For Griquas to get this far must be the biggest surprise of the Absa Currie Cup in 2009. The most intriguing part is to follow. Playing Western Province and the Blue Bulls away next must be the most daunting task ahead.
I picked the Griquas 2 weeks ago ahead of the Cheetahs for a semi final spot. At this stage my pick looks right on track. If the Cheetahs lose to the Bulls on Saturday it is almost certain that Griquas will be in the semis. But for Griquas to do it for them self they need 2 more bonus points. Having won 8 out of 11 games so far , 2 more wins than the more fancied Blue Bulls, makes it look easy.
GWK Griquas coach Dawie Theron believes his team is good enough to go all the way in the Absa Currie Cup and will not be satisfied with only a semifinal finish after his troops defeated the Xerox Lions 36-31 on Saturday.
But the next 3 games will be tough. If one asked coach Dawie Theron at the beginning of the season how many bonus points he would get in the last 3 games against WP, Blue Bulls and Sharks, one could be excused if you fell to the ground laughing, if he said anything positive.
“We have tough matches against the Vodacom Western Province (away), Vodacom Blue Bulls (away) before we play The Sharks at home, so this( result will definitely give the guys plenty of confidence going into the last three weeks of competition. “Our intentions are not only to make the semi finals, but to win the Absa Currie Cup and this victory will go a long way in achieving that objective.”
The victory for the hosts in Kimberley, ensured that they ended the weekend in third position on the competition standings, and are now only two points behind The Sharks, who are the current log-leaders on 40 points.
“This was definitely our most important victory of the Absa Currie Cup thus far,” said GWK Griquas coach Dawie Theron.
Last Satuday Naas Olivier was the star performer for the GWK Griquas and scored 26 points as the hosts handed the Xerox Lions their sixth defeat of the competition. But it must be said that Naas is by far the most sucsesful flyhalf in the CC this year. With his record of 4 Tries, 29 Conversions, 18 Penalties and a total of 132 Points he is the leading Points Scorer in 2009 and the heart of Griquas team..
@Manlybok –
Howzit!
Bliksem, klomp bekendes hier…….
Eben von Gericke, bleddie goed gewees.
Hy manne, ek MOET nou maak soos rokkof, die mense bel al hier!
@Pietman – Maak so
@Pietman – ek dink amper lourens prinsloo was die ander wing gewees
@Manlybok – Witch side of aliwal are you from
28 @Manlybok No Manly, you bit confused with the Afrikaans, you are ‘oor die wal’ not Aliwal!
By the way, saw your garden go past my window a little while ago…blerrie dust everywhere! Has it cleared up your way?
@smallies72 –
Die hoennerplaas se kant!
Manly kom van O-Londen af….
Loosehead, good morning.
Praat gou hier met die Kovsies, ek gaan so n uur weg wees.
I can’t seem to post. Is this working?
38 @Loosehead – Speak up, you through…
@Pietman – been there nice place called cove rock
@Loosehead – hy werk mooi
I was at Kovsies from 91-95, Heldersig. I mostly played Koshuis and a few games for the Irawas. Those were the days when the Shimla’s were Toks / Ollie, Naka, cant rememeber the tighthead, Ryno Opperman, Rassie, Luther Bakkes, Smiley / Hentie Maartens, Franco Smith, Arrie Van Rijswyk, Brendan Venter etc. Followed by Sean Baron, Bom Louw, Arno Bakkes I can’t remember them all.
Waar skuil jy weg Koos?
Thanks Smallies, driven that road hundreds of times but forgotten, always used to stop at that petrol station other side of the bridge for petrol and breakfast on the river.
So Aliwal was E. Cape then as it was on the south side of the river ?
@Loosehead – Was in karee also played k-liga other players braam els roshe van heerden seep schoeman jan-harm or was he tokkies stefen brink popeye corbett
@Manlybok – yep over the bridge and you are in the states
35 Koos, did you see Sheila, she’s my landscaper, and one minute she was there and the next goooone, told her to eat more pap ?
Smallies, I alo went to Dale College in King Williams Town but then lived in E.L.
Yep Cove Rock very popular with the KingWilliamsTowners, I love that coastline all the way to Port St Johns, bietjie gevaarlik but unspoilt and min mense.
@smallies72 – Stefan Brink the great hope of Sentraal, he was poached by the Sharks and then dissapeared.
Karee has a lekker senior bond, I had a few buddies in Karee. Can’t remember their names.
Do any of you Aliwal Northers know Alan Newton? He was at school with me. He was a brilliant centre.
@Loosehead – some well known karee manne dana and sas rautenbach barry pretorius kerkorrel botha dassie mulder
@smallies72 – Seep Schoeman hehehe!
@Manlybok – Phone Cairns, she may come down around there…
@Manlybok – i like the wild places but these days into j-bay and that area
@Koos – Ja hy het hakker vir die shimlas gespeel as naka nie da was nie
@smallies72 – Het die bynaam met sy higiene te doen of was hy net glibberig?
@Loosehead – Witch school
@Koos – so glad soos seep
@Loosehead – Was his nic dassie newton
@Manlybok – Hi there guys, my folks live in Kidds Beach, it is beautiful there, south from EL
@Tripples – Got the t-shirt also nahoon and kei-mouth and gonubie
@smallies72 – Yep but hey are more to the North….Kidds Beach is this sleepy little sea village, although they are starting to develop now and am sure it will change the whole atmosphere there
Hey Tripples, smallies, you’re making me homesick, Kidds beach was King Williams Town by the sea, and I lived 2 km from Nahoon for many years.
Total 196 users including 0 member, 196 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,833,036 Page Impressions