WalesSouth AfricaWales (3) 12 / 6 (3) Springboks (Final Score)

Wales and the South African Springboks did battle in the End Of Year Tours at

Millennium stadium, Cardiff, Wales at 16:30 SA Time (14:30 BST & GMT).

Take Note that the England vs Australia game was at the same time slot as the Wales vs South Africa game, therefore we concentrated on the Wales vs South Africa game, with SCORE UPDATES at the Bottom of the Article on the England vs Australia game.

Wales:

• Penalties – Leigh Halfpenny (4)

• Penalties – Pat Lambie (2)

Wales
South African Springboks
29 November at 16:30
  • Team: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Liam Williams, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Rhys Webb, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (Captain), 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun Wyn Jones, 4 Jake Ball, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Scott Baldwin, 1 Gethin Jenkins
    Replacements: 16 Emyr Phillips, 17 Aaron Jarvis, 18 Rhodri Jones, 19 Luke Charteris, 20 James King, 21 Mike Phillips, 22 Rhys Priestland, 23 Scott Williams
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jan Serfontein, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Teboho Mohoje, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
    Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Julian Redelinghuys, 19 Lodewyk de Jager, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Handré Pollard, 23 Damian de Allende

Expected weather: The roof will be closed, as always, but it will be damp underfoot and even though the surface has improved, it still cuts up at times. High of 12°C and low of 7°C
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: George Clancy (Ireland), Pascal Gauzère (France)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

EnglandAustraliaEngland (13) 26 / 17 (3) Wallabies (Final Score)

England and the Australian Wallabies did battle in the End Of Year Tours at

Twickenham Stadium, London, England at 16:30 SA Time (14:30 BST & GMT).

The match was broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 6 & CSN on TV in SA.

656 Responses to End Of Year Tours: Wales vs South Africa – Live Game Article

1 8 9 10 11 12 22

superBul wrote:

@ Victoriabok:
    Was is Lee Kiss?
    He really need to break his old bulls club , staff

http://www.melbournerebels.com.au/team/todd-louden

@ Victoriabok: Agree. Its like the guys got pissed last night and were collectively suffering from hangovers.

Nouja, a couple of things we do know..

Francois Hougaard… not up to it anymore
    We know Jean de Villiers is out for an extended period, if not missing the whole 2015 and / or retiring
    We know Cornal Hendricks was a bit of a flash in the pan… and maybe not up to International standard

But how the hell did Willie le Roux manage to be so shit today?

Lambie knocked a sitter…

Jeez, everybody made mistakes…

Pollard was inconsistent…

Fark, chaps, go rest and have a long and good off-season, and show us what you can do again in Super Rugby!

So, Heyneke Meyer’s ONE player he was sure to have penned in (Jean de Villiers), is now highly doubtful for the World Cup!!

I hope the ref gets a bollocking for that ridiculous yellow card.
    Absolute bullshit.

@ superBul: another area that’s nobody’s highlighted so far(which I noticed repeatedly) was our kicking good ball away. Most often right down Welsh throats. Our tactical kicking game was atrocious but it was not the only area of the game in which we were poor.
    HM has a lot of serious work to do at team management level.

So, Heyneke Meyer’s ONE player he was sure to have penned in (Jean de Villiers), is now highly doubtful for the World Cup!!

Just shows you how quickly your life can be turned around!
    HM will need to sit down with the right people around him and sort this out during the off season.

Tassies wrote:

Julian Redlinghuis and Kobus Reinach were the only shining moments for us in this Test. The rest of the action was sub-par in the extreme. As were three other Tests on this tour.
    To sum up; a Bok supporter cannot rest peacefully at night principally because we’ve become the masters of inconsistency. Not good.

Positives we can take away from the tour:
    Reinach and FdP will be the scrumhalves
    We have a second front row
    Carr played well
    Lambie is a better bet than Pollie, still worried about his BMT, Pollard is an investment for the future but still very inexperienced

Negatives:

We have no creativity in the backline
    Everyone passes the ball to Willie to make something happen, and the other teams know it. See how fast they shut him down every time he touches the ball?

We have no real backup for Flo, Oupa is not a test player

Bismarck is tired or overplayed or something, he just goes through the motions

Serfontein turned into a crash ball one trick pony, no flair at all

Hougaard is useless, he’s not even a Currie Cup level scrumhalf

@ Victoriabok:
    @269 I remember, now that you mention it.

nouja. more is a nogge dag.
    Now off to a party. Cheers boys(don’t see any girls around tonight).

Apart from 1 match against NZ, can we realistically say that we have had a good season? Have we really improved? Have we got the key positions sorted out?

