The Springboks completed a 2009 Tri-Nations WHITE-WASH over the All Blacks and claimed the Tri-Nations title for 2009 by beating their rivals 32 / 29 in a thrilling match which went right to the wire.

The All Blacks clearly showed their intentions early on that they wanted to run the ball at the Bokke and initially they had good field position.

Frans Steyn kicked a monster penalty, from his own 10m line to open the scoring, then added another huge one. He later added a third monster penalty conversion.

Dan Carter pulled the score back repeatedly converting some dodgy penalties into points.

Morne Steyn was equally on song with the boot, calmly slotting a drop goal, 2 penalties and 2 conversions… for his 100% kicking record for the day.

The Springboks scored 2 tries, one through Fourie du Preez, the undoubted BEST RUGBY PLAYER IN THE WORLD, and an intercept try by Jean De Villiers.

The All Blacks also scored 2 tries, one through Sivivatu and one through captain Richie MacCaw.

The game was won up front again, with the Springboks reigning supreme in the line-outs and getting parity in the scrums (with the Bokke absolutely monstering one All Black scrum).

On the deck, the combination between Schalk Burger and Heinrich Brussouw worked almost flawlessly, one complimenting the other.

At the back of the scrum, Pierre Spies had mixed fortunes… battling to pick up ball behind the scrum but putting in some very special tackles.

At the half time break, the Springboks were up 22 / 12.

In the second half the All Blacks gave their all, clawing their way back slowly but surely and when they scored through MacCaw with a couple of minutes to go, it was nail biting stuff.

They nearly scored with time up, but the Springboks held fast to record en epic win.

When Schalk Burger went off injured and Bakkies was subbed, one could again see that it affected the Bokke. In comparison, the All Blacks subs provided more impetus to their game.

The Bokke coaching staff replaced Fourie Du Preez with Ricky Januarie, near the end and also brought on Adi Jacobs, Jannie du Plessis and Chilliboy Ralapele.

It was like ice in the Bokke boots, our hearts in our throats, when these needless substitutions were made and ultimately nearly cost the Springboks the game.

When will the Bokke management ever learn that you do not HAVE TO make substitutions for the sake of substitutions. Why fix something that is NOT BROKEN ?

With this important win, the Bokke took the Freedom Cup and the Tri-Nations trophies.

Next week we see the All Blacks take on the Wallabies in the last Tri-Nations match of 2009,it having been reduced to a dead rubber, with the only thing at stake to see who ends SECOND and who ends LAST in ths year’s Tri-Nations.

Well done Bokke !

All Blacks: 5 Penalties & 2 Conversions Dan Carter, Tries Sitiveni Sitivatu & Richie MacCaw

Springboks: 3 Penalties Frans Steyn, 1 Drop Goal & 2 Penalties & 2 Conversions Morne Steyn, Tries Fourie Du Preez & Jean de Villiers

New Zealand: 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Joe Rokocoko, 13 Ma’a Nonu, 12 Stephen Donald, 11 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Isaac Ross, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock
Replacements: 16 Aled de Malmanche, 17 John Afoa, 18 Adam Thomson, 19 Rodney So’oialo, 20 Brendon Leonard, 21 Isaia Toeava, 22 Cory Jane.

South Africa: 15 Frans Steyn, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 John Smit (captain), 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Adi Jacobs, 22 Ruan Pienaar

Date: Saturday, 12 September
Kick-off: 19.35 (09.35 SA Time)
Venue: Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
Expected weather conditions: There is 70 percent chance of rain, lessening, with a high of 17°C, dropping to 11°C and a northerly of 25 km/h
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant referees: Wayne Barnes (England), Stuart Dickinson (Australia)

531 Responses to All Blacks (12) 29 vs Springboks (22) 32 (f/t) – Game Thread & Match Summary

@Ashley – hi there i think the blacks are 7-8 up on us atm

@Jinx – 477

Yes agree Odwa played a great game today. I was worried the whole week with him going to play at 14 thought we would have missed JPP but Odwa came to the party today for sure.

Friends, I have scheduled 2 Match treads to appear for this afternoon’s Currie Cup…

Match Thread for Cheetahs / WP game will be up at 13:30
    Match Thread for Bulls / Sharks will be up at 16:15

@Ashley

Rockin’ in Green and Gold. Pep in my step met ‘n Grootgroensmile!!! 😉

@Puma

I’m sure they were tired but that’s what the 3N is all about. We just need to have sufficient ‘back-ip’ to make this irrelevant.
    My problem with PdV is that he has some players that aren’t up to scratch in his bench. Everbody has to play a part and one can’t have ‘hangers on’ around. If it continues like it is (Chilliboy, Adi, Ricky) then we’ll eventually come a cropper. Also remeber that ‘the midget’ is injured and room will have to be found for him when he’s fit.

