzuko Vulindlu & Lwazi Mvovo & Andries Strauss (2) & Jaques Botes & Albert van den Berg
Leopards: 1 Conversion Clayton Durand, 2 Penalties & 1 Conversion Jean Tiedt, Try R W Kember & Jovan Bowles
Fri Sep 25 2009 at 19:10 (local time
Venue: ABSA Stadium, Durban, South Africa
Altitude: 12m / Capacity: 55,000
Sharks: 15 Stefan Terblanché (captain), 14 Luzuko Vulindlu, 13 Waylon Murray, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Juan Hernández, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Albert van den Berg, 4 Alistair Hargreaves, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Skipper Badenhorst, 1 Patric Cilliers.
Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Deon Carstens, 18 Steven Sykes, 19 Keegan Daniel, 20 Rory Kockott, 21 Monty Dumond, 22 Adrian Jacobs.
Leopards: 15 Danie Dames, 14 Jovan Bowles, 13 Deon van Rensburg, 12 Berndt Theissinger, 11 Jan van Zyl, 10 Clayton Durand, 9 Jean Tiedt, 8 RW Kember, 7 Thabo Mamojele, 6 André Swanepoel (captain), 5 Draad Linde, 4 Ligtoring Landman, 3 Os van der Walt, 2 Gavin Williamson, 1 Divan Kotzé.
Replacements: 16 Pellow van der Westhuizen, 17 Nardus Lombard, 18 Bennie Adams, 19 Riaan Swanepoel, 20 Chris Erasmus, 21 Neil Jacobs, 22 Bom Samaai
Referee: Jonathan Kaplan
Assistant referees: Luke Burger, Reuben Rossouw
TMO: Shaun Veldsman
Darem ook vir jou name in daai Luiperre span, Draad, Os, Ligtoring, Bom, Pellow, Jan…..
Good luck Sharks. Need to get the 5 points here tonight. WP just sitting looking up at us on the log 😀
GO SHARKS.
@Pietman – Hello Piet, How you boet?
@Puma –
Lekker man, jy?
Waar kyk jy die game, tuis?
@Pietman – ja Pietman…en daars nog ‘n Deon ook 😯
@Pietman – I am very well boet, going to watch it with friends at the clubhouse Piet. Nice big screen there.
@Puma –
Enjoy Puma.
Too late for me, I am afraid (will be 2:10 at kick-off over here),I will read about it tomorrow.
You boys MUST get a five pointer here, good luck!
@K9-MonsterLeeu –
Daai Deon is goed hoor, apteker in Potch.
@Pietman – Is nie. Deon is ‘n pompjoggie in die WoesRand.
@Pietman – 7
Hoping Piet, We need the 5 points. WP right on our tail 😀
@Puma –
Don’t worry about WP, Newlands is going to be wet, typical Kimberley weather
🙂
WP never plays well when it rains, watched them lose twice against the ‘States’ on rainy days down there….
@Puma – Hiho Puma hows the liver 🙂
@Ed_the_Lion –
🙂
By Blhoo se garage seker….
wonner wat van hom geword het btw?
Mail hom n slag, jy het mos sy addie.
@Ed_the_Lion – 9
How you Ed, Ed when the Cricket is on can we have a cricket thread? Maybe SuperBul can do one. Or just put it up and we can comment on it.
England playing Sri-Lanka at the moment.
@Pietman – Hi Pietman, who are wp playing ?
@Treehugger – 12
Very, very good it is…hahaha. Remember I have been mostly drining water since those Scot visitors left. Now having a breakout so to speak. My mate went back to the middle east today so went over to their house for a braai yesterday and of course was not on the water then 😆 Nor tonight. Going to be watching Sharks. Back on my health diet tomorrow promise…hehehe.
@Puma – drining meant drinking
@Treehugger –
Don’t know about Puma’s, but mine is shot!
Not used to eating huge steaks with a case of Heineken anymore, need to practice some, I reckon, have to work on my ‘foam moustache’ a bit….
@Puma – Haha i knew you would break eventually, life is to short you have to enjoy it.
@Treehugger –
@15
Griquas.
Going too be huge, Kwas are going to nail them, mark my words!
@Pietman – 11
They not playing bad Piet. Sharks have to not let this one slip we have to pick up the 5 points otherwise WP could go top of the log.
I would really like Sharks to have a semi at the Tank. Hoping Piet.
Hi Yall, a quick visit to ask Puma how England are doing?
@Pietman – I really really hope you are right, and i do enjoy watching the kwas. Are you looking forward to moveing back home.
@Treehugger – 19
I am very weak when it comes to watching the diet…hehehe. I have to though after tonight that is. Picked up some kilos with those visitors being here and I have kak knees the extra weight makes it worse. So back on the water from tomorrow.
@Puma –
@14
Thought you were a cricket fundi…..but looking at your run rate on Superbru it seems you need to spend some more time in the nets 🙂
@carol – 22
Give me 1 min Carol going now to look at the tv.
@Pietman – Piet, I am neck and neck with Puma at the moment!! 😆 Made two shocking first decisions!!
@carol – Hi Carol, England started really well, took a quick 4 wickets and SL are now on 149 for 5 on 34 overs
Pompjoggie is die afrikaans vir gigilo!!!!
@Treehugger – Hi T.H, we will have to get you on the next superbru, leads to lots of leg pulling!
Total 89 users including 0 member, 89 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,252,124 Page Impressions