(Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein – 15.00, 13.00 GMT)
A bit of a see-saw ride for the two teams, after a horrible start for the Cheetahs they are suddenly one win away from the top four again.
The Lions have a coaching panel second to none it seems with the likes of Jake White lending a helping hand. The current log positions are:
5. |
Cheetahs |
8 |
4 |
4 |
277 |
152 |
125 |
4 |
20 |
6. |
Lions |
8 |
4 |
4 |
181 |
164 |
17 |
4 |
20 |
Not a lot in it and for the winners a step closer to the final four and for the losers, well it will make the road to the final four so much harder, if not impossible.
Last week the Lions did a great job in putting one over the Bulls whilst the Cheetahs turned the tables on their cousins from the West.
White had the following to say about the Lions:
“We have dropped some league points along the way, but we are confident that we’ll reach the play-offs.”
“We know it is a tough road ahead, especially with some of the other teams still to get their Springboks back. But nothing is impossible,” he added.
Of course the Cheetahs are also talking up their play-off chances but this game will set the trend for the rest of the season
Both teams are missing players but the Cheetahs wins this hands down. For the Lions they include their captain Cobus Grobbelaar and suspended lock Willem Stoltz.
But check this list for the Cheetahs; Robert Ebersohn (ankle injury), Hendro Scholtz (head knock), Kabamba Floors (leg), Johan Wessels (ankle), Danwel Demas (ankle), Tewis de Bruyn, Meyer Bosman, Lionel Mapoe and Francois Uys.
I will close with this insightful comment from the coach…
“Saturday’s game against the Lions and the next week against Western Province are vital in terms of our season,” Drotské said. Yes well, what more can I add?
Free State Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 JW Jonker, 13 Phillip Snyman, 12 Corné Uys, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9 Jean-Pierre Joubert, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Frans Viljoen, 6 Johan Wessels, 5 David de Villiers, 4 Nico Breedt, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.
Replacements: 16 Richardt Strauss, 17 Wian du Preez, 18 Izak van der Westhuizen, 19 Chris Dry, 20 Tertius Carse, 21 Louis Strydom, 22 Lionel Mapoe.
Golden Lions: 15 Earl Lewis; 14 Dusty Noble, 13 Alwyn Hollenbach, 12 Pieter Engelbrecht, 11 Johan Jackson; 10 Herkie Kruger, 9 Jano Vermaak; 8 Willem Alberts (captain), 7 Franco Van der Merwe, 6 Derick Minnie, 5 Johan Snyman, 4 Nico Luus, 3 Gert Muller, 2 Hans van Dyk, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Replacements: 16 Derek Harwood, 17 Kevin Buys, 18 Wouter Moore, 19 Todd Clever, 20 Johan Van Deventer, 21 Doppies La Grange, 22 Ruan Boshoff.
Referee: Mark Lawrence
Assistant referees: Ben Crouse, Mandla Dakuse
TMO: Gerrie Coetzee
Cheetahs 20 (13)
Tries
- WP Nel
- Frans Viljoen
Conversions
- Jacques-Louis Potgieter (2)
Penalties
- Potgieter (2)
Lions 16 (6)
Tries
- Derick Minnie
Conversions
- Herkie Kruger
Penalties
- Kruger (3)
@bdb –
As die Leeus net beter bal kan kry, hulle is goed agterlangs.
@Pietman – Maak die Cheetahs almal Bokke?
@Loosehead – Nee fokkit, sak Sarel, ek sien net so 4 Bokke daar, almal voorspelers!
Die game is nog lank.
@Ed_the_Lion –
Is so, as die Leeuwens vinnig score na halftyd is hulle in die prent weer.
Die ouenn het altyd vir my gesê hierdie JPJ is ‘n regte windgat skrummie. Ek het hul nooit geglo nie, maar noudat hy in ‘n ander trui speel, sien ek dit ook raak. Hoe kan ek dit gemis het ? 🙂
JP Joubert suffers from Bolla Conradie Syndrome, he has to take a step before he passes.
man o man….if the bulls don’t beat the wp I think I will top myself.
98@St.Petersburgbok – No man
Who is fatter? Graeme Smith or Willem Albers?
Ex Bulls player misses an easy kick.
Try States!
Hiehiehie
Try Staat !
Lions in serious trouble now
why is it that kak sides like the Lions always play against the Bulls like it is a world cup final or something?
and against everyone else they are kak?
20-6……………………………………..Vrystaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat!
@St.Petersburgbok – Hey, it is the Cheetahs who are brillaint and not the Bulls beating Lions who are kak.
Game over for the Lions, I fear.
Damn, I had them picked for Superbru, and then changed it at the last moment…should always stay with your firt pick….eish!
Looks like ANOTHER try to the Cheetahs. Waiting for the TMO.
No try knock
Shite, Nokwe knocks on. 5m scrum.
Guys its a seriously k&k day in Germany, so I am bloggging for a while. I wore my Bok shirt to Bad Homburg this morning where we had breakfast…thanks heaven I didnt see any Aussies!!!
Is this Cheetahs gqame finished now?
hahahahah what happened to the Ref ?
@4man – Where do you live in Germany?
111@4man – Hellooooooo sammajoor !
@Pietman – Howzit Pieta, I se you did well on superbru so far this weekend, but now it looks like u have dropped a bit….I cant remember who I picked this game, but I think it was Vrystaat, because of home game…a close win.
Brillaint kick by JP Joubert.
@Loosehead – My family live here in 1848 and then emigrated to
SA, I live in Farnborough now, with my Rhodesian British wife and am vising my mate in Germany for a holiday….he was in the 5th tank division…143rd corps and had service in Leopard 2 tanks in the cold war, but it is the same tank division that moered us in the desert under Rommel….until they ran out of diesel.
@4man –
Hello Sammajoor!
Yip, you picked Cheetahs, I went for Lions at the last moment….so you are up on me again.
@grootblousmile – Howzit Cappie!!! these german computers are trouble the bloody z and y are interchanged and I feel like i´m typing like a lefthandeddooswithahangover from drinking too much apfelwoi (apple wine)a Hessen specialitz.
@4man – I love Germany. Bavaria in particular.
Total 177 users including 0 member, 177 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,437,183 Page Impressions