Rugby365
The Golden Lions were dealt a double injury blow ahead of their Currie Cup crunch match against Western Province at Newlands, Cape Town, on Saturday.
Captain Cobus Grobbelaar has been ruled out of the game as the result of a shoulder injury which he picked up in the 19-30 loss to the Sharks last weekend.
The second big blow for the Lions, who are already limping after three defeats in six starts this season, is the loss of vice-captain Willem Alberts with an Achilles heel injury.
Scrumhalf Jano Vermaak takes over the captaincy, a first for Vermaak.
American import Todd Clever replaces Willem Alberts at No.8 and Derick Minnie replaces Cobus Grobbelaar on the flank.
Despite losing to the Sharks last week, the Lions were upbeat about the upcoming showdown with Province.
However, the setbacks are sure to knock the team’s confidence.
The good news is that prop Gert Muller has been cleared after suffering with flu earlier this week.
Lock Nico Luus, who also had his training time limited this week after taking a knock against the Sharks, have also been cleared to play.
Lions: 15 Earl Rose, 14 Dusty Noble, 13 Alwyn Hollenbach, 12 Doppies la Grange, 11 Henno Mentz, 10 Herkie Kruger, 9 Jano Vermaak (captain), 8 Todd Clever, 7 Franco van der Merwe, 6 Derick Minnie, 5 Willem Stoltz, 4 Nico Luus, 3 Gert Muller, 2 Hans van Dyk, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Replacements: 16 Derek Harwood, 17 Kevin Buys, 18 Johan Snyman, 19 Johan van Deventer, 20 Chris Jonck, 21 Ruan Boshoff, 22 Pieter Engelbrecht.
Date: Saturday, August 22
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Kick-off: 17.05 (15.05 GMT)
Referee: Mark Lawrence
Assistant referees: Ben Crouse, Eugenia Daniels
TMO: JC Fortuin
Our first Advert went up earlier… tomorrow another 2 is coming in….
@Ed_the_Lion – Soda did his best to convert me to be a Lion too. The Handsome Devils he calls the Lions supporters…….actually, he could have something going there!!
You are not too bad for a youngster really!! 😉
@carol – Saw that. Thank you.
@4man – bwahahaha. Poor Richie, from the best to “who is this Heinrich”.
@carol – Hi good looking….I cant remember by how much I said, but it will be a tough game, but the Sharks are too composed and Griuquas will have to play above themselves to take this one.
568@Ed_the_Lion –
“WebSite where only Lions (Leeus) supporters will discuss rugby”
Had a good chuckle when I read this
@carol – I am smokin hot Carol. hehehehe. I have converted many a woman to Lions Supporters in my life.
@grootblousmile – Yeah, nice Fresian cow btw!
567@The-Pill – Ed and myself are Pro’s…. of course we are far down the path already !!
We are already getting MUCH more comments, and I say MUCH more, than over on the Dark side, at Mordor !
hiyas 4man ^5
hiyas karooltjies …. how ya been ???
@Loserer – I removed your comment. I started that for my dad and his friends. They are big Lions supporters but are getting gatvol for chatting in a little chat box on the Lions website. Think it was nice of me to do.
@Ed_the_Lion – She is a Lions supporter….just not the Jimmy Abbott type of Lion 😉
@grootblousmile – Agreed, tired pros at this point in time, but pros never the less.
@Sharks_always _and_forever – Howzit…da right style….da island style…been doing any surfing this winter?
@4man – You are flying high on superbru, well done….I need to score some valuable points in the Currie Cup this weekend.
@4man – Carol is a very good looking Lions supporter.
577@carol – The Ad is one of little brother’s ads…. his business is Propaganda Studios…
@Ed_the_Lion – To what do you attribute the ‘hotness’, genetics or personality? 🙂
@carol – Ja…but as Naas says, the Curry Cup isnt won in August and it aint over til the fat lady sings….but i did promise her a nice chocolate cake if she keeps singing for me….just luck my girl, just luck, thats all 🙂
@grootblousmile – Mordor! Classic.
@Ed_the_Lion – I know brother and she also looks good in a pair of riding boots.
@carol – To my parents. They made me the beautiful inner and outer human I am today….awww, BS, I am Ed_the_Lion, its all in the name. 😆
@4man – lol mate im too old for that shit…
GBS ?? waar is die sharks thread?? boetie mornie laat ek met jou sukkel nie 😆
@Ed_the_Lion – I can’t be a Lions supporter, I don’t have the jersey!! Mine is a Bulls Jersey, matches my eyes!!
@4man – Anything else except riding boots on, when you saw her?
Seeing as I have 4man & Pille & Tjarks_Lover here…. go read under ADVERTISING at the top…. send me the right material and you can Advertise for free…. for now…
@carol – I will bring you a Lions Jersey. Let me check the flight schedules.
@Sharks_always _and_forever – hehehe, skaars hier en jy kak ons al uit. 😆
@Sharks_always _and_forever – Ohh hello, was that me?? I’ve been fine, how is it in Shark world?
@Sharks_always _and_forever – hey you are never too oled to surf dude, you dont get ex surfers, just dead surfers….must say I spend more time diving these days. I am possibly going for a dive in Germany in one of the lakes around Frankfurt, apparently a lot of tanks were chucked in the lake, at about 20 metres, so not too deep. The lakes are pristine there now, I hope I can make it happen this trip.
600–LEEUUUUUUUUUUUUUSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
600–LEEUUUUUUUUUUUUUSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
Total 262 users including 0 member, 262 guests, 0 bot online
No Counter as from 31 October 2009: 41,440,829 Page Impressions