@Ashley – 473

Not sure Ash, but we have made up some ground on them this year by beating them 3 zip. Think they had 10 more than us so it must be around 7 up on us. We need to keep beating them next year and bring it back to where it used to be.

481@smallies72
    well, then its gonna take us a while longer to get there
    but
    just imagine
    jw leaves a foundation
    which pdv builds on
    he in turn leaves a foundation
    which ??????? builds on etc etc etc

the one reason the ab have surpassed us on the win/loss ratio thingy is because
    our coaches in the past everytime have to/ decided to start from scratch!!

484@Jinx – Helloooooooo Poet !!

@grootblousmile

Grootblou…it’s lekker to be lekker cos it’s lekker.

Bokke did us proud.

@Puma

Thanks Puma, likewise.
    Great forum and only rugga!

@Ashley

Played 78
    won 33
    lost 42
    drawn 3

@OCO – 485

Those 3 should not be in the Bok squad at all really. JF is really great at outside centre. Pleased he was able to play there most of this year. The pairing of him and JdV is brilliant.

Life is so beautifull beautifullllllllll to me!!!!!!!!!!!

@superBul – 491

So they 9 up on us then. Need make winning a habit against them and bring it back to evens like it used to be.

@superBul

Bokke must balance that win/lose ratio against NZ and then cruise into the sunset as they pronk like the Springboks they are and keep winning more.

@Puma – Yes its hurting, we had far too many bad years, and there is one thing i will always hold against Jake is his stupid throwing of tests in that year of the WC.

I think PdV is now at almost 73% win ratio.

ok, this isnt rugby, but have a look at the following link. its a five year old, practicing batting. i can assure you, you’ll be amazed!!
    http://www.sport24.co.za/Content/Galleries/Video/Cricket/The%20next%20Tendulkar/673a58a8fd66478999dde78555480579/The_next_Tendulkar

Bokke win/loss ratio took a bit of a beating after the Bokke came out of the bloody Isolation Era…

Up to then we were ahead…. now we’re digging i again, but it will take time to rectify the situation.

What is important is the here and now…. and right here and now we have beaten the All Blacks 3 / ZIP in ONE YEAR !

Cheers all. Must go. Drive safe and enjoy today’s CC matches.

Looking forward to Wickus Blaau up against WP Nel in the munch-crunch dept of the scrums in the FS/WP match.

May that Grootgroensmile glow long into tonight. 😉

Keep rockin’!

501@Jinx – Cheers Jinx !

It’s wonderful to be South African !

Thanks Bokke.

Nooit getwyfel in jul abilities nie.Wat n SuperSpan is julle nie!

Dit gaan lank wees voordat ons weer so n Great span gaan sien speel. Ons domineer die hele wereld!!!

Nie sleg vir n 3de wereld land se 1ste wereldse klas span nie!

@superBul – 498

We should ALWAYS play a full strength team against no matter who we play. I never agree on sending a under strength side. Lose interest to watch if we not playing our best side.

73% is very good. Must try and keep this team together untilt he wc. Read that Victor still wants to play on until then and then read that John may too. So hoping.

Need to get Frans Steyn back here. How they let him leave is such a waste of a great, great talent. He will get so much better if just left playing in one position like he has done this year. Hope that JdV get back soon too. Should have waited until after the world cup.

501@Jinx
    cheers, jinx!

@Jinx – Cheers Jinx and agree we need to pull it back with the ABs need keep this winning against them up next year and pull some more back.

@Ashley – have to agree it is not only players who needs continuaty but also coaches mind you the good ones.i thinks if we go on to have smooth transitions between coaches it will also help

@The-Pill – 503

You are right it will be a long, long time before we see such a great Bok team. They are probably one of our best ever. Now to keep them together until the world cup.

@The-Pill – waar is daai mamparra wat dit gese het hy skitter in sy afwesigheid,ek reken hy is te veel van ‘n sissie om hier aan te sluit.die ouens sal hom darrem TACKLE ne

This Bok team have been together for so long they must feel like brothers. Some new players but most have been together since 2004.

Total 163 users including 0 member, 163 guests, 0 bot online