This is a very average team at the moment with some awesome talent being coached incredibly badly.

Recon we somehow need to get Fourie du Preez back from Japan, so he could sharpen up in Super Rugby.

Somehow Julian Redelinghuys and possibly also Ruan Dreyer needs to keep their form and get chances in the remaining Tests before the World Cup.

We need to find some centres in 2015… badly!

Is there anything to be excited about
    no 15 – caught out nothing new, easy prey
    habana i year too long
    12- at last we are relieved from mr nice guy
    10- no one knows who is who now, best to fall back on Morne?
    9- no idea, going to hope FduP will come out of the old age home to save HM,s bacon
    8- hard worker , one dimentional? or just playing in a bad game plan
    7/6 enought talent but who is who and who is in
    4/5 No combo, individuals yes
    1/2/3 I just wonder like the refs what a mess

congratulations wales…! deserved winners and a famous second victory over the boks…!

boks need to take a long and hard look in the mirror… (and not with hair gel or dryers in hand…)

silver lining playbook… is that at least the boks will not go into world cup with any complacency… there are at least five teams (possibly more) that could beat the boks on any given day…

commiserations to jean on his popped knee… looked seriously eina… could this be the end of his career…? maybe a blessing in disguise for the boks… and will get jan and damian partnering up sooner than they would otherwise have…

one thing is very clear about the boks after this game… and that is… nothing is clear… lots of head-scratching for heyneke in the coming months…

Good morning from Vancouver. Woke up to see this crap result… What went wrong… Losing to Ireland and Wales – not very good at all…

Have a good evening all…

@ Victoriabok:
    I’ve looked at all your points. I’m a natural born argumentative bugger but I’m forced to agree. I mistakenly left off Carr. Very good prospect. Agree about Willie. To overcome this problem, we are going to need to look at Kolbe or Aplon for that injection of creativity you mention. Kolbe is a magician. No other word for it. He’s also extremely brave on defence for a small unit. But what we really need is F Louw coupled to a firing Bismark. We lost most of the collisions today to turnovers. This was our undoing, aside for all the other crap served up.

I generally do not think depth is an issue at the Bokke anymore… bar maybe at Centre.

Let’s hope the returning okes, after long injury lay-off’s in 2014… Flip, Arno Botha, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Francois Louw, Fourie du Preez, all get fully healed and plays a blinder in 2015.

Let’s hope a serious No 13 stands up to be counted.

Let’s hope youngsters like Cheslin Kolbe, Seabelo Senatla really mature and play the world alight!

277 @ Tassies:
    Yes, our tactical kicking was hideous today. It was the right idea with all the Welsh blitz defence, but the execution was terrible. They (Welsh) were rushing up so fast, we should have been in behind that line every time, and a couple of tries should have been the result.

As I said earlier, we played right into their game, and could do nothing about it. Had one try resulted from dropping the ball in behind the Welsh lines, they would have changed their tactics completely and we would have been able to play our game. As it was, we kept kicking the ball straight to them, and just gave them the confidence to rush up even quicker (at times clearly off sides) and disrupt our play, which they did very well, and forced us into the silly mistakes.

289 @ Just For Kicks:
    Wales rush-defence was superb, hats off to them… and the Bokke simply did not adapt, like you say!

OK, turning a bit of a blind eye to this game… Wallabies lost to England too.

Has the gap between North and South closed considerablly… I think so!

292 @ grootblousmile:

yip… the gap has indeed closed considerably…

Anybody going to watch how England blasted the Wallabies… they are re-screening it now on SS1?

Have to get ready for the market… enjoy your evening chaps – if that is possible…

292 @ grootblousmile:
    Makes for an awesome prospect for the WC. Very exciting indeed

cheers gummie…

i’m out too…

cheers all…

have a great rest of your weekend everyone… wherever you are

What do you guys think.. are the Southern Hemisphere sides extremely tired after a long season… and that includes the All Blacks who barely beat England and with 11 min to go were still about level with Wales?

In hindsight… did non-participation in the Currie Cup by Bokke cost the Springboks overall in view of this tour?

Mvovo covered the opposite wing a few times on defence but never really got the space on attack to show his blistering pace.
    I would like to see HM giving him and other exciting players like Kolbe, Senatla etc more opportunities.
    Like UFO said, Jean’s injury may be a blessing in disguise. It will allow HM to look at Lambie and Pollard at 10/12.

Tomorrow, my wife’s (Handbriekie) company has an event on… and I’ve been called to arms to go assist… as a “Marshall”… I think she just wants me to be one of the freegin braaiers… eish!

1 8 9 10 11 12 22

Total 28 users including 0 member, 28 guests, 0 bot online